Malaysia Budget 2016 live updates (auto/transport)

Screen Shot 2016-01-28 at 12.46.11 PM (2)

Adjustments to Malaysian Budget 2016 (Bajet 2016) are being announced by Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak right now. We will be posting live updates on any automotive-related announcements from his speech here, if there are any.

Auto

• The free duty treatment on imported vehicles in duty-free islands will be tightened, but will not affect locals residing there.

Transport

• Physical projects, include construction of roads and public transport will be prioritised.
  • MRT, LRT, Pan Borneo Highway and Kuala Lumpur-Singapore High Speed Rail (HSR) projects will be continued.

12.55pm – And that’s it. Looks like there’s nothing much concerning the auto/transport industry announced this time.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Open Letter to Najib on Jan 28, 2016 at 12:29 pm

Hello Najib, why our petrol prices so high at RM1.85? According to global prices, our oil prices should be about 90 sen per litre. We are giving the Government free money. Each time I fill up 50 litres for my tank, I am giving RM40 free money to the Government.

Calculate that with about 10 million road users, Government makes RM Billions Per Day untung.

You hantam Malaysians with petrol prices, car prices also you hantam Malaysians. Why are we paying so much for petrol when we ourselves are an oil producer?

You ask us to tighten our belts and eat kangkung and your RM1 chicken but you spend RM500 million on a brand new jet despite having 4 other jets in your hangar.

How lah Najib?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 5
    • YB zaheed on Jan 28, 2016 at 2:08 pm

Just booked Ferrari FXX-K free of tax, G1M Langkawi-registered for my 3rd bini.

• Car is Tun M baby while public transport is Najib baby. Thats why.

• George Abdul on Jan 28, 2016 at 1:04 pm

Automotive news in Malaysia aka bolehland “only” get no news (APs stay and increase) or bad news (AP’s increase price)… Thanks for supporting BN supporters.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 2
  • takNakP1 on Jan 28, 2016 at 2:03 pm

just when i am thinking of giving up resisting… all the recent drama kind of reignite it. sigh…

• xxxxxxx on Jan 28, 2016 at 2:03 pm

Mana 2.6 billons?

• thats it on Jan 28, 2016 at 2:06 pm

that’s it? No toll hike?

Btw, I want to know whether we are subsidising the petrol now.

• john is otak batu on Jan 28, 2016 at 5:16 pm

It’s the other way round. .. we r subsidising the gomen

• stasta on Jan 29, 2016 at 12:22 pm

in the USA petrol prices in some places have dropped to RM 1 (not USD 1) per liter (not per gallon).

• 1malaysia! on Jan 29, 2016 at 9:08 pm

ini PM taboleh percaya. Remember what najib promise abt lower car prices during GE?