Feb 2016 fuel prices: RON95, 97 down, diesel RM1.35!

RON_95_vs_RON_97_Fuel_Test_Malaysia_ 023

And just like that, we’re heading into the second month of the year. How time flies. Fuel prices for February 2016 are out, and once again it’s good news for Malaysian motorists, especially those with long journeys planned this Chinese New Year.

For this coming month, RON 95 will be priced at RM1.75 per litre (10 sen down compared to January 2016), RON 97 at RM2.05 per litre (20 sen down), diesel at RM1.35 per litre (25 sen down) and Euro 5 diesel at RM1.45 (25 sen down). RON 100, meanwhile, is not regulated, and price changes (if any) may not necessarily happen on the 1st of each month. For now, Petron Blaze 100 is priced at RM2.80 per litre.

Since December 2015, RON 95 has come down by 20 sen, RON 97 by 40 sen, and diesel by a staggering 55 sen. What do you think of these prices?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Malaysians still wan Rm1/L, dun care if its Euro1 RON88 for the next 20 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 65
    • Albert on Jan 31, 2016 at 9:06 pm

Tokok John, this time I agree with you even tho u tokok most of the time.
      I have a feeling,the current petrol price is still not REAL.IT IS ARTIFICIALLY STILL HIGH.
      WHEN petrol is at rm2.30/litre…international oil price is US 100 a barrel.Now, oil is traded below US 30, retail price is Rm 1.75.Oil price have dropped by 70 percent,so what is the actual retail price? Can u see what we are getting? A RAW DEAL.Tony ABBOT,THE EX AUSSIE PREMIER says,it is “SHAMBOLIC.”

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 101 Thumb down 12
      • Feizal on Jan 31, 2016 at 9:34 pm

You are right to a certain extent, but you have to understand that prices of crude and products (lpg, naphtha -for petchem and gasoline, gasoil/diesel, jet kero, fuel oil and lswr) are not the same.. Each productswill have different prices (either premium or discout) against brent prices.. We call these cracks.. Naphtha (which is used to produced gasoline) prices have been phenomenal since december.. Global gasoline demand has been high, which attributes to pump prices to be supported. In addition, octane boosters such as MTBE and other additives are required, which adds up to the cost. Cheers.. Im happy i got a diesel car ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 13
        • drMpower on Jan 31, 2016 at 11:27 pm

I think you are talking rubbish

All the contents and fancy chemical wordings u mentioned, exist in the very same gas u buy whether the crude is 100 per barrel or 30 per barrel or even 200 per barrel

Its not that when the barrel rises or lowers any of the chemicals is left out. So the cost is rather the same when the price fluctuates.

The only change upon barrel price rising or lowering is profit by the government and the gas selling companies. When the profit goes down and at the same time operational cost is maintained, then u see layoffs and VSS MSS.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 18
          • Vincent Ang on Feb 01, 2016 at 10:11 am

You are the one talking rubbish. While the chemical content of crude oil worldwide is similar they are however also very different chemically. The refining process of very heavy Venezuelan crude is not the same as that of West Texas Intermediate, for example. The ‘cracks’ which Feizal refers to do not exist in equal proportions across all types of crude. Naptha is used to make gasoline and the demand for Naptha has not been dampened compared to diesel which has seen a large drop in demand. Listen once in a while even though a guy with a name like Feizal may make you think of nonsensical things.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
          • I hope kerajaan raise petrol prices to Rm2 and above. Kerajaan need the money to build the country. Don’t be like Party Hard, just condemn only.

I beg the government to stop reducing petrol prices and please make it higher.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 22
          • Feizal on Feb 01, 2016 at 12:56 pm

It always sad to see how people are not willing to really understand something and be so quick to speak their minds, It even more sad when people willingly share what they understand and the naysayers spring up like villiage idiots who apparently still believe the world is flat.

• Open Letter to Najib on Feb 01, 2016 at 8:49 am

Hello Najib, why our petrol prices so high at RM1.75? According to global prices, our oil prices should be about 90 sen per litre.

We are giving the Government free money. Each time I fill up 50 litres for my tank, I am giving RM50 free money to the Government.

Calculate that with about 10 million road users, Government makes RM Billions Per Day untung. Plus from GST collection alone last year, that was over RM100 billion.

You hantam Malaysians with petrol prices, car prices also you hantam Malaysians. Our car prices are 3X the car prices globally. Tiga kali ganda. And yet, our GDP per Capita is one of the lowest in the world. Singapore petrol prices are so much cheaper (despite Singapore not producing oil) to Singaporeans cause Singapore GDP Per Capita is 5X that of Malaysia.

Why are we paying so much for petrol when we ourselves are an oil producer?

You ask us to tighten our belts and eat kangkung and your RM1 chicken but you spend RM500 million on a brand new jet despite having 4 other jets in your hangar.

How lah Najib?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 4
        • Sweden vs Malaysia - True Story on Feb 01, 2016 at 9:08 am

In Sweden, because of oil money, each citizen is now a millionaire. The Government has kept all the oil money in a sovereign fund for all its citizens.

In Malaysia, when oil was high the past 20 years, DUMNO sapu maximum the money. Instead of saving over the years, every year they rape Petronas. Petronas was at that time making about RM100 billion per annum. All steal nicely the money. Not even a sen was kept for a rainy day or for the rakyat.

Now oil collapse, Petronas and Malaysian Government cry like baby. Actually 30 years of drilling, about RM1 trillion was stolen (despite Petronas ploughing back billions per annum into research and more drilling)

Tthe Malaysian government very negligent. During good times, all jolly and sapu left right and centre. Now during hard times, got ZERO savings for the rakyat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 3
          • Well, the cost of living in Sweden also more than 5 times in Malaysia. Why? coz no subsidy at all unlike here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
          • Sweden cost is veri expensive. Almost all their food raw material is imported (includes fish, yes fish!). The only time the grew their own veggie is in spring & summer, which is veri short for Scandi region. This is shared to me by my Swede kolik

• Remember, gov still needs to make better profit due to the lost in margin. How do they want to run the country with less money?

Remember how heavily the country is depending on money from Petronas.
        How could Petronas keeps on contributing while not making profit? At the end of the day, they still need better margin at petrol station. At the same time, our government of course, need to improve.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 27
        • Mr. G on Feb 01, 2016 at 12:20 am

I agree with you Ray. To be very honest, it’s not a very good sign in the long run for everyone.

• George Abdul on Feb 01, 2016 at 8:25 am

Wrong don’t forget the monopolies system in Malaysia Government own Petronas (distributer) and Bumi-Amada with SapuraKencana (manufacturer) from here the margin start count !

• Every1canTalk on Feb 01, 2016 at 8:02 am

Sorry, the profit from petronas mainly masuk pocket of certain ppl only..
          But it true that it will affect rakyat too since the G sure will further squeeze rakyat!!!

• Where is Najib's Promise???? on Feb 01, 2016 at 8:54 am

Petrol prices are still high. But whatever it is, every single rakyat has already prepaid Rm2.70 per litre for the next 20 years already because of our super high car prices.

The question we must be asking is, where is Najib’s promise?

Where is Najib’s promise? Najib promised 30 million people 2 years ago before the election that he would reduce car prices by 30 percent.

He said the 30 million people need not worry because BN always kept their word and never mungkir janji. He said if people voted for BN, he was 100% sure to reduce car prices by 30 percent.

Najib, in his speech told people that BN knew how much people suffered paying for their cars and he felt very sorry for the people, thus, he was sure to reduce car prices by 30%.

It is a well know fact, that we Malaysians are paying 3x the global prices of cars. And double whammy, not only we pay 3x the global prices of cars, our cars are stripped down so bad, it hardly lacks any safety features. Even our top D segment cars each have about 20 less safety features than the same car costing 3 times less overseas. For example, a 10 airbag Toyota Camry CBU in the US cost US$22,000. In Malaysia, this cost RM180k. And loads of safety spec taken out. For example Tyre Pressure Monitoring System and many others. Camry Hybrid in the US is US26,000. Come to Malaysia, should be tax free. CKD it using Malaysian parts should be even cheaper. But here sell RM175k

Now, what happened Najib? Where is your promise?

Najib also said that by 2020, we would become high income nation. He said our GDP per Capita would be US$48,000. That would mean, per month, the average Malaysian would be earning US$4000 (RM18,000) per month.

Raja Nazrin, Sultan of Perak said this was pure lies. He said it is an utter lie because 78% all EPF contributors are earning RM1200 and below.

Do you see the average Malaysian earning RM18k per month by 2020?

Don’t blame economic downturn or currency. Blame Songlapping. Because of Songlapping, investors are pulling out of Malaysia. This is why currency is falling.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
        • Singapore Oil Cheaper on Feb 01, 2016 at 8:59 am

We Malaysians are unlucky. Don’t know why. We live in such a rich country. So abundant in oil, tin, getah, palm, copper, gold, iron, coconut etc etc. you name it, we have it.

Even oil and gas, we are one of the LARGEST producers of oil and gas in the world.
          Singapore has NOTHING. ZERO. ZERO Resources. ZERO Land. ZERO Everything!

And yet, the GDP Per Capita of Singapore is 5X that of Malaysians. What this literally means is that, Singaporean earns 5x more than what we earn. So, if you are earning RM5000, the Singaporean in the same position is earning RM25,000.

To make matters worse, Singapore dollar to the Ringgit is 2.9 times. The Singaporean can travel all over the world and enjoy whilst we Malaysians can only enjoy in poor nations like Indonesia and Thailand.

How is this so? Both countries started at the same time. We have ALL the natural resources but Singapore has ZERO?

Corruption is the answer.

Government has been lying to us all this while. They say Singapore, petrol is RM5 per litre. But they fail to tell you, the average person there is earning 5X more than the Malaysians.

So, which do you think is more expensive. A Malaysian earning RM5000 per month but pays RM1.75 per litre or a Singaporean earning RM25,000 but paying RM5 per litre?

The Government of Malaysia love to lie to the people of Malaysia that our petrol is so much cheaper than all over the world. For example, in UK its over 1 pound a litre. Our Government will convert and tell you its RM6.30 per litre!

But the average UK citizen is earning 3000 pounds.

The funny thing is this. Malaysia produces oil. Singapore does not produce oil. And yet, their petrol is so much cheaper for the Singaporean than petrol to us Malaysians!

The same with cars. the BMW 528i is RM420,000. In Singapore, it is SGD250,000.
          Which do you think is really cheaper?

Soon government Utusan will tell you and list oil prices all over the world. They will convert and tell you the price in each country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
          • john is otak batu on Feb 01, 2016 at 10:26 am

No point reading utusan nowadays. .especially young generation get their other sources online already

• syukurlah Utusan pun ada online. Syukur betul Malaysia aman dan damai

• Dapfapperfapdapping on Feb 01, 2016 at 11:28 am

Be thankful you are not a minority in Singapore spouting nonsense about own government. Singapore still got ISA

• So you are saying when Gov in trouble rakyat have to help them. But do they care about rakyat? Have you heard any prices go down except fuel? It is NOT!. After going UP never go down again even when profits billions…

• I was just trying my best to be optimistic.
          I was not saying that the current government is doing a fantastic job.
          But we have to be rational, realistic. Even if Pakatan or who ever other than current ruler is governing the country, I believe the situation will still be more or less the same regarding petrol price at station. But of course, at the same time other optimization must take place, like abolishing BRIM for good, among others.

Let us put aside emotion influence to be rational.

That fella who talked about Bumi Armada and Sapurakencana, please get your fact right. Even oil produced by Shell or Exxonmobil in Malaysia still go through Petronas as they operated under production sharing or rish sharing contract.

You are humiliating yourself when you single out certain local companies of being corrupted. Trust me, even foreign company operating in Malaysia can be corrupted too. Orang putih is not as holy as how they are seen, they could be even worse than Malaysian at times!

• Ages ago when crude oil was USD25 per barrel, we get 1 gallon of petrol for RM2.20.

Do so calculation and see which is cheaper!

• OMG…40sen gap between petrol & diesel? Can someone explain how the price calculation? Dont be suprise we r paying more for the petrol. puihhh.

• banglasia on Feb 01, 2016 at 3:15 pm

Rakyat perlu bantu subsidise rasuah, BR1M, belanja khidmat awam, MAS, Proton, FELDA dan gahmen BN.

• Eugene on Jan 31, 2016 at 8:37 pm

How about RON100???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jan 31, 2016 at 8:56 pm

Hi, RON 100 fuel is not regulated, and price changes (if any) may not necessarily happen on the 1st of each month. For now, Petron Blaze 100 is still at RM2.80 per litre.

• Its their way of beating the pricing system, RON100 is likely nothing more than your normal RON95 + Ethanol to boost the numbers. Petron has plenty of that as they have San Miguel Brewery that buys large sugarcane feedstock. Sugarcane is processed into Ethanol, similar to B5 or B10 Biodiesel, it is blended. Do you really think they would import 100% special blended oil for a very small market share? You need to buy a whole shipload of feedstock to make shipping it viable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
  • Donkey J on Jan 31, 2016 at 8:40 pm

what do we think? the Petrol should cheaper then water. suppose!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
    • It is cheaper than water. 500ml of bottled water at Mesra is already MYR1.20.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 0
      • berantle on Feb 01, 2016 at 5:41 am

Actually, when you buy bottled water, you’re paying more for the plastic bottle than the water.

• Gargantia on Jan 31, 2016 at 8:42 pm

Thanks Hafriz for the news update :D Happy holiday !!!

• t2357s on Jan 31, 2016 at 8:44 pm

We are subsidizing the government with these prices versus the price of crude now.

Given how broke our government is right now, it is no surprise either.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 12
    • Abdullah on Jan 31, 2016 at 10:39 pm

If other countries don’t similarly reduce the price, Malaysia’s petrol will become 12th cheapest in the world – cheaper than Oman and Bahrain and only 15sen per litre more expensive than Brunei.
      And the insane drop in Diesel price will also make us 12th cheapest in the world – same as Bahrain but MUCH cheaper than Kuwait, Qatar and UAE.

• t2357s on Jan 31, 2016 at 11:32 pm

Ok buddy, you like a lot of “ifs” in your rebuttal. But, me being Homer have a hard time understanding it.

Factor in car prices into those countries you mentioned. Also include income tax and GST. That would make it much clearer.

• stasta on Feb 02, 2016 at 10:53 am

some petrol stations in USA are already selling 88 octane at less than RM 1 (not usd 1) per liter (not gallon). RM 1 per liter of 88 octane in USA, vs RM 1.75 per liter of RON 95 in Malaysia. and yes I know the pricing varies wildly in USA.

• frossonice on Jan 31, 2016 at 8:45 pm

So basically gomen is helping the rich by reducing the price of RON97 n diesel. Only rich people can afford expensive diesel cars and there is no cheap diesel car here too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 49
    • Anonymous on Jan 31, 2016 at 9:09 pm

You’re either being prejudicial or myopic.. diesel is used primarily by public transportation like trains, public n school buses and commercial vehicles to transport goods… percentage of privately owned passenger vehicles running on diesel are comparingly sparse.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 1
      • Gabriel on Jan 31, 2016 at 11:26 pm

Right. And since when do we ever see a price reduction for public transportation fuelled by diesel whenever the diesel price drop?

The general public is not benefited by the drop in diesel price, only operators of public transportation businesses and of course the owners of privately owned passenger vehicles running on diesel, as limited as that be.

• frossonice on Feb 01, 2016 at 12:04 am

I may br prejudice or myopic. Since when diesel price effect consumer prices here in Malaysia. You don’t here bus company announcing price reduction of their tickets.

I know most diesel went to transportation services but I be damned if I ever hear any price reduction because of diesel getting cheaper.

I still stand corrected in term of personal vehicle which many Malaysian use, rich people using expensive diesel car benefit more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
        • John Doe on Feb 01, 2016 at 8:18 am

That’s because of monopolized of the transport by all cronies…

• sabahan on Feb 01, 2016 at 9:39 am

as usual, most semenanjungian always forgot that sabah n sarawak are part of malaysia, and many people drive diesel pickup truck here due to road condition.

• Actually buses run on NGV mostly

• Nabei on Jan 31, 2016 at 8:45 pm

I love najib

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 75
  • eric_ocy (Member) on Jan 31, 2016 at 8:47 pm

Thank you… Thank you…
    Ayam so happy…
    (T.T)

• niuhje on Jan 31, 2016 at 8:51 pm

All well and good petrol/diesel prices have come down…now when is food prices going to follow suit??
    Masa minyak naik…semua barang naik…sekarang minyak turun…peniaga buat bodoh saja

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 72
    • George Abdul on Jan 31, 2016 at 10:37 pm

Foolish idea… Every month fuel goes up more then once down price… so food price continue every time go up and goes down once? What about gas price do Government reduce it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
      • Turunlah on Feb 01, 2016 at 9:28 am

Tauke, bila mau kasi turun harga? Untung suda manyak maaa… kasi turun la tauke!

• Woweee..good to hear this. But how come other goods no price drop eh? Bus fare also no drop? When diesel up by 10 cents, every thing up by 10%. Now diesel drop, all big taukeh chicken out..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 2
  • Bambang on Jan 31, 2016 at 8:52 pm

One and only one wises thing done by jibby.

• Duke Cheng on Jan 31, 2016 at 8:55 pm

Diesel and Ron95 are produced with the same crude under the same process. Why is the govt reaping off Ron95 users?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 19
    • Bro.. Read up on refining process.. Its more costlier to produce gasoline.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
      • OMG…i think u forget last time both petrol & diesel got same price when floating period…dont blame we have such question on it.

• DonkeyKong on Jan 31, 2016 at 9:44 pm

Simpleton comment from a simpleton mind.. they should have thought these stuff in primary school instead of science stream in secondary school, considering how many scientifically illiterate people there are making comments on topics that are over their heads

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 18
      • They wud just blame it on Gov for not teaching them these stuff, where else unker Google is available

• Pandamacgyver on Feb 02, 2016 at 6:42 am

I don’t normally do this but it’s “taught”, not “thought”. Maybe you should check your spelling first before calling other people an idiot.

• Concerned on Jan 31, 2016 at 9:12 pm

Oil prices falling is not a good thing. Our economy is hugely dependent on oil, and while you may save some money at the pump, the rest of the economy is plummeting with tens of thousands of jobs and projects being cut, stagnant salaries and budget cost savings.

The Ringgit also losing ground, contributing to one of the reasons why prices of goods are not coming down (fuel price is only a small factor of the cost of goods).

We really shouldnt be too happy about this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 7
    • DonkeyKong on Jan 31, 2016 at 9:46 pm

Bro, do you think the anti-Malaysia bashers care? They want the country to stop collecting taxes, increase subsidies, and they want our local industries to close shop… all that while wanting to have increased salaries. That, to them, is the ideal situation.

“Sh*t for brains” isn’t adequate to describe their level of selfishness, small-mindedness and stupidity.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 46
      • Oppo politikus had taught them well to smash and grab the country

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
        • Curi Curi Malaysia on Feb 01, 2016 at 10:25 am

two buddies from BN Cybertrooper Sdn Bhd, DonkeyKong and John talking to each other

• DonkeyKong on Feb 01, 2016 at 9:52 pm

You have no idea how much “contribution” my organization has given to the Opposition and which of their politicians are my personal friends, and you have no inside knowledge about how crooked they are.

Dissing them = I’m a BN cybertrooper? Please. Demonstrate a bit of intelligence. Just a bit, if that’s not too hard.

• I think the manager is rich, but management is poor due to leakages, not corruption… poor management like close door deals, crazy quotations, not corruption but donation. Don’t misuse public money. They suppose to be able to survive!

• Atilla on Feb 01, 2016 at 10:39 am

No one is anti Malaysia – just anti UMNO. There is a difference.

• Samang on Feb 01, 2016 at 12:31 pm

You’ll always find hundreds of minions who like or dislike any comments without thinking

• zaizu on Jan 31, 2016 at 9:19 pm

last time ron 95 and diesel almost same price ~ why is there a huge difference now

• BNaik on Feb 01, 2016 at 8:17 am

How come RON95 down only 10cents? Bcoz due to high demand compare with other & GOV make more profit for “own” budget use??

• Toitoi on Jan 31, 2016 at 9:23 pm

How about V power racing ?

• Heskey on Jan 31, 2016 at 9:28 pm

Janji ditepati!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
  • surya on Jan 31, 2016 at 9:30 pm

Harga minyak smua turun pun x guna… kasih turun dari pangkat tu org… maksud saya ialah ……………….!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
  • Abahkau on Jan 31, 2016 at 10:02 pm

Ghogo minyak montah bobanding minyak dah kono proses lain…tak samo doh…bingai bona nak ngomen yang mombanding an samo air mineral lah…abah kau…

• Since the petrol is cheap, other busineses will drop their price? They increase their price when petrol price is up. So how?

• Jarred on Jan 31, 2016 at 10:20 pm

USD/MYR rate must take into account also. Now at 4.28. Not good!

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 31, 2016 at 10:43 pm

Haha now I’m seriously regretting not getting a diesel! But in all seriousness the fuel price should be a lot lower than it is now since crude oil prices are at to I bottom. I hope the Swiss nails him to the coffin.

• superbird #43 on Jan 31, 2016 at 10:45 pm

because it’s almost election in sarawak.

• Mixture feeling, happy for paying Rm200 lesser each month? But Ringgit dropped 20% and everything is more expensive now, job lay off everywhere and this is more concerning.

• Ivan Cheong on Jan 31, 2016 at 10:55 pm

World crude oil prices have been at an all-time low in January 2016. Even so, petrol prices Malaysians pay at the pump does not reflect this. But then again this could be due to the weaker ringgit stronger dollar since crude oil prices are mainly denominated in USD.

Subsidies for RON95 have been removed in Dec 2014, which was then changed to a floating system. View the general formula for deriving unsubsidised prices here: http://paultan.org/2014/11/21/ron-95-diesel-fuel-subsidies-end-december/
    In order for us to have an idea of whether we are paying market value for petrol at the pump or paying a premium (tax), we will need to do some analysis by factoring in the daily USD:MYR exchange rate multiplied by the daily Brent crude oil price and taking the monthly average by using the general formula outlined in the Paul Tan link above.

Refer to calculations on deriving the Monthly Average here: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1qyQbZHB5VGRtw2h39KPap6t1AE8F1KEeDCiBS5E_DHY/edit?usp=sharing

The values we will be analysing are the Monthly Average and Percentage Change in Monthly Average. It’s interesting to note that the Percentage Change in RON95 is roughly similar to the Percentage Change in Monthly Average. The shapes of both line graph indicators are similar as well.

Generally the change in RON95 pump prices correlates positively with the change in Monthly Average. This however has 2 exceptions in April 2015 and May 2015 when there was no change in pump prices even though there was a decrease and increase in Monthly Average. Reasons for this were not given.

Now back to our initial question, do you think we are paying market price or a premium (tax) for pump prices?
    Look at the tail end of both graphs. It seems that the Monthly Average is moving downwards more than the RON95 pump price. Back in Feb 2015, the Monthly Average was at 177 and Malaysians paid RM1.70 for RON95. Fast forward to Feb 2016 today, the Monthly Average is even lower at 136 but Malaysians are paying RM1.75 for the same RON95 fuel.

If that is not enough evidence to suggest that we are actually paying a premium now, compare the Percentage Change in Monthly Average versus Percentage Change in RON95 in Feb 2016. Monthly Average fell 14% in Feb 2016 but we only see a 5% reduction in RON95 pump prices.

If indeed RON95 pump prices are market price, why then did the Feb 2016 pump prices only fall by a meagre 5% when the raw material price fell by as much as 14%?

Firstly the Government removed subsidies, and then floated pump prices, now we are even paying a premium (tax) on RON95. I suppose this is to boost their coffers/income.

If this gets enough attention, perhaps the Government would consider explaining or removing the obvious ‘indirect tax’ on RON95.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
    • BNaik on Feb 01, 2016 at 8:28 am

Ivan, but where do u get the RON95 price? Base on the MOPS95 vs Exchange Rate USD/RM, the RON95 should down round 25cents too.
      Refer to MOPS95 market price here http://www.aip.com.au/pricing/marketwatch.htm

• Ivan Cheong on Feb 02, 2016 at 2:11 pm

BNaik, do you mean my historical RON95 price or the daily Crude Oil Price?

Historical RON95 price is available on paultan’s website. Whereas the daily Crude Oil Price is from http://www.investing.com/commodities/brent-oil-historical-data

Yes, I agree with you. The drop in Feb 2016 RON95 price is too low. It seems that the Gov knows the rakyat will be travelling alot during the month of Feb (for CNY) so all the more reason to boost revenue from selling way above market price.

• Ghazali on Jan 31, 2016 at 11:00 pm

More stupid words from John @ Father Augustus @ A.Mazlan wanna be.
    The rakyat gets played out with a reduction of a mere 10 sen & this numbskull comes up with this nonsensical comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 6
    • Tell ur Party Hard supporting businesses to lower their prices 1st b4 u talk shiet, dumb@$$

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • donno on Jan 31, 2016 at 11:42 pm

Still, not seen any reduction of bus fares and pices of food due to drastic reduction of diesel prices.

• donno on Jan 31, 2016 at 11:46 pm

Petronas. If you make money, now is the time to milk all those f1 wins and introduce ron100 fuel for malaysians.

• Ben yap on Feb 01, 2016 at 1:29 am

Harga minyak turun apasal tak puji kerajaan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
  • Anyone on Feb 01, 2016 at 7:39 am

The gov never tell people how they calculate the fuel price while many already known they get cheated. Still there is also stupid people to ask us to thanks the gov for reducing fuel price.

• komarad on Feb 01, 2016 at 9:18 am

kalu harga petrol naik semua brg pun rega nak naik, bila turun apa barang turun rega???

• Peaceaim on Feb 01, 2016 at 10:47 am

US average gasoline price on 25 Jan sells at 1.856 USD/gallon including tax at 22%. Convert it to ringgit gives you roughly RM 1.60 per litre minus tax. Maybe refining and distribution cost here is higher than them. https://www.eia.gov/petroleum/gasdiesel/

• Vincent Ang on Feb 01, 2016 at 10:52 am

The big difference you see between diesel and petrol prices in Malaysia is because the demand for petrol has held quite well. The demand for diesel has fallen very rapidly worldwide because diesel freight transport volumes has come down very badly.
    Drive a diesel car if you use your car a lot. Diesel engines are at around 20% more efficient compared to petrol engines for the same engine size. Moreover, the Euro 2M diesel which we get in Malaysia is relatively cheap to produce because our refineries do not produce diesel which strictly conforms to Euro specifications. Thus, the so-called ‘Euro 2M’ specification. I do not know much about the Euro 5 diesel in Malaysia but if this Malaysian Euro 5 diesel is truly Euro 5 compliant then RM1.45(35 US cents) per liter is very reasonable compared to prices worldwide. Drive a diesel and you will get a shock over how much torque is available when accelerating or overtaking.

• For passage car, the choice of diesel powered one is very limited. Mazda should speed up the process to bring in their 1.5 L turbo diesel mill in Malaysia. Vincent will laugh until you can’t see his teeth.

• did u all notice petrol owner not making noise now? cuz all untung gau gau sekarang

• Vincent Ang on Feb 01, 2016 at 6:22 pm

Try running a fuel station then tell me how profitable the business is.

• Bruise on Feb 01, 2016 at 2:07 pm

Bad news, more lost their job

• Donwan BR1M on Feb 01, 2016 at 6:51 pm

everytime malaysian pump petrol……we are subsidizing to the damn govt.

• Nancy on Feb 02, 2016 at 7:58 am

And I step outside
    And I take a deep breath and I get real high
    And I scream from the top of my lungs
    What’s going on……. Malaysia!

• When fuel price hike, everything else follow suits.
    When fuel price drop, nothing else follow suits.