“AES to save, not punish,” claims Transport Minister

AES_Camera

Transport Minister, Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai announced that the Transport Ministry has received overwhelming response following its call for public suggestions leading up to the widened enforcement of Automated Enforcement System (AES) cameras and the return of the Demerit Points System (Kejara).

Having welcomed suggestions from the public back in January 2016, Liow claimed that there has been a lot of positive input from road users. Several have put in recommendations for new AES locations, others general improvement plans for the system.

According to The Star, Liow also reminded the public that it has up to March 31 (2016) to submit ideas to the ministry to help it improve the two law enforcement systems.

Saying that the implementation of the AES and Kejara systems were not plainly to punish drivers, Liow stands firm on the two-pronged approach being there to save them. According to a recent study by the Road Transport Department’s (JPJ), nine out of 10 motorists said that they would comply with traffic laws if cameras were in place.

MEX-Highway-01

“Some 90% of the road users will comply with the speed limits on stretches with traffic cameras, compared to just 60% on roads without the monitoring system. It will be very effective in reducing accident and death rates if the cameras are installed at accident-prone areas,” said Liow.

The minister revealed that in 2015 alone, 6,706 road users were killed in a total of 489,606 recorded road accidents. The figures show a rising trend when compared to 2014’s toll of 6,674 killed in 476,196 accidents.

Worryingly, this amounts to an average of 18 deaths per day in 2015 and a road accident for every minute of the day. “We want to make roads safer for all but enforcement and punishment alone cannot effectively achieve this. It is self-discipline that helps to save lives,” Liow continued.

Do you believe that the widened enforcement of the AES and Kejara systems will help to reduce the death rate on Malaysian roads? Tell us what you think in the comments below.

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• Tipu Tipu Malaysia on Feb 01, 2016 at 10:58 am

How to save? Pls tell us about the 2 crony companies. Just Sdn Bhd but each can earn a potential of RM10 BILLION each clean profit just by profit sharing with PDRM per annum.

Even Bursa listed companies cannot earn clean profit that much in a year

Also ls tell us why the company charge the Government RM1 million per camera? Are they using Naza Telescope?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
  • Car Got Saman. Moto No Saman on Feb 01, 2016 at 11:03 am

Everyday hundreds of motorbike beat the red traffic light. The polis officer manning the light just smile at the motorbikes beating the lights.

But these motorbikes never get saman. Even AES also never give them saman. Is this fair?

They beat the lights, they cause risk of major accidents too but the polis and the AES and AGC all got no telur (balls) to saman these motorbikes.

If you saman cars, you must be fair and saman the motorbikes. After all, if they beat the light, a major accident involving many cars can happen.

I hope the AG, AGC and PDRM Trafik all can grow some telur and be brave to saman the motorbikes. Don’t have double standards lah PDRM.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 1
  • t2357s on Feb 01, 2016 at 11:09 am

Aaahhh chhoo!!!!!!!!!!

Been sneezing all day. Now I see why. Sorry, I am allergic to BS.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • kazanixm on Feb 01, 2016 at 11:14 am

The minister should give much more ‘intelligent’ responses such as ‘AES is more like a reminder on the speed limit in the area’…

*sigh* Ministers these days….

Also, just so you guys information, superbike had also get summon from the AES camera.

Can`t really outrun them unless on a very high speed (300++kmh, if not mistakenly, Mythbuster on Discovery Channel already done several test to outrun the speed cam)

• theanswer on Feb 01, 2016 at 11:16 am

then..give proper warning/sign. highlight the camera properly (unlike the one in slim river or putrajaya).

• Painter on Feb 01, 2016 at 11:23 am

I’ve been calling for the authorities to change the mode of punishment, from fine to engagement in the form of counseling to suspension of license and mental health evaluation for repeat offenders.

This may cause administrative nightmare but will surely be proven to be more natural in dealing with human behavior.

• isuzuki on Feb 01, 2016 at 11:27 am

I say save… save who ?

• carazy on Feb 01, 2016 at 11:29 am

Hello Pak Menteri, pls put AES at the sharp corners where usually motorist tent to test their “skill” such as in Karak-Bentong stretch, or at Genting Highland road, or at any dangerous road that prove it is a prone to accident. And do not put AES at the long strait road where normally you tend to put it, for a profit. If you really care for the rakyat, not ur pocket.

• rakyat on Feb 01, 2016 at 11:39 am

if really want to save, just implement the demerit point system will do. no $$ involve.

• Andrekua on Feb 01, 2016 at 11:42 am

Then just deduct their points and gantung lesen… saman for what??

• choong hui ken on Feb 01, 2016 at 11:52 am

The symptom of syok sendiri sickness had occurred again. Ministry of health please look into this.
    Afterall all, I suspense only government agency like aes been implemented back. Rakyat kicked out aes long time already.
    Please do online vote who like the aes and who don’t like.. we see the results again..

• dear Dato,

if your minister still want to continue this AES things, please be transparent for the camera locations and please to put more and more signboard to show this camera position. from this we will slow down and maintain the speed limit. peace

• To save the gov ma.

• syukur lah

• I thought it is to collect money from people..
    people with rm1,000 income have to pay rm300,
    people with rm10,000 income also pay rm300
    Just use demerit, better for everyone.

• ben yap on Feb 01, 2016 at 4:34 pm

AES is to feed the cronies pockets.

• Sharon on Feb 01, 2016 at 4:35 pm

In Kuching, AES needs to be installed most roads, not only for catching those speeding but because:

more and more Kuching driver drive without:

a) using indicator light during changing lanes, or turning to other road.

b) didn’t turn on lights during early in the morning (still dark) and also during heavy rainfalls.

c) drive like snake, just like they are acting in movies.

Demerit points:

good car drivers got bonus point? if no, i will say no demerit points.

• Donwan BR1M on Feb 01, 2016 at 6:49 pm

hahahahahaha….

Please dont bullshit to Malaysian, OK??

Everybody knows AES is a lop-sided business deal, only to make cronies richer.

• Donwan BR1M on Feb 01, 2016 at 6:50 pm

please install some AES at Putrajaya too…..Maybe infront of Pm office. For his safety too, right??

• Kayu Tiga on Feb 02, 2016 at 8:00 am

Put some cameras under Sunway cable bridge maa. Sure can get lot of money