Lorry rams more than 20 indiscriminately parked cars

Pagi tadi di Pasar Nibong Tebal. Berang dengan kereta yang diparkir sesuka hati, pemandu lori melanggar kesemua kereta yang menghalang jalan.

Posted by Sri Sanjeevan Ramakrishnan on Sunday, 21 February 2016

It was a smash-up, but not as you’d imagine. According to news reports, 22 cars and two motorcycles were damaged in Nibong Tebal yesterday when a lorry rammed into them. The event was no accident, but rather a deliberate act.

In the morning incident, which took place in the busy market area in Taman Berjaya, the driver of the lorry was said to have lost his temper because his three-tonne tipper truck could not move as cars and motorcycles were parked on both sides of the road and had left it impassable.

The driver then decided to make it passable by ramming his way through, in the process causing all the smaller vehicles to be damaged. Seven cars were wrecked, while the rest were slightly damaged. Plenty of mayhem, as the photos below from Facebook posts show. The lorry driver drove off from the scene.

Seberang Perai Selatan police chief Supt Wan Hassan Wan Ahmad said the police were investigating the incident and efforts were being done to track down the lorry driver for reckless driving.

The folks involved in the incident may not be too pleased about it, but it seems that many others didn’t view the incident in the same light – based on comments on social media postings, many condoned the case of road rage, and even praised the lorry driver for doing what he did.

What are your thoughts on the matter? Do you think that the action committed by the lorry driver was wrong, or do you think that such consequence as a result of indiscriminate parking is only fair, even justifiable?

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments mainly praise the lorry driver for his bold action in ramming parked cars caused by selfish double parking, with some fans labeling him a hero. Many highlight the frustration with habitual illegal parking and weak enforcement, blaming poor parking facilities and attitudes. Several comments defend the driver, suggesting his act, though technically wrong, exposes the irresponsibility of inconsiderate parkers. Others emphasize the need for proper parking infrastructure and stricter enforcement, criticizing drivers’ selfishness and the lack of action from authorities. A few express concerns about safety and legality, warning of potential harm but still sympathizing with the driver's frustration. Overall, the sentiment favors more personal accountability and better parking discipline, viewing the incident as a small act of rebellion against a system that encourages selfish parking habits.

• squall_shinoda on Feb 22, 2016 at 2:19 pm

Only two words for those who double or even triple park there – Padan muka…!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 320 Thumb down 4
    • shadowsniper on Feb 22, 2016 at 3:29 pm

This is all because our Traffic Police didnt do perform his duty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 71
      • kerry on Feb 22, 2016 at 4:05 pm

Police saman people double park= police wrong
        Police dont saman people double park = police wrong

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 158 Thumb down 14
      • Kenny on Feb 22, 2016 at 4:44 pm

Traffic police is all over the place and they have duties to manage bigger road. This is the people whom do not understand the word double parking….this is a good lesson to all the cars….think you are the king of the road….you get what you deserved…..padan muka….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 0
      • Kent Ong on Feb 22, 2016 at 5:59 pm

This is nothing to do with the police. It is our responsibility to park properly.

I am curious we blame police for we cannot behave ourselves? We are all adults, not kids anymore, we do understand double parking is not right. We double park because we are selfish, we double park because of our convenience.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 183 Thumb down 3
      • fantikar on Feb 22, 2016 at 6:06 pm

whoopdeedoo as much as 32 people agrees too…lol… pathetic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 20
      • weiiii… shadoesniper, pegi terjun lombong pastu mati la. apa punya komen la ni.

• Very justified. Many a times I had wished that I’m driving an Abrams tank so that I can pulverize the cars parked by the roadside along the curve. A certain mayor has done just that in an Eastern Europe country

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 197 Thumb down 0
    • It depends, if there’s a yellow line there then he did nothing wrong at all. The reason people felt he is wrong because nobody else did what he did. And the reason nobody did what is did because we have to pay for our own repairs.

• StreetJustice on Feb 22, 2016 at 2:22 pm

I am for one praise the lorry driver act on this situation. Too long has the citizens of Malaysia remained ignorant and selfish when it comes to Parking/Driving/Civil/Ethics on the road.
    While on the side of law he is wrong to do so, but THOSE DRIVERS ARE WRONG TO PARK AS THEY SEE FIT ALSO. Police should have SAMAN them on the go also! even with damaged vehicles!

We should really donate rm10 to the driver if he does get caught and bail him out. Let this be a spark or a small seed so that Malaysians can be more civil/ethically/morally better on the road or parking.

LEARN TO PARK properly BEACHES~~~~~~ ( wrong usage of word intended)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 213 Thumb down 3
  • What he did was definitely wrong, but I see where his decision came from.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 1
    • No doubt the lorry driver is wrong and I guess many of us don’t have the gut to do what he did, we can only fantasize. IF these inconsiderate double parkers start to park properly bacause of this incidence, then we all have a lot to thank the lorry driver…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
      • It depends, if there’s a yellow line there then he did nothing wrong at all. The reason people felt he is wrong because nobody else did what he did. And the reason nobody did what he did because we all have to pay for our own repairs.

• Harpreet Singh on Feb 22, 2016 at 2:36 pm

Of course the lorry driver was wrong. Having said that, it is about time people learn that you can’t double-park. Malaysia is full of these selfish drivers! The lorry driver should be punished and the people who double-park should be fined. That would be fair

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 3
  • Daniel Yahya on Feb 22, 2016 at 2:43 pm

On one hand, I could see why people are lauding the lorry driver. However, someone could be injured, or worse in this incident. Thank goodness that didn’t happen…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • Antony Gasper on Feb 22, 2016 at 2:49 pm

Absolutely fair

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • mohamad on Feb 22, 2016 at 2:52 pm

Eventhough what he did was wrong but who might not lost temper when the road ia blocked due to irresponsible drivers who assumed I will be away just for a moment. It is not wrong to park for a while by the side. But actual fact is that just a moment created a long traffic jam.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
  • I summon the lorry driver to come here at SohoKL @ Solaris Mont Kiara. There are so many cars like to double park here. I want the lorry driver to ram those cars. I can sponsor a lorry for him. Good job. Real hero.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 112 Thumb down 2
  • Malaysian on Feb 22, 2016 at 3:06 pm

Give this guys a medal and invite him to Bangsar with his lorry…URGENTLY!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 108 Thumb down 1
    • I would like to invite him to Kuchai Entrepreneurs Park, KL too. Bring a bigger truck. Authorities are simply putting a blind eye and i got threatened by indiscriminate drivers for ticking them off !! It is my fault…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 3
  • Stefan Pertz on Feb 22, 2016 at 3:19 pm

Remember, truck drivers are usually paid per trip. If this trucker was blocked and couldn’t do the trip and get paid for it…

Well, ask anyone else how THEY would feel if they couldn’t earn a living because of the inconsiderate behaviour of others.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 1
  • I wouldn’t be quick to condemn those who double park their cars. We have to remember half the time the problem is that these shoplots, office areas, colleges, housing areas always forget to have ample parking space as it’s not very profitable.

I am not defending those stupid double parked drivers but sometimes the lack of a parking option breeds this problem. I myself faced this before. Back in University, I arrived an hour and a half early for an exam and there was no parking (my classes were all late morning classes so I am not familiar with early more parking madness) Had to double park eventually cause I waited till it was 20 mins to my exam and I still couldnt find parking.

Not going to say which University it was but they built a new campus, it’s student population is 15,000 pupils and they had a carpark with 700 spaces and 200 resevered for staff. So that leaves 500 spaces for 10-15000 students. I

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 69
  • shadowsniper on Feb 22, 2016 at 3:32 pm

If our Traffic office is doing their duty… none of this will happen. So police office pls do your job by not only issue ticket, tow their car also. Make them pay fine and hold their car for 7 working days before release back to them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
  • David on Feb 22, 2016 at 3:38 pm

Lorry driver, if you don’t have money to pay for your fine, I will support some, good job

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
  • Mr. Agogo on Feb 22, 2016 at 3:40 pm

parking recklessly is bad..ramming other vehicle is not as good either

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • Anson.K on Feb 22, 2016 at 3:53 pm

Today is a lorry , tomorrow might be an ambulance which is on emergency to safe lifes!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
  • Rosmah on Feb 22, 2016 at 4:05 pm

Ni semua salah abang najib.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • If you double park, that means “Park at your own Risk”
    Senang cerita, TQ

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 0
  • Loh Swee Keong on Feb 22, 2016 at 4:34 pm

Strong support for this driver to teach inconsiderate drivers who simply park their vehicles

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • abd razak on Feb 22, 2016 at 4:49 pm

good job lorry driver!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • This is great. Sure the car owner has a great lesson. It’s not about money.

• My opinion – I pointed this to inconsiderate motocars/motorcycles user, they are all selfish & park without thinking to the other road user. Always to my observation – they don’t care about others.

As for the Lorry , that is his bad day.

• BAGUS!!!! great job done by the lorry driver! those people parked double triple parking was not acceptable for any reason. that was not the driver rude, but those people parked their car like that were rude. think before u park, if u were to double park PLS look around and give some space n do consider other bigger vehicle especially buses and lorries which require more space. else, u’ll get rammed by tempered driver.

• Aku punya suka on Feb 22, 2016 at 5:47 pm

Thumbs up u lorry man

• Ingram Ng on Feb 22, 2016 at 5:49 pm

Kudos to the lorry driver. Padan muka to those who double park. And polis, don’t bother looking for that truck la, blame yourself for not instructing your people well.

• It’s not even reckless driving, it’s deliberate. Yay. Those of you wanting to double park next round, park further please. It doesn’t hurt.

• Anthony de Souza on Feb 22, 2016 at 6:50 pm

This is indeed a brilliant act of excellence, I’d like to add to an additional salute to the Lorry driver for damaging these self-centered drivers who park as they wish in the name of convenience but rather selfish. Next move is to have the insurance companies completely declining motor insurance claims on those cars that took the risk to double park, paying only for the repairs of cars parked properly in valid parking spaces. If permitted to say this, police should compensate the Lorry driver for his action from the summons money collected from the ignorant double parking drivers, reward more Lorry drivers like this for the true convenience of ethical drivers. After all, the way forward seems brighter with people taking their own action this way, with hopes more selfish drivers learn their lesson well though a hard way it maybe.

• what will happen if in the car got person sleeping or kids inside? If somebody killed the wrong person is lorry driver

• that’s why the yellow/white 8′ x 16′ box called ‘parking lot’ for….if u park inside the parking lot, anything happen u will be protected by relevant act(s); otherwise it’s at your own risk lah…

• Pooi Pooi on Feb 22, 2016 at 7:53 pm

Ordinary folks are taking vigilante action because they have lost faith in the system, disappointed with the repeated lack of enforcement from authorities which continue to embolden vehicle owners to double- and triple- park as they like. Bad parking habits happen all over Malaysia on a daily basis, truly 1Malaysia.

• This is in Malaysia? At first I thought it was in China until I saw the number plates.

• Cho Hyun-ah on Feb 23, 2016 at 2:43 am

Good job lorry driver!

• Deadpool on Feb 23, 2016 at 7:46 am

I believe the lorry driver is actually a Deadpool he is a Dealpool guys!!

• Eddie on Feb 23, 2016 at 8:26 am

Thank you lorry driver, hail the hero. Watever it is, root of the prob – driver’s attitude. To those who condemned this act, try asking yourself this – have you ever caught up in situation like this, sitting next to a dying man in an ambulance, unable to move even with the sirens on?? I’ve been there!!! Don’t worry, you’ll get the chance to experience it, and you’ll appreciate & definitely know how to park properly soon after..

• I agree on the lorry driver action..please come here and do it at my place..

• Tharshini on Feb 23, 2016 at 1:09 pm

If there are proper parking facilities of course ppl will park properly … nowadays parking oso no place and charges are so much …. then what the hell will people do … but pity the lorry driver too…
    1. Parking should be provided
    2. People shouldnt have park like that too but what to do people cant wait for hours finding for parking
    3. Pity the lorry driver too…

• sarled on Feb 23, 2016 at 8:59 pm

in msia, you can provide all the parking spaces necessary, but still idiot drivers would choose to double park right in front of the shop, sometimes right in front of an empty parking space.

• drebar on Feb 23, 2016 at 1:14 pm

ive seen similar incident few years back, except it was at a Tesco, and it wasn’t a lorry ramming a car, it was another sedan car. There are so many parking bays at Tesco and he decides to park on a curve where other cars cannot leave.

it seems like second nature among drivers in Malaysia to park indiscriminately and leaving distress towards other road users. I wonder if these drivers don’t love their car enough to find a safer parking space. While road rage incidents like these are rare, you’re still exposing your car to some random roadside accident or scratches from pedestrians or whatever they’re carrying.

• Bernard on Feb 23, 2016 at 2:23 pm

All those who parked indiscriminately must be charged in court immediately.

The lorry driver should be left off with a warning. He only did what thousands dream of doing every single day, driving on Malaysian roads.

However, please assist him in getting a license.

• if the lorry driver kena saman, we pay for him.. salute

• sarled on Feb 23, 2016 at 8:56 pm

bravo lorry driver. I’ve had always wanted to own a truck to do this………