SPYSHOT: 2016 Proton Saga shows more of front end

2016 Proton Saga spyshot

Yesterday, we brought you a spyshot of the rear of the 2016 Proton Saga, and now another photo has been posted on the Proton CFE & CVT Technical Discussion Facebook group – this time showing the front end of that same mule.

Not much appears to have been changed from the current Saga FLX at first glance, but a closer inspection reveals a new dual-bar front grille, as well as mildly reshaped headlights that look more three-dimensional in form. The bumper also appears to have a more aggressive in design, with protruding fog light surrounds and jutting chin spoilers as seen on newer Proton models from the Prevé onwards.

20160322_095018

Elsewhere, the side shoulder line slopes further down towards the front for a more dynamic look, while the new door handles (taken from the Iriz) are now aligned to that line. The C-pillar also now has a kink that necessitates reshaped rear doors, while the rear end has been completely revised with more three-dimensional tail lights and a new number plate recess on the bootlid connecting the two.

Technical details remain scarce right now, but the Saga could launch with the Iriz’s 1.3 litre VVT engine and a choice of a five-speed manual or a CVT. Proton’s new naturally-aspirated 1.0 litre and 1.2 litre three-cylinder engines may also make an appearance further down the line – these mills are slated to begin production by the end of 2017 – while a turbocharged version of the 1.0 litre engine could also feature.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Get new designer on Mar 23, 2016 at 5:21 pm

Get new designer.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 10
    • Dplictr on Mar 23, 2016 at 5:55 pm

Yeah tell that to BMW Audi Merc they have many similar models through series and generations. Wut say you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 62
      • kamil idris on Mar 23, 2016 at 6:13 pm

Why wanna tell to Merc and the rest when they look stunning !!
        Saga design sucks and that’s a fact !!
        U don’t wanna be seen sitting in one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 8
        • Wah compare luxury cars with saga? Are you out of mind?

Even merc looks like old elantra.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 14
          • WT Fuchh on Mar 23, 2016 at 11:41 pm

Same old nasi lemak, day in day out. Pls fire the entire design dept, total waste of R n D money from the public.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 9
          • If you count how many same design through generations and series BMW had since old days, you got to be the most companies that do retrenchment in tje world!

• Money from public? Since when?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
        • I agree. Bimmer – from 1 till 100 series look same. Audi and merc too, pls change the designers and make it different

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 14
          • topkek on Mar 24, 2016 at 7:53 am

If Merc Audi BMW looks same, it’s ok
            If p1 looks same (not really) then bash.
            Topkek

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
          • Heskey on Mar 24, 2016 at 9:48 am

This will last another 10 years

• Raja Celup on Mar 23, 2016 at 7:33 pm

Your Proton only worth mention with Dongfeng or Emseka.

Don’t even dream go near with BMW Audi Merc. Sedarlah sikit wahai jaguh kanpung.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 18
        • Many people compare proton with luxury brands ady, so jaguh worldwide

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
      • Come on. Why should anyone be surprised of Proton right? People buy because is cheap. Full-stop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 10
      • Same L0rrrr on Mar 23, 2016 at 8:27 pm

People buy Saga because it is the cheapest sedan not because it is good. That’s why Myvi/Axia sales are much higher. Period

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 14
        • Samelordupe on Mar 23, 2016 at 8:53 pm

Axia is cheaper thats why people buy axia more, not because it is good. Period.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 11
        • Same lorrr bodoh lagi on Mar 23, 2016 at 10:20 pm

People not buy car just becoz it’s cheap.If saga & persona is cheap but problematic people don’t buy also.Meaning saga & persona not just cheap but reliable.Same reason as same lorrr bought saga for his son

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
        • Sam saga no 1 on Mar 23, 2016 at 11:13 pm

Understood.

• Actual reason on Mar 23, 2016 at 11:55 pm

Asalkan bukan Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
    • Muniandy Periasamy on Mar 23, 2016 at 6:03 pm

I won’t buy a car no matter how cheap from a company that may go bust. You see, all this while, because of Mahathir, sales have been good. As we all know, 90% of Proton sales actually go to the Government.

Last year Proton sold 100,000 cars. In reality, only about 10% we bought by the public. The bulk of the purchase was bought by various government departments and ministries, enforcement divisions (customs, immigresen, pdrm, UTK etc) and other organisations such as Bomba, TUDM, TLDM, KDRM, Tabung Haji, Risda etc etc

Now, Mahathir got problem with the Government. In retaliation and in spite, they even sacked him from Petronas. It is a matter of time before he is sacked from Proton too by the Government. Even if they don’t sack him, they will make sure they will cut down on Government orders.

How to survive? Proton, with Mahathir’s help can only sell 100,000 cars. Now, with orders possibly cut, there will be a big problem. How to feed the 30,000 Proton staff??

Proton has one of the largest staffing of any car manufacturer in the world. If what the CEO says is true ie Proton makes only RM500 profit per car sold, assuming this year it also sells 100,000 cars (that is RM50 million profit).

How to pay staff, vendors and also bonuses with RM50 million per year? Board of Directors alone works out to more than RM50 million in salary and bonus. Then you got machinery cost, factory water and electric bills, distributor cost, vendor cost etc etc.

I think electric bill alone from Proton factory should work out about RM10 million per annum or more.

How? Where is Proton going to get money from?

I dare not buy anything from a company that is hanging on a thread. No money means compromise in quality and safety.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 30
      • DonkeyKong on Mar 23, 2016 at 6:50 pm

Profit margin of RM500 is only for the bare-bones Saga FLX SV, dumbass.. how about brushing up on your language comprehension before you start bashing?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 26
        • Donkey John on Mar 24, 2016 at 10:08 am

Rude donkey, always calling people names and calling everyone in this forum bodo. yeah lah, everything free for you, senang hidup.

• Anonymous on Mar 23, 2016 at 7:03 pm

Dude… perhaps they mean net profit of RM500 per car… after minus all the overhead expenditure… they really need to get to the export market.

P1 is a private company owned by a GLC… i suppose at a certain point in time the mgmt n shareholders could ask TunM to step down… but we’ll see what happens…

But i agree with u… if should the govt just hold on purchasing new units from P1 just for 1 year… would pressure P1 mgmt to do something drastic.

• Low Budget on Mar 24, 2016 at 10:45 am

TDM stepping down as Proton Chairman is a certainty, unless Ah Jib losing power.
          You see, Proton will lose hundred of millions of bucks per year from Ah Jib as R&D fees if TDM continues to ‘kacau’

• poor guy on Mar 23, 2016 at 7:33 pm

I would still buy proton. As long as it suit my pocket. All this while, all my cars were protons. Never encountered major problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 12
        • Low Budget on Mar 24, 2016 at 10:52 am

I am a poor guy too, I owned Proton (not 1 but 3 units for the family) in the past but since has converted to Perodua, the most important reason is the bad attitude of the personnel at the Proton Service center, the 2nd most important reason is often enough they don’t have ready replacement parts and have to order and have us re-visit some days later…

• Proton is like GC or Akira on Mar 23, 2016 at 8:09 pm

Simple logic, would you buy a Samsung phone which Samsung has so much of resources to give best quality parts and after sales or would you buy a China made phone called GC which can go bankrupt anytime?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
      • Bodoh Macao Same lorrr on Mar 23, 2016 at 10:31 pm

How do u know 90% proton sales went to gov departments? How bout ranger,escape,. hilux,dmax,hiace,Pajero,innova,fortuner,etc,those are not proton models.What your conclusion then?Dont u see on gov backyard? Obviously u r stupid!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
    • Albert on Mar 23, 2016 at 7:30 pm

Protong is missing the point.
      As long as the CAMPRO engine and PUNCH cvt gearbox is still being churned out,no facelifts or booblifts can increase market share.
      Mind you,the Perodua salesguys said they will be selling the last batch of MYVIs,hinting a new replacement (sedan?)model is on the launching pad very very soon.
      YAB Tun is too busy in politics,giving ceramah from lori belakang soon.Protong,you are like the bottom 3 in Premier league,waiting for relegation.
      2017 is too DISTANT,Protong fanboys want the new engines + cvt gearbox NOW.

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Mar 23, 2016 at 10:16 pm

Nowadays if u want to buy a car below market value make sure u enter into a ‘marriage’ with the seller first then immediately ask the seller to make a declaration of oath… hehehehe…so easy maaaaaa…

• IDIOTES on Mar 28, 2016 at 8:52 am

you morons, design costs money, more complex designs = more costs in terms of shaping the metal etc. Proton is a company with limited budget, what do you expect? I can imagine the execs at proton be like, “we want a good looking design with RM2 budget can ah?”

• In b4 bash

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 29
    • Nonsense logic on Mar 23, 2016 at 5:54 pm

Profits Rm500 but can give Rm4000 discounts.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 1
      • Albert on Mar 23, 2016 at 7:38 pm

NONSENSE LOGIC,they give discounts to clear massive unsold sunbaked stocks.
        Protong has no more profit vision.
        They practice FIREFIGHTING management now.
        Come April 1,they will announce another shocking LOSS OF another RM 500 Juta.Not malu kah?
        Well,sister company Honda Malaysia is churning out record profits,mah.
        It is amazing,many multinational companies chopped thousands,including mighty Petronas.
        Protong ,did not wield the axe.Wahliao eh,TAHAN LASAK,PROTONG.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
        • But killing airbags, dieselgate, brake pedalgate, switch fire starter and world wide recalls are much worse.

They not malu kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
          • Pemalas on Mar 24, 2016 at 12:16 am

Give lifetime warranty power window basically just sweeping problem under carpet rather than truly fixing it. Lazy and shameless solution.

• Nojaps on Mar 24, 2016 at 7:37 am

No such prob now. Fire starter window switch in toyota much more worse.

• Every1canTalk on Mar 23, 2016 at 8:04 pm

Potong commit every 5 years will have totally new generation all over the range, right?
      How many times facelift had done on this saga and how old is this saga already? Lol

• icantalktoo on Mar 23, 2016 at 10:57 pm

Meanwhile, Vios after generations still harping on archaic junky 1nz-fe engine and hopeless 4 speed gearbox. Lol

• SedusaX4 on Mar 23, 2016 at 5:52 pm

Looks 80 percent like the on going Saga

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • DonkeyKong on Mar 23, 2016 at 6:53 pm

That’s because it *IS* still based on the existing Saga’s platform but with upgraded safety specs and re-skinned exterior. So, if you haven’t been reading, or don’t know any facts, don’t pretend to be clever. Just be glad you still get to keep your office boy job despite your illiteracy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 22
      • Nonsense logic on Mar 24, 2016 at 12:02 am

Wasting money on low-volume irrelevant Perdana rather than developing all-new high volume Saga. That’s how Proton keep screwing itself.

• What makes u so sure they r not developing all new saga while soldiering on with current platform?
          R u P1 designer? Product development engineer? Market researcher? The GM? CEO? MD? Tier 1 Vendor? Perhaps even the tea lady?

• Buy 1 Free 1 on Mar 24, 2016 at 12:40 pm

Later tak laku, bring SV model and blame rakyat.

• Pemalas on Mar 23, 2016 at 8:11 pm

The design at least 15 years outdated.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
      • Oh dugung tapir and frog designs on jepunis cars are at least come from kindergarten students. Even they can design much better

• Frogmyvi on Mar 23, 2016 at 9:20 pm

I thought it is a big frog but i am wrong, it is a myvi!

• George Abdul on Mar 23, 2016 at 5:57 pm

Proton current trend “spyshot here and there around Malaysia until 2020…”
    Boring when will Perdana will be launch? Delay again? CEO too busy on political?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 9
    • alldisc on Mar 23, 2016 at 7:22 pm

1st quarter will be over soon.

• Albert on Mar 23, 2016 at 7:45 pm

george abdul,the Perdana may sell few hundred units initially.
      For example,if they price this Accordana at rm 120K,would you buy it ,if you can afford the coming Accord facelift at rm140K ++?
      This Accordana is an OUTDATED facelift.If I have the budget,I might as well lengthen my HP loan period,or pay higher downpayment,to get the latest Accord .What say You?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • George Abdul on Mar 24, 2016 at 8:16 am

Alberto, but the CEO Tun DrM comfirm better then the original… Until it debut then wait for car review by then we discuss it. But yes PROTON sell more expensive car price to own Rakyat says DrM !!!

• Bodoh Macam Same lorrr on Mar 23, 2016 at 10:36 pm

Who asked them to spyshot? They went out for road test loh.Bodoh jugak mcm same lorrr.Then blame paultan for post it here! Not blame proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
  • thepolygonal on Mar 23, 2016 at 5:58 pm

I cannot unsee this…

• seem like no much different with current gen

• Who cares, even luxury cars are same

• bimmersux on Mar 23, 2016 at 11:04 pm

Yup, they change only boot, engine, gearbox, little thing here and there, dashboard still same design. then there goes new BMW series!

• Rashuk_Khan2 on Mar 23, 2016 at 6:11 pm

Good job. Hopefully Proton can reduce the OTR par with Axia…..

• KL Has Fallen (2017) on Mar 23, 2016 at 6:23 pm

orang beli saga sebab miskin…design apa macam pun seronok janji ada roda roda…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Potong Turds, please close SHOP !! on Mar 23, 2016 at 6:29 pm

When will it end, such an ugly turd design, look at the rear, its like some primary school project getting some kids to paste the rear spoiler on the boot with no accuracy …why am I wasting my time on this, close shop and stop the ridiculous failures again and again !!! there should be a law where potong should not be able to charge people for buying this horrible turds instead they Potong should be paying a huge amount of money to the rakyat for which to use these potong turd car !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
    • Kiddo on Mar 23, 2016 at 8:48 pm

Lol you must be the one last time who think that’s old newspaper camo.

Hahaha. Pls ask your teacher ok?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • When PT post regional news, kena hentam.
    But when PT post local gud news, oso kena hentam!

Ok lah, PT shud just post only doom & gloom in MY, just like bashers perception & mindset. Then gerenti wun kena hentam.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
    • George Abdul on Mar 24, 2016 at 8:21 am

Rakyat not bashing, Rakyat just ask for truth. Why Proton selling a more expensive price to own Rakyat? And still increasing price(Feb 2016)? And monopoly the industry with AP cronies until RAKYAT suffer expensive car price???

• No, ur not seeking the real truth. Just the truth u wanna hear. U only wanna hear P1 sale drop, but deaf when ur beloved toyota drop 77%. And u definitely do not represent the RAKYAT. only elected MPs do.

Btw Najib supports public transport rather than private cars. Thats what makes Tun M hopping mad.

• Looks more like an Etios from rhe front rather than a FLX(not a good thing).If Proton prices it right (RM 30K and below for a base model),makes a decent interior, with 2 Airbags and ESP and ABS+EBD (for the below 30k base model lah) and 4 Airbags and “luxuries” such as semi-leather interior and maybe a touch screen infotainment system would be ok for the below 30k top-ranger.A turbo-ed version of the 1.0 New VVT should be on the top range.With current Iriz 1.3 mills at the bottom.

• Xxxxxxxxxx on Mar 23, 2016 at 6:52 pm

Now 2016 already still haven’t start selling 2016 car? Close shop la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
    • Kelle on Mar 23, 2016 at 8:49 pm

2016 got 12 months, do you live on mars?

• I know u anxious wanna buy this car but gud things comes to those who wait. So pls be patient

• Bodoh Macam Same lorrr on Mar 23, 2016 at 10:42 pm

Another bodoh Macam same lorr.A company don’t sell car by date or month of the year.If they not ready,why must sell? Doesn’t matter if they want to sell on January or December.Donu think a car company will launch all their models in particular month only?Hopefully u just being Bodoh on March only,Bodoh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • More like a face/buttlift than a new model. Quite letting me down. I’m expecting a complete redesign.

• Jobless on Mar 23, 2016 at 8:08 pm

Why on earth does Prodon tink it need so many engine variants on just a few models is a complete mystery..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • spyshot again on Mar 23, 2016 at 8:14 pm

Another spyshot… omg proton… please lunch it if u really serious… for me it’s could be just an outlook design… how about others… interior, performance, safety and technologies… please suprise me proton..

• Viosfan on Mar 23, 2016 at 8:50 pm

I am surprise enough to see new gen Vios still using old ancient engine, gearbox and no VSC

• Bodoh Macam Same lorrr on Mar 23, 2016 at 10:45 pm

Blame it on paultan for spyshot,Bodoh! Not omg omg on proton! P1 just do road test..road test not just 1 or 2 days/times only.It requires more days on road.Later u say proton here rosak,there rosak pulak.

• Ongtk on Mar 23, 2016 at 8:16 pm

The silhouette looks similar with the Saga and doesn’t impress at all. How to compete with the Koreans A-Segment with this kind of design? By the way, as far as I can recall, there has been no facelift to the Saga and Preve hitherto.

• What korean A segmenter to compare? Hideous Picanto? Come on..

• Hopeless on Mar 24, 2016 at 8:13 am

Have a look at Hyundai Verna / Hyundai Xcent (A-segment budget sedan).

It proves that cheap sedan can be nicely designed, pleasant-looking interiors, full-spec safety features. Nothing annoying at all.

It’s totally opposite to what Proton and its maniac macais believe that cheap cars must be ugly, terrible therefore poor buyers shouldn’t complaint much aka. beggars cannot be choosy.

• jambancamry on Mar 24, 2016 at 1:12 pm

“Proton and its maniac macais believe that cheap cars must be ugly”

Since when?

• Pajama on Mar 23, 2016 at 8:24 pm

1.0 liter turbo 3 cyclinder 140hp 190nm
    1100kg car? dayummmm

• saladin on Mar 23, 2016 at 8:44 pm

Iriz was badly design. The porpotion is wrong. The rear wheel arch design looks ugly. I hope this saga will have better deaign.

• Merc A klasse also badly design. The proportion is wrong. All rounder is ugly.

• camryowner on Mar 23, 2016 at 10:00 pm

BMW 7 er rear looks like Camry, I’m so proud. Syoik sendiri like driving luxury car

• Myvimacan on Mar 24, 2016 at 7:41 am

I saw porsche macan just now, just oversized myvi look alike.

• policeman on Mar 23, 2016 at 8:47 pm

Same set of photos but split it make 2 posts – profit!!

• Khairul on Mar 23, 2016 at 9:11 pm

Why bashing PROTON & each other, u guys don’t ever know to build your own bicycle. Let enjoy what we ever have in hand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • nandakumar on Mar 23, 2016 at 9:47 pm

what the hell proton?
    box? ya la having those retards mara grads to design,surely design like one of their brains.
    close shop sell nasi lemak better

• engnt on Mar 23, 2016 at 9:55 pm

Where you pick mara grads who design? From sky?

• Tandaskumar on Mar 24, 2016 at 4:14 pm

Oi babooji.. im one of mara grads and i earn more than 10k/month.. dont think all mara grads are lousy..

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Mar 23, 2016 at 10:11 pm

Alot of keyboard warriors for Proton here…much like the hyped IRIZ marketing. At the end of day, keyboard warriors go to sleep, cars still not sold. Just a few months back, IRIZ is the most fantastic high quality & safe car, 5 star rating, beautiful design, etc. After that….sales keep dropping. You win argument here no point. Sales not going to improve…la. If feedback from buyers say its lousy…means its lousy. Doesn’t matter the designer & mgmt like the product…its the buyer’s decision that counts!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • kakaka on Mar 23, 2016 at 11:00 pm

You are one of the keyboard warriors
      Toyota sales plummet 77%, so it means its lousy, doesn’t matter the designer & mgmt like the product…its the buyer’s decision that counts!

Kakaka

• Pelawak on Mar 24, 2016 at 7:07 am

Proton talk big said can achieve 130K car sales in 2015. But later full year way off target got only 107K sales. What a lame joke.

Wanna hear even bigger joke? They wanna target even higher sales 150K cars this year 2016! Ahhahahahahahahaha!!!

• kakaka on Mar 24, 2016 at 12:08 pm

Eh can you keep your laugh till next year?
          It doesn’t happen yet!

How about other brands which even don’t get in the sales number list? You dun bash pulak.

• Nissan on Mar 23, 2016 at 10:27 pm

Improve the safety features pls, how pity to look at the recent victim of your proton saga collided with a pickup and ur proton is smashed like milo tin.

• The wheel of the pickup smashed into the driver compartment. Not even ur Lexus biscuits can survive this. Dun kid urself

• uggio on Mar 24, 2016 at 7:49 am

New gen Vios without VSC deserve pity more than old timer saga (savvy)

• i think mechanically surely better but design..oh dear

• owned the fl manual version since 2012. good car with no major problem. what do you expect from a sub 40k small sedan. manage to hit 100k km mark on the before getting a new Isuzu D-max last year. I missed all the handling and the 3rd gear uphill push

• give up on Mar 24, 2016 at 10:00 am

somehow, the front reminds me of nissan latio!

• 1.0 , improved aero , very skinny tires ,
    efficiency is the name of the game of the saga….

and safety aspect too~!

• is a bloody same car!!

• abe we on Mar 24, 2016 at 1:39 pm

Work harder proton. Seriously…

• greatest on Mar 24, 2016 at 1:40 pm

I believe this new saga will sell better than vios.Double for sure! Camo sticker not even pulled off already said ugly,wrong proportion,old saga..bla bla.Complaining like chicken ass squeezing after drop shit.For a company that produce most car from scratch much more respectable than rebadge.But p1 pls improve your products & make better car then export to more other markets.Make profit elsewhere and enjoy your profit among yourself,Malaysian so ungrateful once they make more money in pocket.Japanese attitude way different than lousy talk talk lazy lazy Malaysian