SPYSHOT: 2016 Proton Saga reveals a bit at a time

20160322_095018

Yet again, the 2016 Proton Saga has been spotted, this time by reader Yow Hong Chieh. The sole rear shot of this development prototype shows the car minus a little bit of camouflage, revealing a few more details of the heavily revised budget-minded sedan.

With much of the hard disguise taken off the rear of the Saga, we can see a new, more three-dimensional tail light design, although whether it will retain the Saga FL and FLX‘s LED lighting remains to be seen. There’s also a centrally mounted rear fog light in the bumper, which likely means that the entire bumper design is new. Also seen here is a new kinked C-pillar design, along with new door handles from the Iriz.

No view of the front, but previous spyshots have shown that while a lot remains identical to the current car – such as the identical bonnet and front door cutouts and the carried-over door mirrors – the new Saga appears to feature reshaped headlights, as well as a jutting chin spoiler that has been seen on newer Proton models from the Prevé onwards.

Technical details remain scarce right now, but the Saga could launch with the Iriz’s 1.3 litre VVT engine and a choice of a five-speed manual or a CVT. Proton’s new naturally-aspirated 1.0 litre and 1.2 litre three-cylinder engines may also make an appearance further down the line – these mills are slated to begin production by the end of 2017 – while a turbocharged version of the 1.0 litre engine could also feature.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• kenotbrainliao on Mar 22, 2016 at 5:17 pm

Sooo basically 2 B segment car at one time? haiyooo, didn’t they learn anything at all?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 26
    • Kolejku on Mar 22, 2016 at 5:45 pm

Can’t wait for the new Proton Saga SV^^

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
    • Saga now downgraded to A-segment as value for money car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 5
    • segment A la bro

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • Schreyer screwed on Mar 22, 2016 at 8:22 pm

Cheap cars are designed to be ugly and unimaginative.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
      • Uglee on Mar 22, 2016 at 8:41 pm

But why vios almera attrage are much uglier while more expensive and in B segment summore? Pls sack those designers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • Value for money cars r designed to be functional and no-frills. Thats why Golf looks like Saga BLM

• nosushi on Mar 23, 2016 at 7:52 am

But jepunis expensive cars more ugly, how?

• Same L0rr on Mar 23, 2016 at 7:53 am

Cheap = ugly.. Want a nice/beautiful car, pay more la.. No money, go for Saga A segment, have money go for Persona B-Segment, pay more and more, go for Preve C-Segment, have a lot of money, wait for Perdana D-Segment. As simple as it..
        But dont regret if trade in Proton at bad RV.. Buy preowned Vios better!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
        • kahkahkah on Mar 23, 2016 at 11:57 am

Altis 2008 65K, good RV kah?
          Kahkahkah

• Sam VHL Loo on Mar 23, 2016 at 12:29 pm

Not 2008 one lah, it’s Altis 2013 one (used car offered at most 65K, 1.8G version)

• Albert on Mar 22, 2016 at 10:59 pm

Proton is launching cars very few people want,except the hardcore fanboys.
      But even the hardcore fanboys got a new problem…banks f..them off cos they are bad credit risks.
      Just like the socalled GAMECHANGER Preve,Suprima,Iriz……this refreshed Saga will fare no better with the outdated /ancient CAMPRO ENGINE.
      By the way,the perodua salespeople said they are selling the last batch of Myvis.Guess what?,,,,a NEW PERODUA CAR(SEDAN?)on the launching pad soon.
      Good luck ,Protong.

• theanswer on Mar 23, 2016 at 9:08 am

i also confius. first they decided to use iriz for persona..now saga from what? and for what segment? why create persona when you have preve?

• lowprofile (Member) on Mar 23, 2016 at 11:27 am

They’re repositioning this down to ‘A’ segment.

• Pls support Proton ….demi negara tercinta.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 54
    • Nonsense logic on Mar 22, 2016 at 7:01 pm

Rakyat pay RM9 billion car excise duty taxes each year.

You fool still tell us not enough support?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 11
      • Optim on Mar 22, 2016 at 8:20 pm

I dun see any words of not enough supporr. Pls repair your glasses

• NotAllHopeLost on Mar 22, 2016 at 8:25 pm

You sir, I like you, not many support proton, even in spirit people hate proton guts.. Here i hope to at least win the refurbished coupon in proton search because my old saga is worth it..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • Sack designer on Mar 22, 2016 at 5:21 pm

Sack the designer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 5
    • Cheap manuals please on Mar 22, 2016 at 6:06 pm

At least the shape of the tail lights look a little better. It still looks too tall and narrow. And why no exhaust cut out on the bumper?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
      • Vevlet on Mar 22, 2016 at 8:22 pm

Much better than frog, dugung or tapir inspired hideous jepunis cars. Even kimchi is better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
        • Pemalas on Mar 22, 2016 at 8:32 pm

This Saga actually looks boring face like the Grumpy Cat. Just wait and see.

• Dugungfan on Mar 22, 2016 at 8:37 pm

I agree, mosf jepunis cars nowadays are hideous, yuck!

• Vomitt on Mar 22, 2016 at 8:43 pm

I lost my appetite to eat everytime looking at those ugly jepunis cars.

• kakaka on Mar 23, 2016 at 7:53 am

You made my day!

• Tak payah lah nak dekatkan taraf dengan brand global. You are just Proton, brand tidak dikenali dan buruk qualitinya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
          • nosushi on Mar 23, 2016 at 12:06 pm

Yeah, Proton cannot beat those cars with fatal Takata airbags

• camtakpro on Mar 23, 2016 at 10:18 am

Frog, dugong, tapir anytime better than toilet bowl seat or toilet bowl cover.

• jji22 on Mar 23, 2016 at 12:05 pm

Lol that car is discontinued ady, so you want to bash old car now?

Even old volvo 240 cannot get 5 star in 2016!

• smarttess on Mar 24, 2016 at 3:04 pm

Many of you don’t realise that value-for-money family small cars are designed to a specific set of compromises. One of the more fundamental is the need to provide as much passenger and cargo space within the dimensions. The unfortunate consequence of this is that the wheel bays/arches and wheels tend to be designed to be on the small size, so they don’t eat up passenger and cargo space. The cars are also higher set for the same reason. As any would-be car designer knows, low, sleek and big wheels are fundamental recipes to make cars look good, all directly opposite of what’s can be provided in a small family car that needs to be spacious within its limited overall size.

• virosh on Mar 22, 2016 at 5:55 pm

Is it too much to ask for a car maker to line up the wheel arches and the wheels. It looks cheap when the wheels are inside like that. It improves the handling when the wheelbase is a little wider, no?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
    • Ada aku kesah on Mar 22, 2016 at 7:22 pm

Designer is lazy and lacking desire.

But easier for body stamping vendor to stamp flat boring metal unlike those wavy design by Mazda as example.

Lazy + boring = No ambition in life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
      • Nicer but when get dented in crash you cry to pay for repair cost or worse to buy new one.

• Insagent on Mar 22, 2016 at 8:36 pm

Not really problem if in crash because can claim insurance but what if it happens out of crash due to vandalism or own fault.

• So you drive an ugly car all your life just to prepare yourself for that one accident. Stupidity!
          Maybe Mercedes, BMW and all Italian cars can learn from you and proton! Make ugly cars so it will cost cheaper to repair when accident

• Since when no wavy design = ugly?
            LOL. Lambo no wavy design door still nice what? Mazda with wavy design still ugly lor

• Never see a vw golf or Ford focus base spec before? Or camry? Or Honda civic? They are using skinny wheels.

• From ur question I guess ur not automotive background. Here’s the thing, just about every automaker designed them wheels within the body (except for specialties like Caterham, Ariel).

Its cuz wind passing by creates aerodynamic drag and u wan them to pass unhindered over the sides of the body. If the wheels r too near, the spinning action will mess up the movement of the slipstream and this creates vortices and cud induce more drag to the car. This will cause the car feel heavy at acceleration, increase FC, make ur engine work harder, & decrease in speed.

Now this doesnt sound like a gud idea, doesnt it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
    • Another attempt to divert the attention to small matter like wheel instead of the bigger issues like quality and reliability.

• xxxxxxxxx on Mar 22, 2016 at 6:16 pm

2016 car? 1st quarter of 2016 almost gone and u still teasing?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
    • brazbuz on Mar 22, 2016 at 6:44 pm

It is testing not teasing. Target to launch on Q4 of 2016 and yet we are just at the end of Q1. Chill la bro

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
      • toaster on Mar 22, 2016 at 8:40 pm

how do u know target launch on Q4?

• B-segment Persona/Iriz sedan will be launched first, followed by Perdana and last but not least, this A-segment Saga.
          next year, new GDI – TGDI engine line up.

• I know u anxious wanna buy, but gud things comes to those who wait. So pls be patient.

• Spagna on Mar 22, 2016 at 6:28 pm

Reveal all la no one cares

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
    • Petronas O&G workers on Mar 22, 2016 at 7:43 pm

I cares and I will support Proton. There are 100,000 to 200,000 people that are with me, together buy at least 1 proton to support them. U think we will let Proton close shop? No we won’t. I’m already buying their suprima s in 2014 and looking forward for their Perdana for family and Persona for my daily workhorse car . No worries Proton. I will support you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 28
      • Petronas O&G workers on Mar 22, 2016 at 7:45 pm

Not to mention , I might bought 2-4 unit new perdana 2.4 under my company name as a BOD car. No one cares ? Nahh I’m care.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 23
        • Sayonara on Mar 22, 2016 at 8:18 pm

Work hard and buy original Accord.

• Careenough on Mar 22, 2016 at 8:33 pm

Said no but too care to tell it here. So that means still care, haha!

• old town on Mar 22, 2016 at 9:12 pm

yup, thats why petronas is failing now and firing more people since management like you wasting money..the 1000 people being fired should hear from you…ya, i bought 4x 100,000 (estimate) acccordana…for the BOD and you guys gota let go.
          bolehland really boleh.

• Yes. yes….200000 people cares a lot about proton. Maybe thats why they can sell 200k cars a year. Oh wait! They can barely reach half the amount

• vecko on Mar 23, 2016 at 12:14 pm

Care doesn’t mean buy
            Popular deosn’t mean good

• I cares? Hahaha… Hello friend. Proton was struggling to pass the 100,000 mark last year. If you don’t know.

• Sayonara on Mar 22, 2016 at 8:27 pm

Work hard and buy actual Accord.

• Low Budget on Mar 22, 2016 at 9:58 pm

Domestic sales has to be more than 200K units per year for Proton to survive, if you all don’t want Proton to fold then you have to change your Proton car every year. Can or not?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
        • celoop on Mar 22, 2016 at 11:01 pm

Caaannnnnnnnnn

• Go international (ie Chile). MY pipu too egoistical and cannot think logically anymore. They rather proudly die in their moving coffins than shamefully survive in a P1

• policeman on Mar 22, 2016 at 6:44 pm

This designer should be sent for psychiatric evaluation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
    • Pininfarina on Mar 22, 2016 at 7:04 pm

Proton willing to waste money on Lotus rather than hire truly world class designer that bring more sales profits.

• tokmoh. on Mar 23, 2016 at 1:14 am

Something Proton can never understand.

Who cares about design at this market segment? Everyone say Almera ugly, Vios ugly, City ugly, everyone ugly, yet they sell. Never bother to understand why?

It’s because this is market segment for people on a budget. Design is a luxury, a want.

What they need more is reliability, quality, low overall ownership cost, monetary or otherwise.

Proton failed to do this, yet expect with fancy syok sendiri design by Azlano, people will buy it. Sprinkle with words like “buatan tempatan” then auto expect people obliged to buy.

Bodoh. Your Punch CVT so shit, no wonder fc like shit. Campro VVT, still a Campro, shit low end torque, just doesn’t have that Toyota low end grunt.

Worst, crappy QC. People don’t want visit SC so much la, why the fark iriz still got power window problem la, rain wiper hose not connected la, roof rubber seal tercabut la.

Nice to have safety, but to expect people to buy just on this factor alone is asking too much. Give people assurance on quality, smooth powertrain, then people would be more compliant.

Nak buat keter, buat betul-betul la. Else, stay forever sour grape as people refuse to buy your junk, AND STOP BLAMING US FOR NOT BEING PATRIOTIC. IT FARKING HURTS LA JIBAI.

• camtakpro on Mar 23, 2016 at 10:28 am

Until Proton brand had good impression, it wouldn’t go beyond
        – Saga limit is 40k
        – Persona/Iriz limit is 50k
        – Preve/Suprima/Exora limit is 60k

• You want low end torquey engine go for campro turbo but then you complain why FC like 1.8l engine? Duh.

• I tot its the current saga , the shape looks ….identical

• Pemalas on Mar 22, 2016 at 8:37 pm

The design clearly a work of a lazy man.

• Middle Age Driver on Mar 23, 2016 at 12:18 pm

Whether its A,B, C , D,…….Z segment does not matter as majority of ppl dont buy car based on this. Its based on what the manufacturer can offer for a given asking price. This include the overall design, shape, finishing, material used, specification of engine, satisfaction of service & reputation of seller/manufacturer.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Mar 22, 2016 at 6:59 pm

My old persona better looking than this mutt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • Uigene on Mar 22, 2016 at 8:38 pm

Hello, persona is in B segmenter, niot A

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Mar 23, 2016 at 9:42 am

Whether its A,B, C , D,…….Z segment does not matter as majority of ppl dont buy car based on this. Its based on what the manufacturer can offer for a given asking price. This include the overall design, shape, finishing, material used, specification of engine, satisfaction of service & reputation of seller/manufacturer.

• KMakakaa@ on Mar 22, 2016 at 7:08 pm

Wow 1.0 liter turbo three cylinder 140hp 190NM. Wow

• Raja bocor on Mar 22, 2016 at 8:24 pm

Hopefully the turbo hose no more leaking.

• Notakata on Mar 22, 2016 at 8:31 pm

Jepunis killer airbags much worse

• Hope the new civic dun get raja bocor title. Hahaha

• Turbo car on Mar 22, 2016 at 9:55 pm

Driving a Suprima s. Car already clock 50,000 km.
        5 days a week doing highspeed run at NSE 170kmh-180kmh. Very very solid car. Stable. Steering is tight and solid. Direct control. Dint regret buying this car. Best decision ever.

btw, my hose never change. Still running well doh. Sometime, the owner know well about their car. People that not owning one that like to say this car problem la this car problem la. For example VW. so many people say VW problem, but did they owned one? or just heard their frenz, frenz,frenz, granmother frenz story?

• Hahaha on Mar 23, 2016 at 7:33 am

Waiting for new raja bocor, civic turbocor haha !

• sad malaysian on Mar 22, 2016 at 8:41 pm

is sad that most malaysian spend their income on unneeded cars

• P Selvi on Mar 22, 2016 at 8:01 pm

Aiyoooo no wonder car sales are down deyy everyone is waiting for this car laa

• Jobless on Mar 22, 2016 at 8:06 pm

Wat r they doing?? Spent hundreds of millions on epic fail low volume models like Supima Perdana and totally neglected their top seller volume models like Saga and Persona..tis model already “datuk” as the ori donor was the failed Sawi…they should use the iriz to derive the new Saga sedan not continue uzing tis old junk..same management, same epic falure after epic failure

• old town on Mar 22, 2016 at 9:08 pm

protong should just consolidate all resources, and build a car and a platform that rakyat wants around RM50K range…
    but too bad due to cronies part supplier feeding, they cant do that..as too many voices to bark here and there
    just 1 car, and they can turn around, sadly, not coming accordana, not this saga, or iriz..and nice 50K range of car with good quality, design..
    i hope protong can do it..

• Maslan on Mar 23, 2016 at 9:59 am

Yo orang tua,

Go to this site, http://www.protonvendors.com/html/member_directory.aspx?GPID=cqWEg3sNYPbyTP13Sjb+8w==&PID=Sp5hrxm2jn/oMY0P8HVLbQ==

You can see the list of Proton’s vendors and study. Come, provide me the evidence which vendor is Proton crony? I bet it is hardly to reach 5%. You think 5% enough to destroy Proton? If you think so, you surely as stupid as UMNO’s ministers.

In other study case, Honda, VW also belongs to DRB group like Proton. Why you not relate them to crony as well? They do have but still less as Proton.

All business nature surely have cronyism. But how huge is the cronyism, that’s what’s affecting the business. But in this Proton case, nope..nope the vendor (crony).

• bibikbiru on Mar 22, 2016 at 9:11 pm

Again, again, and again….Proton syoik sendiri with their “spy shots”. A week after this car is launched, nobody will give a hoot.

A month later, ppl will vomit seeing this proton littered the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 14
    • You cannot afford car work hard lor
      dun blame others for your failure in life

• ki879933 on Mar 23, 2016 at 6:59 pm

v100,

You must be paid by proton to post this. Your answer not even relevent.

Please, read the post carefully before even trying to reply them.

Stupidity has no cure…

• Its Mr Yow Hong Chieh that provided the pics to PT and unless u can prove that Mr Yow was paid by P1 or works for P1, that is slander. Oso, as the owner of this blog, PT has the right to post whatever he wants to.

• You shiok sendiri, this is not p1 blog

• Thedarkside on Mar 23, 2016 at 9:52 am

Its a ‘spy shot’ anyway….where else do u want proton to do testing of their cars? Inside plantations is it?

• Normal Guy on Mar 22, 2016 at 10:03 pm

Fool me once shame on you, fool me twice shame on me…never again will i buy another proton. I bought a CBU C-segment and never been happier. I’d rather buy outside of Malaysia than to support this hopeless company of cheaters and liars.

• notakata on Mar 23, 2016 at 12:24 pm

Yeah better you check if your car is fitted with killing Takata airbags yo

• Shoruken on Mar 22, 2016 at 11:15 pm

Old classic proton sagas look better.

• Ponggiri Ponggiri on Mar 23, 2016 at 12:50 am

When you look up the definition of “dowdy”, there is no written meaning, just that picture of the new Proton Saga shape.

• saga fan on Mar 23, 2016 at 6:55 am

we r waiting for u new saga 2016….pls price it below Rm40k and ur sales will shoot up!

• saga fan on Mar 23, 2016 at 7:00 am

abs + esp as standard feature like iriz will added credit to Tis saga….

• Littlebear on Mar 23, 2016 at 7:10 am

Just roughly looking at the whole car design with camoflage already know it is looking bad.

• power rangers on Mar 23, 2016 at 8:55 am

look at the proton discount now to around 32K-36k advertised now…how this new saga price? 25K with 5 years warranty? then i think its competitive.

• superman on Mar 23, 2016 at 9:48 am

ugly all the way. this is basically an Iriz turned to this ugly sedan . the current BLM looks far better. this is what you get when Azlan Othman the greatest car designer in universe join hand with Bufori designer to come up with a family car. dumb and dumber… another epic failure to be seen after suprima and Iriz by DRB…

• batman on Mar 23, 2016 at 10:10 am

*under table*
      bro, get thing right first, this is ntg to do with iriz.
      it is the saga. iriz sedan is another guy in their family.

• superman on Mar 23, 2016 at 11:09 am

they are all the same rubbish. DRB is using their iriz platform on all of their new cars. epic failure. It is so shameful.

• Lol where you have been this while? You dun read kah? Iriz sedan is for replacement of persona but saga.

• superman on Mar 23, 2016 at 2:20 pm

to be honest I know all about proton cars. and who cares, they will fail same as the Iriz. proton is bankrupt and has no money to develop ir use back the P1 platforms used on Exora, Preve and Suprima. DRB wants all to be from their Iriz car with minor modification. basically cheating the rakyat.

• sanisaad on Mar 23, 2016 at 12:26 pm

Guys……See Honda Amaze that is for India market. Maybe Saga and Amaze share a same chasis like the Perdana Accord

• TheMalayMale on Mar 23, 2016 at 4:06 pm

You have the money, you make your own decision. Don’t deride anyone or anything just because something or someone is not to your liking.