Online registration a must for driving schools by 2018

jpj-ceiling-prices-driving-courses

The government has said that all 210 driving schools nationwide will have to adopt the online registration system for driving licence courses by 2018. The mandatory move is to avoid any possible price manipulation during pre-registration by new applicants, Bernama reports.

Deputy transport minister Datuk Ab Aziz Kaprawi said that driving schools will also have to upload rates of its available courses, without any hidden charges. He said that the online registration system will ensure that the arrangement and payment will be transparent as it is recorded.

“With this, new applicants will have the option to choose any driving school and will not be overcharged by agents who act as middlemen. This follows complaints that would be drivers are charged up to RM2,000 although the ceiling prices for a driving licence course is RM1,150 for a manual and RM1,250 for an automatic car,” he told reporters.

He added that 57 driving schools have thus far adopted the online registration system, which comes with a MS ISO 9000 certification standard.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Muniandy Periasamy on Mar 29, 2016 at 3:17 pm

this is all drama. We all know the 210 Driving Schools all got special package. All in including licence. whether pass or fail, you still get the license

I suggest for the government to go and clean up JPJ. If all the Driving Schools can do this package deal, it means JPJ is corrupted to the core.

Who loses? You and me. So many inexperienced drivers on the road causing accidents and deaths because the JPJ boys are all on the take.

Go to any driving school and they will tell you, they got special package. Pass or fail, sure get licence.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Muniandy Periasamy on Mar 29, 2016 at 3:29 pm

Ha Ha ha. Package deal. Some don’t even have to sit for test of go learning lessons. Just pay money and then, like David Copperfield, magic happens, you get your driving lesen.

If you pay a bit more, all will be marked for you. you can drive car, you can ride moto, you can drive lorry and even drive tractor.

Truly ALL-In-One licence.

• How wud Gov accuse someone if there is no conclusive & indisputable proof? Issue a Citizen Declaration for each and everyone of them kah?

Might as well change the game and cut out those who can manipulate, is it not?

• tokmoh. on Mar 29, 2016 at 3:50 pm

Back in 2005, I took license cost RM700 thereabout.

Now so expensive, I kept seeing fb ads Metro driving school manual license RM 2,300, auto driving license RM 2,100. KNN, auto license cheaper, RIP msian road safety, gonna flooded with noob drivers. Now also so many lazy people play phone while driving.

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 29, 2016 at 5:34 pm

Which begs the question. What do you actually learn from this.

Even my 3 stage canadian driving licence cost no where close to half of this….even after you convert to RM. (and oddly enough, do not mandate minimum lessons, you could take the test without lessons at all). If you are curious why i had to redo the driving test, is that because a lot of counties do not recognize our drivers license.

Actually this cost more than my Advanced drivers training/track school if you don’t convert it back to RM…..LOL.

Glad I took mine a long time ago. I still remember the tester purposely fail me by giving a last second direction change, even after I have committed to the turn…..then try to nego. I just re-took the test. I suppose after 20 years….the same thing still happens if you don’t grease the wheel.

• tokmoh. on Mar 29, 2016 at 10:40 pm

Sounds like the tester is a bit of a cheat to purposeful fail you that way, so you’ll have to retake and pay more money.

Well, that aside, “What do you actually learn from this”? I wonder what do people learn nowadays.

Quality of drivers nowadays are really bad. It’s quite open secret a number of people bribed JPJ to pass their test, they never bothered to even learn how to be a good driver. Though I don’t have any statistics, I feel there’s plenty of these type of drivers nowadays.

The unpopularity of manual car is tell tale sign. These bad drivers are too lazy/noob to drive one, auto is a shortcut to make driving so much easier. Auto also helps them to have time to be distracted by their phone, then cause all kinds of silly fender bender, or worst, fatal accidents.

• MY pipu: Bribed others but then complain about others taking bribe. When kena caught, blame others r corrupt but ownself never wrong.

• stasta on Mar 31, 2016 at 1:09 pm

gov is always so clever to catch the small fry for corruption, but never the big fish.