SPAD urged to speed up regulation of Uber and Grab

uber-x-car_BM

The government has urged the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) to speed up the process of regulating app-based, ride-hailing services. Transport minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai said there was a need to do so, and hoped the commission could speed up the process, The Star reports.

Liow said that Uber drivers will need to get a licence for commercial vehicles, and their cars will have to undergo the mandatory inspection by Puspakom. It was earlier reported that the new terms will also include the need to purchase commercial insurance, just as regular taxi drivers do.

On Monday, authorities announced that they had decided not to ban the likes of Uber and Grab‘s GrabCar, but said these will need to be regulated to ensure they did not hurt the existing taxi industry. Yesterday, the long-standing war escalated when outraged taxi drivers blocked Jalan Bukit Bintang to protest against these ride-sharing services, causing a massive traffic jam.

Taxi drivers protest jalan bukit bintang 4

The SPAD, meanwhile, said it will work towards legalising these ride-hailing services, but added that the entire process will take time. It said it was also aware of the problems and issues faced by the taxi industry, and that was why it was seeking a solution to improve driver income and welfare.

An unnamed industry expert told The Star that it was vital for drivers using ride-hailing apps to be legalised, and once this was accomplished, it should then be left to market forces to decide which they preferred. He said taxi drivers must realise that they have to improve their services and focus on doing so, instead of organising demonstrations that do not benefit anyone.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• I think just ban all taxi and start again. These hooligans do not deserve anything.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
    • Gargantia on Mar 30, 2016 at 11:36 am

Taxi drivers do have their own difficulties, simply the AP system cronies SPAD that makes everyone suffer. Why ministry still pampered with them???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
      • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Mar 30, 2016 at 12:42 pm

If SPAD just exempt tax, the Saga will only cost half the price. Taxi fares can be halved.

• Gov bodo. Shud do just like other 1st world freedom & human rights countries did. Just ban them from the roads.

Ini semua salah Gov. Hidup Party Hard

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
  • From what I read, basically SPAD just want to apply the taxi rules onto Uber and Grab…
    This just goes to show that SPAD doesn’t know how to regulate this new industry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
  • Grab car user on Mar 30, 2016 at 10:59 am

Bunch of failure monkeys blame for others ppl false.

• UB GC on Mar 30, 2016 at 11:22 am

SPAD doesnt know any shiet.
    they just do the easiest way..
    whats on taxi to the ub/gc industry.

curb those taxi culprits first.
    clean them up from haggling and those iswara taxi car? come on, how on earth they pass puspakom? or they just went rogue.

how bout those taxi driver that haggle, unprofessional, smelly, pervert and the list goes on? still allow to drive? pfft..

can SPAD assure that there will be no more harassing or destroying gc/ub cars? i doubt so. it’ll still go on between Taxi and Gc/ub

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • UMW TOYOTA on Mar 30, 2016 at 11:29 am

dear taxi driver..continue to block here block there..just like your grandfathers road..as govt process any document take time ..just block the BB road

• Regulate uber? Under what act? Kindly understand the difference between public taxis and ride sharing.

It is like I have a neighbour, and he give me a ride to work every day. And I am kind enough to pay him petrol money for him sharing his ride with me.

So what?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
  • aHaaa on Mar 30, 2016 at 11:35 am

Freedom to express dissatisfaction, Freedom of Speech, Freedom to demonstrate, We always ask for Freedom, Freedom, Freedom but sometimes we can be hypocrite

• MY pipu version of freedom; it is freedom when I come and force my version of it down other throats, but when others try to impose their freedom onto me, I need to gag order & silence them.

• anonymous on Mar 30, 2016 at 12:36 pm

This is really amusing to see taxi drivers got mad because of Uber and etc. Hey, this is a big slap to your face for your unstandardised price and poor services. Before Uber and etc came, in taxi industry, it had gotten the world worst taxi already. The results Uber and etc have achieved basically reflected how we, as a consumer hate to choose taxi as private transport. Instead of whining and complaining, they should be evaluating their current positions and come out with better strategies and solutions to target the consumers and regain their confidence. Competition is always healthy, it improves the industry performing standard over time and consumers always be the ones benefiting from it.

• Pooki on Mar 30, 2016 at 1:04 pm

SPAD gi mati la!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • I will boycott ur taxi and I will tell everyone to boycott ur taxi

• uberman on Mar 30, 2016 at 3:16 pm

Bunch of clowns and idiots and look like gangster too. Will definitely boycott malaysia taxi’s for life. Support Uber all the way.

• ban taxi on Mar 31, 2016 at 12:38 am

I suggest spad to ban taxi first, they don’t respect their customer and always do something hurt our community and I’m sure more than 70% citizens don’t like them.

• stupidtaxippl on Mar 31, 2016 at 8:48 am

so now if i pick up a friend… it is illegal?…or a friend of a friend?…

this why country is in a backwater with such politician interest and greed.

• Unmai on Mar 31, 2016 at 6:03 pm

Unfortunately the protest have given a better idea to the government to have additional income based on this special license and puspakom inspections! What the protestors got over their protest? Nothing bro, u just made the situation worst!! Bravo BN!!