BFGoodrich officially introduced in Malaysia – US brand offers off-road 4×4 and passenger car/SUV tyres

BF Goodrich Launch 4

It was a morning of rock music and bravado as tyre brand BFGoodrich was officially introduced in Malaysia by Michelin, the French tyre giant that owns the over 120-year old American tyre brand. BFGoodrich will cater to two segments here – the off-road 4×4 market which it specialises in, as well as the mass market passenger car segment. “Are You Driver Enough?” is its tagline.

“The love of driving has long been a source of inspiration at BFGoodrich. As one of America’s most trusted brands, BFGoodrich knows what it takes to meet the aspirations and expectations of demanding drivers who highly value control, performance and fun driving. These tyres are dedicated to make your daily commute and weekend getaways an unconditional pleasure,” said Chandan Thakur, MD of Michelin Malaysia.

He was referring to the two launch tyres that was revealed this morning, the BFGoodrich All-Terrain T/A KO2 and the BFGoodrich Advantage T/A Drive and SUV tyres.

Let’s start with what the brand is famous for, the off-road All-Terrain T/A KO2. This US-made model has “Baja Champion” printed on its sidewalls, which boast the brand’s CoreGard tech (from the Baja T/A KR2 off-road racing tyre) that gives it “unmatched toughness against sidewall splitting”; plus a thicker, extended shoulder. Compared to the previous KO tyre, the new one is a significant 20% stronger in this critical off-road performance criteria.

The rugged tyre is also more durable, lasting twice as long on gravel roads and 15% longer on asphalt. Crucially, for off-roaders, the All-Terrain T/A KO2 has 10% better traction in the mud than before, thanks to “Side-Biter” lugs on the sidewall, raised bars in the shoulder and 3D sipes.

Available since January, this model comes in 15- to 18-inch sizes and is priced from RM1,000.

The tyre for less hardcore motorists is the Advantage T/A, available in Drive (passenger cars) and SUV variants. Described as “the tyre for the driver who wants it all” (including price, which we’ll come to later), the Advantage claims to offer a pleasant everyday ride at an equally reasonable price.

Features for this urban tyre include enhanced symmetric tread design with rigid tread blocks and shoulder, “jagged” grooves for better handling and control, large tread block with deep wide grooves and sipes for braking performance and reinforcements at the shoulder and bead area.

Available here in popular sizes from 13- to 18 inches, the Thai-made Advantage T/A is priced from RM100 to RM550. At RM100 a pop for the “Saga size”, the Advantage is cheaper than local brand tyres, and you get big brand quality and assurance. Less reason to go for those unproven China brands, too.

BFGoodrich is also preparing to enter the bus and truck segment.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Gargantia on Apr 05, 2016 at 2:42 pm

First TPPA company? And it’s cost a fortune (x5 of a normal price)… Rakyat Malaysian ready for more monopolies in industry !

• Yes, I fully agree. Its bad for MY pipu cuz the price is cheaper than local. We must boycott them. So means lowering car prices is oso bad, it must be sky high then gud.

• Rm100 for 13′? Thats cheaper than Silverstone, which is the only local brand still alive I think..dunno bout Sime Tyre. Some Chinese brand do makes good tyres like Neuton and Nankang.

• Eternalgl0ry on Apr 05, 2016 at 3:03 pm

Finally la after so many years. Malaysia michelin resume bringing bfgoodrich tyre

• UMW TOYOTA on Apr 05, 2016 at 3:38 pm

dont know how many set of BF AT KO2 botak already now only launch official in malaysia

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 05, 2016 at 3:58 pm

Our local tyre shops have been bringing this brand in for a while now but finally they made an official appearance.

• panjang on Apr 05, 2016 at 6:21 pm

RM1k for 1 pc of 15inch AT tire?
    Must be really good for them to be soo pricey,anyonr have any exp on the tire?

• WTRangers on Apr 05, 2016 at 6:32 pm

I have been using BF Goodrich AT T/A KO for over 9 years and I got them from grey importer. For the price I am paying, it is great value for money! They will easily last 80,000 to 100,000km and the handling is top notch for a 4×4 tire. Even on wet roads they r so good. Was paying around RM850 for 265/75R16 but the T/A KO2 is much more expensive as compare to T/A KO. Coming from AT T/A KO2, I reckon the KO2 is a great buy and its great they have it officially in Malaysia.

• nabill (Member) on Apr 05, 2016 at 10:15 pm

Those BF always come with white sidewalls in the US, they should offer it here too! Utterly cool!

• zulkhifli saldada on Apr 26, 2016 at 10:27 pm

anybody can assist me,to get the supplier address in malaysia. thanks

• DunnoWho on Mar 11, 2017 at 9:54 pm

Gimmick Only… Doubt they’ll tell you which shop selling. It’ll hurt locally​ made brand