Sepang Circuit repairs 50% completed, reopens May 8

2016-sepang-circuit-resurfacing-3

Ongoing work to repair and improve the Sepang International Circuit (SIC) which began on February 15, 2016, are well on track for the circuit’s reopening on May 8, this year. The circuit’s operators have announced that the project is “moving swiftly with more than 50% of the major work already completed.”

“The track work is our priority, while ensuring that each step of the way meets stringent global standards,” said SIC chief Datuk Razlan Razali. “We are also racing against the clock to meet the deadline ahead of the 2016 FIM Superbike World Championship Malaysian Round which will be held at SIC from May 13 to 15.”

The entire 5.543 km SIC circuit is currently being resurfaced, with repairs led by Jarno Zafelli, circuit designer head of Italian design firm, Dromo. It is said that the upgrading works will also improve drivability at most of the circuit’s corners.

2016-sepang-circuit-resurfacing-4

Interestingly, the press statement claims that the new final corner at SIC will “make a major impact to the track” and offer drivers and riders a brand new and challenging experience. Other areas being upgraded include the circuit’s drainage system, kerbs, run-off areas and shortcut roads.

“We are trying not only to meet, but get the track ready ahead of the May 8 promise,” said Razlan. “(We want) to ensure that we can start preparations for WorldSBK (early), which is the first big race to burn rubber on the new and improved track. We want Malaysians to come and support our local hero, Fahmi, as well as witness the reopening of the track.”

Chris Aaron

With an equal passion for fast cars and everyday workhorses, Chris Aaron maintains a passion for European makes, Formula 1, playing the electric guitar and spending endless hours on the PlayStation - first-person shooters and the Gran Turismo franchise are his favourites. He also finds it strange to have written this in the third person.

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 12, 2016 at 5:30 pm

Need the contractor who did the resurface to mend our local roads too. Most of the city municipality hired monkeys to patch the roads.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
    • 100% agree!!!

• Rosmama on Apr 12, 2016 at 6:28 pm

the final bill ..2.6 billion exclude GST

• Kancil Turbo on Apr 12, 2016 at 6:54 pm

I will be there soon!

• WT Fuchhh on Apr 12, 2016 at 8:14 pm

No need to repair. Just ask gomen to let you race with Mat Rempits……..Dumbest Ministers in the world is right here in Malaysia.

• Monkeys indeed on Apr 12, 2016 at 10:21 pm

Those monkeys didn’t drive any car, so they don’t know what they did to the road after patching it by creating additional bumps on the road. Never patch with even surface! It pose danger to all motorist, including those with bikes. Another monkeys are those telcos who always like to dig-up the streets and patch like nothing ever happen.

• Just in time for WSBK!

• Pls upgrade your toilet too…malu wei when visitor from other country see our dirty toilets….walkway should be upgraded too….
    Track is important but so as other facilities….afterall,you upgrade the track to pls the audience….

• Taskforce lagi on Apr 14, 2016 at 6:24 pm

The whole govt needs upgrade, acually….