Toyota FJ Cruiser – production to end in August

toyota fj cruiser 01

Time is finally being called on the Toyota FJ Cruiser. The automaker has announced that production of the retro-inspired SUV is set to end in August after a 10-year run.

Though developed primarily for the North American market, sales were discontinued in 2014, with a 2,500-unit commemorative Trail Teams Ultimate Edition signing the model off in the US. The FJ has continued to sell in in other markets, such as the Middle East and Australia.

Throughout its life-cycle, the FJ – which is based on a shortened Land Cruiser Prado – has been powered by a single engine, a normally-aspirated 4.0 litre V6. The 1GR-FE, which can also be found on the Tacoma and Tundra, has had its power output revised over the years in the FJ application, and in the current Australian version offers 268 hp and 380 Nm.

The FJ has been sold in both two- and four-wheel drive forms, and in five-speed auto and six-speed manual guise, though the latter has only been available with four-wheel drive. Equipment and specification has also evolved through the years, and the final iterations of the FJ are quite comprehensively equipped.

Kit as seen in the single grade version available in Australia includes rear parking sensors, rear fog lamps, privacy glass, cruise control, air-conditioning, a premium steering wheel with audio controls, multi-information display, eight-speaker audio system as well as six airbags and a reversing camera with the display located in the electro-chromatic rear-view mirror.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Pretty sure RV for this gonna sukx

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
  • Xxxxxxvw on May 13, 2016 at 11:46 am

Hummvee wannabe failed big time

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
    • a common car in kuching

• eeeriz on May 15, 2016 at 8:10 am

And common sight in middle east too. Dubai, Abu Dhabi, Muscat, Doha etc..nice engine sound too. Agreed that this is Hummer wannabe, but with better reliability I guess.

• TKLing on May 15, 2016 at 5:51 pm

ya….common thru out Sarawak & Sabah, land of 4X4..(hahaha…..)

• TKLing on May 15, 2016 at 5:54 pm

Toyota FJ series retro-inspired, not Hamvee wanna be…. (pls learn more the car history!)

• 4G63T DSM on May 13, 2016 at 12:44 pm

Actually I quite fancied it.

Until I saw the prices of a recon unit that is.

Considering a new fully loaded one cost less than USD35k…with the base ones coming in at 26k if I remembered correctly…

• ong chee boon vw con-man on May 13, 2016 at 1:15 pm

rubbish buffalo. interior total failure also. overall equipment still stuck at the 80’s

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
    • Ong Chee Boon on May 13, 2016 at 4:21 pm

Well i am not sure why you labelled me as VW con-man in this unrelated topic, but i kinda like its exterior though.

• albag on May 13, 2016 at 1:30 pm

this car can be seen everyday like Vios in Kuching. perhaps it’s kinda cheap despite the engine capacity

• Tong Sampah on May 13, 2016 at 1:53 pm

those recon buyers now got stuck…LOL..

• Greentechie on May 13, 2016 at 2:15 pm

I dislike Toyota but this is easily one of the best looking vehicle I can find! Just love the retro style the same way I love Mini cooper and the VW Beetles. Too bad it’s really big especially the engine capacity is a put off.

• Sammy Loo on May 13, 2016 at 2:28 pm

good and durable car with reliability second to none in it’s class.

• macam 1 on May 13, 2016 at 5:35 pm

interior mostly plastic, exterior also looks plastic.. oh why

• I loveProton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Head Hunter on May 14, 2016 at 12:34 am

I can understand why many couldn’t stand this car as most are city slickers with eyes set on contis and their heads can’t get past through the words ‘downforce’ and ‘plush interior’.

But for people who actually appreciate this car, it’s a great remake of the legendary FJ, with everything is made and built for a purpose: Offroading.

Interior feels cheap
    It’s made to be easy to clean, which is why it has all round plastic and vinyl interior, because the type of people who drives this car would bring it offroad. Not left in a garage somewhere.

The design looks terrible
    Well, it doesn’t look like a Ferrari now does it? It’s a remake of the old FJ in its modern interpretation, which reminds you of the legendary 4×4 Toyotas of old. It doesn’t look pretty but any grown man with a boy in his heart would love it as it is a big boys’ toy. Manly yes, not meant to be pretty.

Performance is appaling
    235bhp from a 4.0V6? Yes, it’s terrible and also a gas guzzler, but how many times have you seen these babies broke down? It’s tuned for reliability. I had it from Kuching to KK for 6 times now and going offroad occasionally clocking about 150k mileage it still goes with very basic maintenance. It’s tough and the engine is super reliable.

RV gonna suck?
    Puh..lease…
    This model is unique and truly special, will increase in value one day with its quirky retro styling makes it standout and a future classic just like the old one.

This SUV is the best thing that came out from Toyota for a while. Although you can only get in recond condition, It’s better than the Hilux, not as expensive like the Land Cruiser V8,,not as cumbersome as the Prado and Fortuner and definitely feels manlier than the common Hilux. It can go anywhere and it will definitely turn heads. I bought mine for 175K, which is expensive I must say but I enjoyed it a lot. Great car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 1
    • Stephen on May 15, 2016 at 10:54 am

You are absolutely correct. I couldn’t agree more. Those who hate FJ doesn’t understand about it at all.