ASEAN NCAP: Four stars for Nissan Navara, Suzuki Ertiga and MU-X; Kia Morning, Hyundai EON get zero

Hyundai EON ASEAN NCAP

The New Car Assessment Program for Southeast Asian Countries (ASEAN NCAP) has announced the test results of seven car models that were assessed in Q2 2016. They include the Nissan X-Trail, Nissan Navara, Suzuki Ertiga, Suzuki Ciaz, Kia Morning, Hyundai EON and Isuzu MU-X.

Among the seven, two received a zero-star rating, four were awarded a four-star rating, while only one received the coveted five-star badge. Let’s start with the most disappointing results from the lot.

Both the Kia Morning and Hyundai EON that were tested did not come with ESC or even airbags for that matter, warranting a zero-star rating for the Adult Occupant Protection category. The former managed to score just 1.48 from a possible 16 points, whereas the EON did not pick up a single point at all. That’s right, zero out of 16. Both also had a 27% compliance rating for Child Occupant Protection (COP).

The Kia Morning, as it is known in South Korea, Hong Kong, Taiwan and Chile, is sold as the Picanto here. Thankfully, the Picanto available to Malaysians comes equipped with six airbags, Electronic Stability Control (ESC), ABS and a Traction Control System (TCS). It therefore received a four-star rating with a score of 12.67 for AOP and 73% for COP, which is impressive.

Moving on to vehicles that managed to score a four-star rating, the Nissan Navara managed to score 12.34 points in AOP, while COP is a low 37%. The same COP compliance rating is shared with the Suzuki Ciaz, although the sedan did obtain a higher AOP score of 14.56.

The Isuzu MU-X meanwhile, obtained 11.87 points in AOP and a COP compliance of 73%. Meanwhile, the Suzuki Ertiga, one of the models that is reportedly being tested by Proton in Malaysia, managed to score 12.39 for the AOP category, and 33% compliance for COP.

As for the sole vehicle that hit all five stars, that honour goes to the Nissan X-Trail. Thanks to its dual frontal airbags, ESC and seatbelt reminder system (SBR), it managed to score 15.10 points for AOP assessment, while COP is an impressive 72% compliance.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• hailthepurist on May 31, 2016 at 6:29 pm

i precious my life more than driving these kimchis..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 21
    • Inb4

Why p1 got 5 stars? They must paid duit kopi under table to NCAP!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 35
      • Kunta Kinte on Jun 01, 2016 at 8:41 am

Our Protons in the UK and overseas markets are 100X better quality than Malaysian Protons. they are CBU “Export” quality.

When Proton sends a car for testing with NCAP, they send the CBU Export quality car. So you get some stars.

But trust me, our Protons that we use in Malaysia is far far far lower quality than the export quality. If that goes in, we also like Kia and Hyundai…we get ZERO star

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 33
        • theanswer on Jun 01, 2016 at 9:31 am

your proof? haters will hate.

• Where did you pick this? From sky?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
        • Eyesore888 on Jun 01, 2016 at 11:30 am

Stop talking out of yer behind….
          There are no difference between export / domestic cars in term of quality as far as i can remember…both are build at the same factory, going thru the same production line.. i don’t think proton has manufacturing line outside malaysia.. they only difference they might have are probably on accessories… like heater..

• But Asean NCAP do the test for Proton using cars that are sold here in MY. So that means proton car sold here is the same quality like export one? Did’t remember that any Preve or Suprima or Iriz had been sold in UK and not to mention ANCAP got their test car randomly and not from the factory.

• kadajawi (Member) on Jun 03, 2016 at 5:41 am

Remember the first batch of crash tests, where the Proton Saga failed badly? Why would it fail badly if Proton gets to modify cars just for the test?

• donno on Jun 01, 2016 at 8:06 am

They should tell which market are these kia and Hyundai is from. I believe is from India. Malaysian market ones are much more highly equipped, as jpj requires new cars to pass same level of crashworthiness of europeam markets, one of the highest requirements in asean. Heck jpj requirements now is even higher than korean domestic market standards. Its now spreading even to motorcycles, with many new motorcycle types sprouting ugly very far apart turn signals as per European regulations…

• MoFaz on Jun 01, 2016 at 1:47 pm

Indian cars is not tested in Asean NCAP because India is not part of Asean. Probably those cars are from Vietnam, Indonesia, Myanmar or other…

• Eddie on Jun 01, 2016 at 11:35 am

Those cars tested are without airbags and ABS. If you read carefully the Kia Picanto sold in Malaysia score 4 star. I bet if you remove airbags , ESC , seatbelt reminder from the other cars that score 4 star, they will probably be in the same 0 star category.

• So means P1 values their customers’ lives by CKDing safe Suzuki cars instead of their Indian coffin brethren. Way ta go P1!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
  • Heaven on May 31, 2016 at 7:52 pm

And yet biased people say a RM24k+ Axia is unsafe with a 4 star Asean NCap and AOP score of 12.91 plus 71% COP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • No ESC, ABS and BA. It may withstand a crash, but what good is that if it can’t prevent one?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
      • kadajawi (Member) on Jun 03, 2016 at 5:42 am

Well, it is better to survive a crash than not. However avoiding crashes is obviously even better. The Axia is a step in the right direction, and at 24k you can’t complain too much. At the price of a fully speced Axia (even if it has ABS and BA) you CAN complain, because at those price levels there are better cars.

• smarttess on May 31, 2016 at 7:58 pm

This must be a very basic frontal crash test. If not, how could a vehicle with only 2 airbags get a 5 Star rating? Unless of course 5 is not the maximum score.

• kadajawi (Member) on Jun 03, 2016 at 5:43 am

They only rate the frontal crash result, so yeah. I guess better than nothing? However I find that ASEAN NCAP sometimes suggests they also test for side impacts… which they may do, but as long as they don’t rate it it is pointless.

• UMW TOYOTA on May 31, 2016 at 8:25 pm

all new hilux 6star..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 22
  • Chingu on May 31, 2016 at 8:31 pm

Ertiga will get 5star once Proton rebadge it

• iskhalifah (Member) on Jun 01, 2016 at 9:57 am

Only if Proton revise the Ertiga’s chassis with HPF steel tech and retrofit the body with additional 4 side & curtain airbags and ESC… which is nearly impossible given the fact that Ertiga sold worldwide are not equipped with those safety features. Suzuki is almost certain of not allowing Proton to revise its chassis structure (which can be costly), which puts it in the same situation with the Perdana-based Accord. Unless, if

• MoFaz on Jun 01, 2016 at 1:53 pm

Current Exora is also 4 stars… so if they rebadge Ertiga and still get 4 stars it’s quite understandable and acceptable. the purpose of rebadge is to make it cheaper than building from scratch… not easy to redesign chasis just to get 5 stars while you want to keep the cost down. i don’t think they will, unless if they could get 5 stars by adding curtain airbags or other features..

• Mehhhhhy on May 31, 2016 at 8:47 pm

KIA= Killed In Action

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • Sam Loo Wakudoki on May 31, 2016 at 10:11 pm

Kia Mourning

• Vios still dun hv the result!!! No need test???

• They waiting the upgrade Vios to be sold here first. If not, can’t brag about how safe the car is if test using current Vios.

• Sam Loo & Albert Yong’s various dupes (latest is Kunta) says, Jangan Persoal Their Foreign Overlords or they will potong our kepla!

• policeman on May 31, 2016 at 10:42 pm

Koreans! 50 years making cars, but still they can’t achieve what Proton has.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
    • Game changer konon on Jun 01, 2016 at 8:16 am

Kia Hyundai annual sales = 8 million cars

Proton annual sales = 0.1 million cars

• policeman on Jun 01, 2016 at 9:20 am

Lamborghini annual sales = 0.05 million cars. What’s the point you’re trying to make? Are you saying Hyundai is better than a Lamborghini?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • theanswer on Jun 01, 2016 at 9:33 am

even tho it’s the same brand..but spec is different depends on the country. chassis rigidity is different.

• Eddie on Jun 01, 2016 at 11:29 am

Please elaborate what Proton has achieve so far versus the Koreans ?

• 5 star ANCAP test for their new model. Jelly?

• Adult diapers on Jun 01, 2016 at 5:26 pm

Proton + tongkat = Jaguh kampung

Hyundai Kia + tongkat = Jaguh global

• P1 has evolved from being a coffin maker. Looks like Hyundai (& Toyota) has NOT!

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 01, 2016 at 1:19 am

I will sue this stupid rating company from belittling kimchis.

They may the most unsafe cars around but they are they are the best cars to trade nowadays

12 month Sonatas and Elantras gets traded in for around RM25k

• Trade price is useless for end user/customer, they pay according to market price

• Eddie on Jun 01, 2016 at 11:43 am

what do you mean unsafe? Kia Picanto in Malaysia score 4 star. obviously I don’t believe what you are saying is true. Sonata and Elantra hold value quite well, unlike your beloved Freed and Insight. I saw 2012 model selling approx. RM40k…so that’s around 20K depreciation per year ?

• Ben Yap on Jun 01, 2016 at 9:36 am

Kia should come out the revise version Kia Night and earn 5 stars for it.

it’s the name problem.