2014-2016 Yamaha YZF-R25 recalled for oil pump and clutch pressure plate issues

Yamaha_R25_02

Yamaha Motor Corporation has issued recall notice number 3824 for YZF-R25s manufactured between October 6, 2014 and May 23, 2016 for oil pump and clutch pressure plate issues. The recall also affects certain other Yamaha models – the YZF-R3A, MT-320, YZF-R25A and MT-250.

Three separate issues were mentioned in the recall notice. The first is for a gear in the oil pump that may fail at high engine speed, causing a drop in oil pressure and delivery, and resulting in the engine overheating.

The second recall is for the bearing in the clutch pressure plate, where the bearing may be damaged during repeated operation. This may cause the clutch to seize and unable to allow the gears to shift.

A third recall, which does not affect the Yamaha YZF-R25 but only applies to the other models listed above, is for the danger of the front brake hose coming into contact with the radiator during riding, possibly causing the hose to be damaged and leak.

For the first recall, the fix calls for replacement of the oil pump and oil pump idle gear, while the second rectification calls for the bearings to be inspected and replaced if necessary. The third fix is for the front brake hose to be re-routed, and an additional brake hose clamp to be installed.

UPDATE: Hong Leong Yamaha Malaysia replied to our request for information, saying that an official statement will be issued in due course. A representative from Hong Leong Yamaha said that the issue was discovered two weeks ago by Yamaha Motor Corporation, and all its associate companies and affiliates were notified then.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• alldisc on Jun 15, 2016 at 8:58 pm

Recall is good, providing added confidence in a specific brand but it also raises a question over the quality of product material and/or engineering design .

• When jepunis recalls, all is gud.
    But when P1 recalls, bashing is over 9000.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 8
    • JB_KIA on Jun 16, 2016 at 12:23 am

there must be a reason. ppl dun bash for no reasons and the reason is no secret…also, no prizes for siding the japs…

• Proton is noob on Jun 16, 2016 at 12:33 am

Since when has proton do any good? Faker and shittier than fake iPhone Made in China

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
    • over past 30 years, they still can’t manage to learn, improve & providing us a good auto windows.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
      • R u toking about the case of vios and power window faiya?

• J3batDerhaka on Jun 16, 2016 at 12:16 pm

Please compare Preve, Suprema, Exora with the old model like wira, waja, gen2. Then we talk..

• When Preve, Suprema, Exora get the new ‘well learned’ auto windows, then another craps happened to their engines… the c70 are more reliable when to uphill, still better drift then your awful vios

• J3batDerhaka on Jun 16, 2016 at 8:11 am

PaulTan, can you do something if HLYM won’t recall all R25 to replace the faulty items? Most of us having those issue including me. My friend lost almost RM3k to fix his bike. We already emailed to HLYM since last year but until now, no respond from them.

• Then you deserved it. You need taking action to confront them by yourself. Not just channeling here and there..

• This definitely manufacture defect. I hope u can claim back for this fixed.

• Ben Yap on Jun 16, 2016 at 9:28 am

if a person decides to ignore the recall and continue to ride the bike or drive the car, in the event the parts fail causing other parts to damage, can claim warranty?

• Muhammad Zulkarinan Shah on Aug 02, 2016 at 5:30 pm

Hi Paul do u know when the recall will commen