Puspakom offering free vehicle checks this Hari Raya

puspakom-test

In conjunction with the upcoming Hari Raya festive season, Puspakom has announced that it is offering free Voluntary Vehicle Inspection (VVI) checks for all private vehicles. The free VVI service will be available until July 5 at all Puspakom branches throughout the country except those in Shah Alam, Taman Bukit Maluri, Mak Mandin and Kota Bharu.

“For the Hari Raya festive season last year, a similar campaign was conducted, in which more than 1,500 owners of private cars had their vehicles checked under the VVI for free. This year, our goal is to get 2,500 vehicles to do the free VVI,” Puspakom CEO Mohammed Shukor Ismail said.

“We hope that more private motorists will take the opportunity to check their vehicles, as VVI is a voluntary inspection and not mandatory. It is intended to ensure safe use of vehicles on the road and allows the vehicle owner to identify any problems that may arise and pose a danger to the driver, passengers and other road users,” he added.

pusakom raya 2016 vvi sked

The inspection process only takes 30 minutes. If faults or problems are found, customers can then be referred to a qualified repair shop to repair their vehicle. The checklist has a total of 25 items, and tests include that of emissions, suspension and brakes.

The company said it will extend opening hours at a number of branches in conjunction with the upcoming festive period. The centres listed above will be open on Saturday, June 25 and July 2, from 8 am to 5 pm.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Kunta Kinte on Jun 21, 2016 at 3:28 pm

Why even bother giving free checks when the other 364 days you are screwing up the rakyat for money? Clean up your Puspakom. Clean the corruption there. Every level is so corrupted. All demanding money or your file disappears or go to the bottom of the queue.

Better for Puspakom to abolish themselves. Puspakom was supposed to be like MOT in the UK to see whether a car is roadworthy. But in Malaysia, every car manufacturer have to pay extra RM500 to get their BRAND NEW car puspakom certified. That cost goes to the consumer eventually.

How stupid can this be? Every brand new car need Puspakom approval and sticker? You mean honda, Toyota, BMW, Mercedes, Audi and Nissan produce unworthy brand new cars?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 25
    • pls get your facts right before you comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
    • Kunta Kinte on Jun 21, 2016 at 3:40 pm

this is just another method to give Syed Mokhtar free money. Already we are giving him free RM1.5 billion free money via Proton, now, we still give him FREE money for approving every brand new car sold.

Few hundred thousand cars sold per annum x each car RM500 = FREE Billions

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
    • pls get your facts right before you comment. only imported cars shld be inspected. you can help to eliminate the wrongdoing by reporting the case to SPRM.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
    • This is free lorh..even i myself sent my toyota car to b inspected at Puspakom centre..n they will check the roadworthiness of the car only..if ok then pass lorh if not u send ur car to service centre and do the service or repair the failed items..on the same note, the maximum of the charges/fees is only rm100..for normal checking about 25 to 50 ringgit only..since they are giving free inspection so everything is free..

• Summore the charge is fixed as per the Act..everything is ruled by the act..refer to road transport act as well as kaedah kaedah pengangkutan jalan..all fees even the types of inspection clearly spelt out in the act n rules..if u pay more than 100 meaning that u give ur car to runner to settle everything..runner will mark up the price coz they do everyhing for u..dont blame puspakom but blame urslef la coz u give runner business

• Yokohama24 on Jun 21, 2016 at 3:36 pm

Free checks? hmmm something fishy here. Its like a deer walking into the lion’s den.
    It’s a trapppppp! Later all your window tints kena cabut by puspakom.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • Amain on Jun 21, 2016 at 4:52 pm

Those VLT’s have accuracy traceability?

• wiwiwiwiwiw on Jun 21, 2016 at 5:50 pm

They’re looking for duit raya la, finding faults with your car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
    • Its non compulsory and its more to ensure vehicles r safe for use on the road during balik kampung. Only those 2nd hand cars during transfer r required for checks & commercial vehicles too.

• Its free..i mean no cost..even if ur car fail the inspection they wont charge u at all..they will advise u to repair the fail items at ur service centre..n they will not fix it for u coz the service they provided is only conduct the inspection..even i myself sent my car for the inspection..

• Thilagar A/L Tharumalingam on Jun 22, 2016 at 10:31 am

Go thru your car manuals and diy. Just need some technical brain to do it.puspakom might have good equipments but not manpower. Cheers.

• This is for women who dun even know where the manual is (actually its in the glove compartment), and Ive see plenty of this cases

• I wonder who send their cars to check at Puspakom. 1,500 did last year..

Even paid checks need bookings, long wait,etc.

Is it any good to go to Puspakom to check? Is this the same equivalent check conducted for switching ownership?

• Kunta kinte, sometimes your comments makes sense. But this time you are spewing bullshit. Only CBU imported cars are required for the B2 inspection which DOES NOT cost Rm500. New CKD cars are not required to do any inspection. So, what is the mandatory Rm500 fee that you said is for?

• Loler on Jun 25, 2016 at 4:32 am

After this he might come with another BS like kuih lapis 8x a day story, lol

• Psyduck on Jun 23, 2016 at 9:37 am

Allow me to share a real experience. 2 years ago when the same foc exercise was offered, I made an appointment with the Teluk Kumbar branch to inspect my car.

I drove my car to that branch on the appointment date and they told me to wait for my turn. After waiting for 1 hour, I asked them when is my turn for the inspection and a very rude officer told me that they cannot find my appointment and thus no foc inspection!

I told them that I made the appointment about 2 weeks ago and they denied that my appointment was set. Furthermore they have too many vehicles to inspect and not enough inspectors to offer foc services.

I told him that I would complaint to their HQ and he told me ‘go ahead as all other centres are also like that. We are doing this because our boss says so’.

That was the 1st and last time that I will ever step foot into a &%@#$! Puspakom office!