New 2017 Porsche Panamera – official images leaked

2017 Porsche Panamera Leaked-02

Here are what looks like official images of the 2017 Porsche Panamera, circulating online. The second-gen Panamera, claimed to be “the fastest luxury sedan on earth”, is set to make its debut next week in Germany.

These leaked studio pics are of the Panamera Turbo model, which we now know will be powered by a 4.0 litre turbocharged V8 engine. That’s downsized from the current Turbo’s 4.8 litre V8, which puts out 520 hp and 700 Nm, or 570 hp/750 Nm (800 Nm overboost) in Turbo S form.

There may or may not be a power hike, but the new Panamera set to be lighter. Following Porsche’s latest trend, the second-gen Panamera, which sits on a new MSB platform, is set to use plenty of aluminium in its body to reduce weight. The ratio will be at least as high as that of the latest 911.

2017 Porsche Panamera Leaked-06

“Weight is our enemy and we are looking for the same percentage of aluminium as on the new 911. If you do nothing, the car becomes heavier and heavier. Comfort always equals weight, too,” Porsche technical head Wolfgang Hatz told Autocar.

From what we can see, the new Panamera will not be mistaken for any other car on the road, but it does appear slimmer and significantly sleeker. “You have to recognise it is the new one, but as well recognise that it is the successor. So the car will look different. It will look better, but you will immediately see that it is the Panamera,” Porsche design boss Michael Mauer was quoted as saying. Agreed.

Plenty of LEDs up front, including the four-point LED DRLs seen in the latest crop of Porsches. At the back, the slim 911-style tail lamps are joined by a red strip and four exhaust pipes show intent.

There are two interior shots and one shows the new instrument panel. While the layout is typically Porsche with cascading dials, the new Panamera sports only one analogue dial – the central tachometer – flanked by digital meters that should be customisable.

The other pic is of the rear section’s two individual seats, which sandwich a control panel. The latter is a combo of physical buttons and a touchscreen. Speaking of that, the dashboard could get a large central touchscreen that looks like this.

Porsche has officially released a new teaser video of the Panamera, which is inserted below. Not long now.

GALLERY: Spyshots of the new Porsche Panamera

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Nice, looks like Perdana from the back. Much better than boxy Volvo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Jun 25, 2016 at 2:25 pm

I don’t know why people complain about high car prices. Malaysia has the cheapest car prices in the world. There must be something wrong with you if you don’t have few hundred thousand ringgit in cash to buy a car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
  • Bashers says why need to tease here tease there tease until Matt Damon comes home from Mars. Just launch it alredi lah! Oh wai….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • seancorr (Member) on Jun 24, 2016 at 6:03 pm

Looks awesome, the previous gen now looks like some ugly duckling and the front centre console will have no analog buttons too.

• Aaron on Jun 24, 2016 at 6:14 pm

Nothing very shocking :-/

• ‘leaked’

• Kunta Kinte on Jun 24, 2016 at 6:51 pm

Panamera cost US$78k. A rather affordable car in the US. Even you work as a waitress or waiter in McDonalds wiping the tables, you will be able to afford one easily with 2 years pay.

In Malaysia, it is RM1 million plus. Even highly paid doctors and lawyers get scared looking at the price.

Where is Najib’s promise to reduce car prices?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 58
    • Tax the rich so no problemo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 14
    • blitzkrieg on Jun 24, 2016 at 8:58 pm

Right, you can totally own a Porsche earning minimum wage even in developed country. No insurance, no living expenses, no taxes to pay, no loan. Can own a luxury car, RIGHT?! RIGHT!

But yeah, guess you are right in a sense. All of us here won’t live long enough to see a price reduction

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
    • blitzkriegzer on Jun 24, 2016 at 8:58 pm

Right, you can totally own a Porsche earning minimum wage even in developed country. No insurance, no living expenses, no taxes to pay, no loan. Can own a luxury car, RIGHT?! RIGHT!

But yeah, guess you are right in a sense. All of us here won’t live long enough to see a price reduction

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
    • Ever heard of taxes? They have more tax than the whole of Europe combined. If you think a new car is very easy to attain there how come you don’t see everyone buying a new car every 2-3 years?

In fact the average age of the cars there are over 12 years old.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
    • Ahmad muttu on Jun 24, 2016 at 10:32 pm

abang you sakit keh? Kalau sakit, pergi jumpa doctor, duduk diam diam. Mengapa nak bring non car related topics sini?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 21
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Jun 24, 2016 at 11:45 pm

If britain can exit from EU you too can exit from this country…dont suffer in silence…dont force yourself to live in a country that you dont likr…sick and tired of your whining…repeat repeat the same thing…and paultan allowed it to be published…what an idiot..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 32
      • Boringblog on Jun 25, 2016 at 2:21 pm

I have been the followerbof PT blog for more than a year, it gives good info on car news. The sick kunta , samy fellows just came in repeatedly talking rubbish non stop here and pt allowed it, what a shame. These people may not be malaysian but come here to stir things

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • Jimmy on Jun 24, 2016 at 11:53 pm

Mass market vehicles >> luxury vehicles > ultraluxury vehicles/sportscars/hypercars, everywhere in the World, not only in Malaysia.
      We don’t see waitresses driving new MB & BMW in Swiss despite their ‘high pay’. Who are driving Passat or Avensis in Europe?
      There are reductions in prices of certain vehicles, some reaching 30%, one example is X5; is this an effort by BN?
      You don’t get significant reductions in the mass market, because despite the incentives received, many of them are reluctant to proportionately reduce the prices. Ask your Camry Boss; if not because of criticisms, the hybrid would have been sold at RM200K instead of the RM168 now. The Hybrid should have been priced at RM140k.

Was Rome built in one day?

Let me give you a scenario: imagine today you kena lotery and get for free a Rolls Royce Phantom with T & C that you cannot sell nor lend it and must drive it daily in the next 5 years, the car is ultra cheap right at a price of zero ringgit. And you are happy now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
    • Korean Fan on Jun 26, 2016 at 5:24 am

People who make this kind of comment most probably never lived in those land. They see those country as 1 to 1 with Malaysia, which means if an average Malaysian can afford Vios at 80K, then every average American can afford a Panamera at 78K.

• Realist on Jun 24, 2016 at 6:58 pm

This will sit nicely in my garage of broken dreams along with the other cars I will never own.

• KL Has Fallen (2017) on Jun 24, 2016 at 7:39 pm

beautiful crafted interior! can’t wait to get it first hand!

• Love that they kept the physical tach

• Sweet like honey for those who got the money.

• A very much improved design & better looking Panamera. I am definitely looking forward to its launch in M’sia next year.

• Dr. Vida 2 on Jun 25, 2016 at 3:54 pm

I will book the number plate VIP 8 and put on this car when it goes on sale in bolehland.

Oh! forgot to tell… this car is for my 5 year old daughter.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 25, 2016 at 10:31 pm

Another overated sui kwan euro

• If Only on Jun 27, 2016 at 10:55 am

How cool will it be if they put in a 2.0L plug in hybrid, score the EEV incentive and price it under 500k? Rock the market like the X5! Power output is not fantastic but adequate for a “sports sedan”…