Treeletrik e-bikes launched in Malaysia, from RM4,500

2016 Treeletrik e-bike launch

A push to have 100,000 electric vehicles on Malaysian roads by the government saw the launch of the Treeletrik range of electric motorcycles, or e-bikes, by assembler and distributor Tree Movement yesterday. In an event officiated by Tengku Abdullah Sultan Ahmad Shah, crown prince of Pahang, three models from the Treeletrik range were shown – the T-90, T-70 and T-Cargo.

The T-90 is an e-scooter with 84-volt electric motor coupled to a 50 AH battery. Range for the Treeletrik T-90 is claimed to be between 80 to 100 km. With a quoted weight of 115 kg, the T-90 is capable of reaching speeds of up to 90 km/h.

Treeletrik T-90 (left) and T-70 e-scooters

Also shown was the T-70 e-scooter that runs a 60-volt motor connected to a 30 AH battery, giving a range of between 70 to 90 km. Weighing in at 78 kg, the Treeletrik T-70 hits a maximum speed of 60 km/h.

Treeletrik also displayed the T-Cargo, a commercial/utility e-scooter that has a large cargo compartment located on the pillion seat position. Designed for short delivery trips in urban areas, the T-Cargo should find favour with food delivery establishments.

Treeletrik T-220 e-bike (left) and T-60 e-scooter

There are two other models in Treeletrik’s range – the T-220 sports e-bike and the T-60 e-scooter. The T-220 is a full-sized e-bike that runs a 96-volt motor that gives a speed of 120 km/h and 120 km of range, while the T-60 has a 48-volt battery that runs for 90 km range at about 55 km/h.

No word on possible pricing for the range of e-scooters, but Treeletrik chief executive officer Michael Yap said the T-90 and T-Cargo enter the Malaysian market by the end of September this year, while the T-70 would be available by November at a starting price of RM4,500.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• ben yap on Jul 26, 2016 at 5:58 pm

maximum speed of 60km/h is too slow. dangerous on the road especially merging into traffic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 19
    • This is ebike not kapcai. it has full torque on tap from 0rpm.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Operation Manager on Jul 26, 2016 at 6:11 pm

See how Tesla performance which faster than any model sell under perodua…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
  • Harga berpatutan but ini bukan krana Najib, kan kan kan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
    • Kunta Kinte on Jul 27, 2016 at 8:59 am

woi bangai, harga murah tapi TNB rates sangat tinggi. Now every house also paying RM500 per month no matter how small the house is.

TNB, aka Government owned crony, raised rates saying oil prices have gone up. Now oil gone down, they keep silent and still maintain their super high prices.

I think you charge your car or bike, same price as using fossil fuel

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
      • RicoT on Jul 27, 2016 at 10:58 am

60 V with 30 Ah battery = 1.8 kWh per charge
        Less than RM1 per charge I assume?

The problem is,
        1. How long does it takes for the battery to be fully charged, or even half charged?
        2. Places available to charge electric scooter is almost non-existence. Bikes usually park in open space parking, how can they find power outlets easily?

• Izrail on Jul 27, 2016 at 2:47 pm

I never paid RM500 per month for electricity. The worst is sub RM200 during the heat wave season a couple of months ago. Normally it was less than RM100. Got 4 rooms , with each room equipped with AC.

…NOT every house paying RM500 per month electricity as what you claimed.

• Mine rm500plus – rm700plus monthly… 4 bed room and we are always out to work. It also depends where your location and also if they have upgrade yr meter… So u r very lucky to have such low bill cuz many pop I know is paying above.

• Is it me or this Treeletrik company’s model offerings are pretty much similar to China e-bike Manufacturer TAILG. Check out Taobao’s site and you would know what I am talking about…By the way the T-220 Sports e-bike looks similar to TAILG e-bike model as well, and cost RMB 10K retail in china, inclusive of China VAT.. and it is considered an old model..The latest craze in China now are for cute e-bike scooters, check out niu.com…..regards

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
    • Kunta Kinte on Jul 27, 2016 at 9:02 am

The monekys here got no brains. All copy China. they say China copy the world but Malaysia copies China.

What do you expect with Malaysians? We are lazy and like to sleep during work hours. This is confirmed and promoted by MAS and Perkasa. Perkasa represents the majority.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
      • Izrail on Jul 27, 2016 at 2:49 pm

The CEO of the company is Michael Yap. Are you saying that Michael Yap lazy and like to sleep during working hours?

• Darren on Apr 10, 2017 at 4:47 pm

Malaysian Chinese would be eaten alive by the mainland Chinese…

• Shaekey on Jul 27, 2016 at 4:36 pm

For all you know, this is actually some sort of join venture with the China manufacturer. I doubt these bike are basically R&D done from scratch here in Malaysia.

Btw, that T-90 body looks very much like the previous model of Honda PCX.

• wanoor on Nov 23, 2017 at 5:36 pm

The latest electric scooters by NIU are awesome

• Ootai on Jul 26, 2016 at 7:12 pm

Now you find new nice people, not on a Harley, but on a Tree to the nearest mamak shop.

• Do walk around video when you guys get a hand on those bikes, really curious since their website doesn’t show much.

• SkullJuJu on Jul 26, 2016 at 7:53 pm

Okay. Sportsbike are cool cause form follows function. E-sportbikes on the other hand… I’m curious what’s the “fuel tank”‘s function.

• Just a resting place for our egotistical scrotum .

• Making it a storage bin for a helmet may work. I think it’s good to keep the tank on top config coz people are used to and expect a sportsbike to look like that. Wrapping heads around an electrically powered bike may be hard for many people. So coming up with a totally different and possibly weird shape (i.e. without the tank) for the bike may reduce the already small number of early-adopters.

• Making it as an additional storage for battery, you can double or triple the range. It will be better

• jasper chong on Jul 26, 2016 at 8:09 pm

The T-90 looks exactly like the Honda PCX, are they serious?

• The Saint on Jul 26, 2016 at 8:28 pm

Any license needed?

• if U live at an apartment.. where to charge? want to bring into office, office also in high level building.. can chrge with powerbank or not.. by the way, range and topspeed not quite satisfying..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • Its battery voltage is 48v, 60V, 84V & 96V. There’s no power bank available to charge for that kind of voltage. Power outlet is the only choice

• The battery should be detachable so we can charge it in our apartment and office.

• Mutusamy Muruku on Jul 26, 2016 at 9:24 pm

I can cycle faster than this e-bike….

E-bike is suitable for old auntie going to market oni…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • It’s a start. Not for everyone and every situation but it could work to reduce emissions. The city needs it as do the planet. Bravo and keep it up.

• hondaman on Jul 26, 2016 at 10:33 pm

KFC delivery riders sudah lama pakai e-scooters

• oh mak lu cina on Jul 27, 2016 at 12:33 am

Ey think malaysian so stupid ah buy ebike with Lead acid battery. Battery life is one year. How much cost to replace? more money then 1 year of petrol?

• Tree Movement…shortened name TM and was launched by Tengku Mahkota of Pahang himself…The boss of various TM named companies in Pahang, Telekom Malaysia not included….hmm..guess who’s the owner of this company…

• Izrail on Jul 27, 2016 at 2:51 pm

Please do not speculate.
      How about sharing hard fact instead? The world will be a better a place without the unnecessary speculation.

• rosmah on Jul 27, 2016 at 8:21 am

This is how gov reach 100,000 electric vehicle on Malaysian roads. I thought gov was joking with the numbers. How come we can afford RM100k++ electric cars, I was hoping that there could be interesting incentives for electric cars but I totally forgot that motorcycle is a vehicle too. Hence that 100k target is reachable. There goes my dream on owning one.

• kapchai on Jul 27, 2016 at 9:59 am

Do you need driving license to ride one of these electric bikes? Do you need road tax for these bikes? This must be clarified first

• Anonymous on Jul 27, 2016 at 10:35 am

Too little info on these e-scooters but seen them before… reassembling n rebranding china made bikes… still too much money for too little speed.

• sohai on Jul 27, 2016 at 10:36 am

This one tiada cc… how ah? B Full license ka? Or like a electric bicycle?
    I think JPJ is scratching their heads (or balls, depending where their brains are).

• sardin on Jul 27, 2016 at 10:41 am

i’m okay if its China or Taiwan or whatever.
    the range and charging time is pretty decent but how long the battery last or able to hold that kind of range per charge.
    modenas came up with citric not too long ago. it claims 60km per charge – which it did when brand new.
    over the course of a year, the battery doesn’t hold the charge well anymore. then after a couple years, a full charge only gives half the distance and keep depleting. that is poor. and now its nowhere to be seen anymore.
    then again, modenas brand itself is not easily seen anymore anyway…

• Lead acid battery life should be same as the one you mention. So, it’s not that good.

• oh mak lu cina on Jul 27, 2016 at 9:54 pm

It will cost more to run than petrol bike after you divide the cost of batteries divided by battery service life.

• moto ni khas utk org keyeel agaknya.
    kalau dekat felda cerobong asap kilang dia lebih besar dan hitam dr asap moto RXZ.
    xde orang kisah.

• Black Dog on Jul 27, 2016 at 4:18 pm

What about electric bicycles? Still can’t decide after so many years? Or waiting for a crony to do it?

• i want to buy T70 where to buy

• jimngu on May 06, 2017 at 8:43 pm

If we buy it , do I need any license to drive it ?
    And can this bike go on road , I mean to town area , or this only for kampong use only ? I am really confuse about the law of Malaysia … ?
    Anyone can answer this will be very appreciated .
    Have a good day :)

• Samtan on Aug 06, 2018 at 10:49 am

I would like to know too…about the licence and road tax. I have never seen any answer for this question….

• abdul halim on Aug 17, 2017 at 8:05 am

T220 very nice bike, no gear to push, very easy, save environment. How about the price?

• Ansari on Jan 31, 2018 at 6:13 pm

Cant wait to ride the T 220 model.
    i had driven a similar motorcyle called TORK in India. Its bloody awesome.
    Very less wear and tear. Less cost per KMs. Zero to 100 kmh very quick that petrol bikes takes more CC to achieve.
    Loads of features in the dashboard.
    ‘Connected Cars’ are now in motorbikes as well.
    Enjoy generation. Government wants to pass on the Economy of Scale of production to customer as less costly vehuciles. Please participate in the government’s effort to make a pollution free, oil independent economy.

• Baginda on Nov 05, 2019 at 5:49 pm

Hi paul do you have any news about QUADRO QOODER scooters?