August 2016 fuel prices – 95, 97 unchanged, diesel up

Petronas-Primax-97-Euro-4M-002-BM

We now have fuel prices for the month of August 2016, and it has been confirmed that diesel pricing will go up starting tomorrow, August 1.

The price increase per litre of diesel is 10 sen, which puts the fuel’s new price at RM1.70 per litre, up from RM1.60 per litre. Euro 5 diesel also gets a 10 sen increase, from RM1.70 per litre to RM1.80 per litre.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 31, 2016 at 8:14 pm

lol crude oil prices nearing year low…can increase diesel price some more…what a fantastic government

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 117 Thumb down 3
    • Ah Jeep on Jul 31, 2016 at 9:33 pm

I gave some stupid and lazy but arrogant people RM100 but after that, I will take back RM300 from them. It is very simple. Just like I will increase the GST to 10% but now it is not a good time. After I won the GE, then I will increase to 8% then slowly to 10%. Please vote for me. My fatty helped me a lot in my career, I cannot let her down. If she angry, many people in the country will suffer.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 5
      • tokok on Aug 02, 2016 at 9:21 am

2 days already… No update on Vpower Racing and RON100 yet …

• What?? Crude oil was on a downward trend past 2 weeks. Expected a minor reduction

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 4
    • LatukBandar on Jul 31, 2016 at 9:01 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 134
      • rawfi on Jul 31, 2016 at 9:41 pm

go study more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 3
      • Albert on Jul 31, 2016 at 9:44 pm

Datuk Bandar
        According to your reasoning,if Gomen buys at US 42 DOLLARS /BARREL tonight,and 2 months later prevailing oil price is USD 100/barrel due to war in Middle East..the rakyat will pay at rm 1.75/litre for petrol?
        I dont think so.
        Nobody knows how the price is calculated.
        IT IS SO ANNOYING.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 7
      • Are you referring to hedging? If that is the case, then it is not a floating system, which is being used now. As consumers, we have every right to complain because it involves our hard-earned money and the gomen is sorely lacking in transparency. Until now, the gomen still can’t come up with how they calculate the fuel prices in the floating system.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
      • Calibre16 on Aug 01, 2016 at 10:20 am

You are a joke Latuk. So now you are the expert saying “Oh this current price is set based on last month ordering”. But when they announce global price hike, why we raise it immediately? Dedak-ing much?

• sohai on Aug 01, 2016 at 10:21 am

Why don’t the government just publish the formula for the price computation? That will clear things up right?

• They can’t publish the pricing formula because rakyat will find out that even using floating system (which means follow international prices and no subsidies), we are actually paying more than the actual prices. In other words, we are subsidising the government by being forced to pay for more expensive fuel.

• SuperBaby on Aug 01, 2016 at 5:15 pm

Yes, just publish the formula!

• Try google Mean of Platts

• http://paultan.org/2009/02/15/how-fuel-prices-are-calculated-in-malaysia/. Nah, I give you, but cannot read for you.

• Wait a minute… din crude oil prices went up?
    Apakelanjiaoan ini?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
  • hadiah untuk rakyat , thanks abg jibby

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
  • nabill (Member) on Jul 31, 2016 at 9:33 pm

We are obviously bailing out one em dee bee..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
  • rawfi on Jul 31, 2016 at 9:35 pm

Only in Malaysia. Thank you Malaysian. We ask for it, because we vote them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 5
  • Matahari on Jul 31, 2016 at 10:08 pm

This news makes me feel sexy inside

• With all the hype with B10 diesel, i was expecting diesel to come down.
    Didn’t expect for harga Barang Naik.

• FireAce on Aug 01, 2016 at 8:50 am

You see, that’s the trick. Push current diesel price up, then introduce B10 and drop it back down. People will accept and syukur government introduced B10 and embraced it.

• You think in a month all fuel station can provide b10 to drop the price?

• Not pasar malam? Isn’t BN operating on pasar malam logics all these times? Everything is ok when it’s clearly not. Everything is transparent when it’s clear a lot of ‘under table’ deals being worked out. BN ministers even acts like pasar malam conmen trying to fleece unsuspecting rakyat of their money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • Kluxklan on Aug 01, 2016 at 1:05 am

The truth is BN, oppositions all rubbish not fit to run this country. BN ministers corrupt, oppositions all fraudsters, busy stabbing each other. Never trust politicians.

• Poor doctor on Aug 01, 2016 at 12:19 am

http://www.globalpetrolprices.com/gasoline_prices/ petrol prices in malaysia remain the 10th cheapest on the world

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 30
    • Kluxklan on Aug 01, 2016 at 1:11 am

Yet people still complaining. Be grateful once a while.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
    • The top ten (including Malaysia) are oil producing countries, so cheaper fuel prices is a given. Some interesting facts: the RON95 equivalent in the Middle East countries is less than RM1/liter. New cars are much cheaper in those countries. And most of them don’t have GST too. And if you look carefully, Brunei is not in the list. I am sure Malaysia have higher fuel prices than Brunei. Cheers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • It’s Malaysia Boleh nature I guess, to give up long term welfare for short term gratifications. If Malaysians can think ahead when they vote, the Barang Naik government would not dare to be so dictatorial like now.

• Petrol price are following market price floating? Now change to buy in advance 2 month? what’s next reason they are preparing? 3 month?, 4 month? …. =.=”

• Have PRK ha? Petrol price maintain.

• kumar on Aug 01, 2016 at 10:23 am

now prices of goods will go up. what a wonderful world!

• kereta_lembu on Aug 01, 2016 at 11:00 am

We live in a ‘modern’ Malaysia where we cannot question and have to accept and appreciate whatever the situation may be. You might get into trouble for questioning or criticizing. Maybe in the future, we cannot even talk about this topic. And above all, you will always be reminded to appreciate what you have and live within your means. Don’t blame, just adjust your own lifestyle to make ends meet. Many people say that the fuel prices doesn’t make sense but don’t forget…only in Malaysia you can get away with things that doesn’t make sense.

• SuperBaby on Aug 01, 2016 at 5:13 pm

International crude oil price goes up, petrol price increases. International crude oil price goes down, petrol price remains. Good calculation! But rakyats are not stupid.

• You talk like petrol price never go down before here in MY. Yes, rakyats not stupid.

• kemosabe on Aug 01, 2016 at 6:01 pm

This is what happens when the government does business with the people.
    Instead of looking after the welfare of the people, they are out to make a profit.

• Joholan on Aug 02, 2016 at 7:50 am

We produced oil and car.. …..in the end goverment earned big money from rakyat, not to foreign countries.!