2017 Yamaha MT-09 updated for the new year – now with LED lights, quickshifter and upgraded suspension

2017-yamaha-mt-09-28

Very popular in the Malaysian market is the Yamaha MT-09, much loved for its low price-to-displacement ratio, and its very capable three-cylinder engine. First launched in 2014, Yamaha has updated the MT-09 for 2017, making this the second generation of its “Master of Torque” series motorcycles.

Up front, this naked 849 cc triple sportsbike gets full-width LED headlights – making the MT-09 resemble the MT-10 – replacing the single lens unit on the previous model. At the back the tail lights are also new, and feature LED lighting in two vertical rows.

In the engine room, the MT-09 gets Yamaha’s Assist & Slip (A&S) clutch, which acts as a slipper clutch under downshifting load, while delivering precise engagement. Clutch lever pull has also been reduced by a full fifth, or 20%, reducing hand fatigue while riding in slow traffic conditions.

A welcome update is the inclusion of the Yamaha Quick Shift System (QSS) quickshifter, which now comes as standard fitment. This was something we remarked upon when reviewing the Yamaha MT-09, and it is, indeed, a necessary piece of kit for an engine as quick as the MT-09’s.

On the suspension side, Yamaha has obviously been listening to feedback, as the forks are now updated 41 mm diameter units with adjustable rebound and compression in the right and left fork legs, respectively. The rear tailpiece is now gone for 2017, replaced by a swingarm-mounted carrier for the number plate.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• so it is coming to malaysian market? on Oct 05, 2016 at 7:17 pm

great article. but i think you forgot to mention whether we will be getting this upgrades in Malaysian market?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
    • edwin on Mar 19, 2017 at 4:57 pm

new mt-09 sales date in malaysia please T-T

• big cat on May 18, 2017 at 5:11 pm

it takes forever to reach shores of Malaysia…. til now we have no updates.. .i think Hong Leong Yamaha Malaysia is a DEAD COMPANY. LOL… service quality sucks 10,000 times.

Malaysian bad luck to have such idiotic company holds such sole distributor.

• HL everything sxxk. HLB also very rundown compare with other banks haha

• donno on Oct 05, 2016 at 9:42 pm

It seems like yamaha took away all the hansome bits of the MT-09 and replaced it with all the ugly bits from yamaha MT-10. Booo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
  • Lets hope if this update arrives in Malaysia the price will stay the same. It’s worth a few thousand ringgit to fit it on the current bike.

• Saitam on Oct 06, 2016 at 11:54 am

introduce slipper clutch is good, but the reality is hong leong doesn’t even give you ABS, which is available is other markets, and in my opinion, is even more basic than slipper clutch.

The facelift headlights? Some like it some don’t. I personally like the new tail section.

Overall, yes, yamaha did listen to feedback, but I doubt hong leong will.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • MT09 user on Oct 06, 2016 at 3:09 pm

Removed ugly tail and replace with ugly mudguard. But the Headlight and front part is pretty sweet..

• clutch_plate on Oct 07, 2016 at 9:21 am

IMHO, the mudguard tail is not the big issue since the owner usually will remove & replace the standard tail with aftermarket parts.. this beast is well equipped according to the spec sheet but.. usually if enter Malaysia market the spec would be different.. e.g: no ABS, slipper clutch etc.. Hope that HLYM will pay attention with this issue.. This bike is the another good choice & a great rival for Kawasaki Z8..

• Chris on Oct 06, 2016 at 3:24 pm

Wow…that is a substantial upgrade. I’m wondering if the MT-09 Tracer will get the same treatment?

• azrul effendy abd aziz on Nov 27, 2016 at 12:48 am

Brape harga tu?
    Price malaysia otr

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
  • Still no news on launch date? May get the Z900 instead

• malaysia when launching?

• Curiosity on Apr 26, 2017 at 6:45 pm

Mt-09 2016 or Mt-09 2017? Never have any nakedbike before. And price for both? 2017 available in malaysia? Please anyone reply me, with some info & guide

• yamaha mt09 tracer local assemble,when is available
    in malaysia market.

• Guest on Jun 21, 2017 at 8:31 pm

Hey, can we know if this street fighter is coming to Malaysia? Do you have any updates on the 2017 model? Most of us are waiting for the 2017 model. Please do leave us a response. Thanks Paul tan. As always, great content. Thanks.

• is it possible to bring a motorcycle from Thailand ?
    they are few hours away , but few years ahead in terms of being up to date .
    all their bikes have ABS , or at least have the option for it . but in Malaysia you can’t get abs for even some expensive models such as MT09 or CB650F .
    i think it’s time to stop saying “Malaysia Boleh”.
    new models aren’t here even after 2 years of being introduced to internatinal market . some brands like KTM even don’t think about updating their bikes to international models such as Duke 390 which we buy the late model more expensive than what people pay for it’s new upgraded model in neighboring countries .

• When new mt09 at Malaysia market

• Jammy on Aug 22, 2017 at 12:03 pm

Like macam very soon already. I saw many Bike Seller do 1 shot flash sales for the Facelift MT09. Same event goes to with The old Tracer

• Some say they will relese next year. Damn. No one wanna wait that long. 2 1/2 year for a new model.. it not even new model by that time.. F!

• Moone on Aug 23, 2017 at 10:49 am

Still no news about this sexy ass bike?
    What the hell Hong Leong waiting for?