JPJ says light reflectors mandatory on all CVs by 2017

AppleMark

AppleMark

The Road Transport Department (JPJ) has announced that all commercial vehicles will be required to have light reflectors installed by next year. The new ruling – which will cover some 1.2 million CVs in the country – comes into effect in January, Bernama reports.

The light reflectors used on the vehicles must comply with the Malaysian Standard MS828:2011 recognised by SIRIM, according to JPJ director-general Datuk Nadzri Siron. He added that CVs that do not have the light reflectors installed risk being fined.

“Owners of commercial vehicles who do not fix the SIRIM standard light reflectors by that time will be fined RM300 and ordered to install the reflector,” he said. He explained that the move was being enforced following numerous accidents at night involving commercial vehicles that were parked by the roadside following a breakdown.

He added that presently, only two companies were selling light reflector products recognised by SIRIM QAS International. These are from 3M Malaysia and Orafol Reflective Solutions; each product is being sold at between RM60 to RM80, and are available at Puspakom and several resellers appointed by the suppliers.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• MusTanG on Oct 06, 2016 at 1:48 pm

This is our JPJ. THey care about plate number size n spec, and they care about reflector.

Why they never care about Under-run Protection Device?

There’s been too many case accident involving RUPD.

JPJ, pls get your priority right.

Tq

Sincerely,
    Concerned citizen

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 13
    • JPJ reply:
      Reflector is for pipu to see the vehicle 1st (Prevention), while underrun protect to ensure vehicle dun go under (Cure). So which is better, Prevention or Cure?

Tq

Sincerely,
      JPJ

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 10
    • RicoT on Oct 06, 2016 at 9:44 pm

After 2 weeks, reflector is covered in a thick layer of dust, no actions taken.

• William on Oct 06, 2016 at 10:45 pm

RUPD is mandatory on new vehicles already

• Encik Kunta on Oct 06, 2016 at 1:51 pm

Hello siron, sort your corruption first lah before you implement all these things. Even when you implement also, your officers will makan suap and let the offender go. So, the root of your problem is your corrupted officers.

There are 3 million drivers with no licence driving around. They are the No 1 cause of all accidents. Half the lorry are all lorry hantu. They are driven by Indons who don’t even have work permits.

But your JPJ officers all take money from them. That is why, in a year, hundreds of people die getting knocked down by lorry hantu. The driver then just runs away.

JPJ then too scared even to go after the company that owns the vehicle.

Siron, sort your corruption first. JPJ is corrupted to the core. Every level they are asking money. Road blocks are cash making machines for your officers.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 4
  • shahrul on Oct 06, 2016 at 2:22 pm

JPJ = Puspakom
    U help me I help you.
    With zero enforcement ,
    JPJ officers are toothless.
    I still see speeding lorries plying the Elite highway & heavily tinted cars on the road.
    And what happened to AES ?
    Hundreds of millions paid but nothing happening?
    Nobody gives a damn.
    What enforcement?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • Siren on Oct 06, 2016 at 2:55 pm

amboi.. senangnya buat duit…

• I thought trucks need to have JPJ reflectors b4 go Puspakom inspection?
    Isit he meant for those trailers which are sometimes no go Puspakom (with their truck)?

• FIST (Member) on Oct 06, 2016 at 3:52 pm

wow, rm 300 fine, so scary

• Yokohama24 on Oct 06, 2016 at 4:57 pm

This kind of safety measures SHOULD HAVE BEEN DONE LONG LONG TIME AGO.

• Another quick Rich scheme in the name of safety.

• monteltok on Oct 06, 2016 at 9:19 pm

Why harp on in effective China made reflectors ? Lorries or CVs are big vehicles yet their back light is “siput kecik”. Change the light first so people from back can see from far. Even many CVs also got no back lights at night, where got JPJ saman ?

• orang biasa on Oct 06, 2016 at 10:05 pm

I thought this feature already done long long long time ago when they implement rider helmet need to place reflector sticker too.

• joseph cheah on Oct 07, 2016 at 12:47 am

it is very simple for those with authourity to impose their rules and regulations–Don’t do what I do but do what I tell you to do, otherwise you will be in trouble-period.

• crash on Oct 07, 2016 at 1:02 am

Come on JPJ. Go work with Kastam and enforce a total ban on rethreaded tyre already for large lorries. 1 Singaporean biker just died because of hitting this leftover tyre carcass which is left in the middle of the road.

• camtakpro on Oct 10, 2016 at 8:11 am

Most commercial vehicles are using thread-less tire that seems abused for 20yrs and going to burst anytime.