Perodua hopes that the government will consider special incentives for first-time buyers of national cars in Budget 2017, according to a Bernama report. Such a move will drive further consumer spending, said Perodua CEO and president Datuk Dr Aminar Rashid. “This will have a domino effect on the entire automotive ecosystem, as well as the financial and insurance industry, given the sluggish economy in the near term,” he told Bernama.
Perodua’s specific wish list includes continuing with the current National Automotive Policy roadmap in liberalising the market, said Aminar, although it should be done on a staggered basis to ensure local vendors have sufficient time to improve competencies and capabilities to compete fairly, he said. “This is also to ensure that investments of automotive players are not jeopardised,” he added.
Perodua also hopes for continued government support of the local automotive industry, citing Germany, South Korea, Japan and the United States as examples. “This will encourage manufacturing activities, while improving vendors’ and original equipment manufacturers’ capabilities,” Aminar added. According to a Sin Chew Daily report, the upcoming Budget 2017 may include excise duty exemption for first car buyers, which may also apply to cars of foreign brands which are assembled here.
“At the same time, it helps promote exports within the automotive ecosystem. The government should also consider loosening the procurement policy to allow Perodua to be included as an option for government bulk vehicle purchases. This will create greater options and value for the government at a time when it needs to get the best value on items purchased,” he said.
Meanwhile, Proton welcomes any incentive which may be announced in Budget 2017 that may empower and grow the company, said Proton deputy CEO Datuk Radzaif Mohamed in a separate Bernama report. “I feel it is quite important for us to get some incentive to help spur the industry’s growth. That would be very much appreciated,” Radzaif said.
Radzaif also hopes that the government will take into consideration Proton’s status as an original equipment manufacturer (OEM) that has helped a lot to produce skilled local manpower for the automotive industry, he added.
Both also thinking about themselves only.
Perodua is trying to sell as many as they can.
Proton think they are still relevant.
Govt should help low income families or waive/reduced on car tax duty instead just giving more burden to students or fresh graduate!
Of course they will welcome it. Must give fair treatment to all car companies
Instead of talking big, Proton should just pay the RM1.5 bil hutang. Shameful company
Incentive also talking big?
Where’s your logic?
We should all support Proton. Don’t be like Dear Leader in Penang buy S keras. We should all help Proton. But our country penipu cause adults will buy under their children names. Who untung? Peope with 5 kids will untung. Oh Wai!
Apa mau buat..PM beli TESLA maa.
Hidop Proton! huhuhuhuh
Beli kereta mana ada untung? Saga pun sudah sama dgn harga rumah murah luar bandar. Persona sama harga dgn rumah mesra rakyat. 9 tahun habis bayar you dpt besi buruk saja.
Gov should provide more public transport facilities, broaden the public transport network instead of reducing tax. Owning a car is costly.
People often did not realize the cost to buy a car is TOTALLY DIFFERENT from the cost to own a car.
You may buy the car at a cheap price, but what about the cost to maintain the car? Insurance? Road tax? Car service? Tyre replacement? Minor spare parts replacement due to wear and tear? All these cost add up together is NOT CHEAP.
Hence, youngsters and low income earners, don’t fall into this trap. Unless you have already considered all these unrealized cost and already have financial planning.
Many youngster probably earn more than you and many of them are capable. Why are you so concern about this topic? They know how to deal with it. You can also use your kids name to own a cheaper vehicle.
If our useless Government can do this, why don’t they just reduce the price of the car permanent?
kerajaan memang bodoh. How to stop parents from buying under children names?
If they can reduce the price permanent, why don’t they give cars for FREE?
He is concern because he talk with fact. How many youngster earn more than then middle age people compere to youngster that had been listed bankrupt and have bad financial record? Go figure BNM report my friend. They know how to deal with it? Funny because record said there aren’t.
Proton should just close down. When that happens, car prices will automatically go down.
In your dream
Agree. All other brand cars expensive just want to jaga buntut Proton. If other car cheaper, Proton tak boleh cari makan.
This all happen because Dr. M. Without Proton, we can get cheaper price. Our neighbour country that don’t have own local car cause all car price in they country are cheaper except Malaysia. Plus waste money DRB-Hikom & government help Proton. 30 years already make business, until now still can’t build they own engine design.
Support Proton my ass while drain our pocket money just because the maintainance & service.
Help low income, help B40, help this help that. Help until when?
Poor people are poor because of a reason. Rich are rich because of a reason too. If you are poor, do something about it. Work harder, learn more, don’t join gang and don’t stop schooling. More importantly do not have too many children.
Saga Promosi harga insentif – $25K!!!
Harga biasa – $35K.
Sell off Saga baru to used car dealer – $30K. \o/\o/
those with many children can do business now. Kampung pipu very happy. Got 6 to 7 kids. So, buy 7 Protons and then sell later at market rate.
Don’t worry, gomen will create a middle person like Sparco. He will supply all the tax free cars. This person will be super rich aka crony
You also thinking yourself..
sure welcome lah…
first – more sales, more revenue, more profit.
second – you can’t pay installment, none of their business.
Cant afford, dont buy.. fullstop.
Actually Proton is more desperate badly for sales than Perodua.
If this scheme approved nobody will buy Persona as cheaper Vios and City surely far better option thus leaving Bezza the sole killer for Saga.
Think about it also as cunning indirect move to further suppress Proton sales without anybody realise it. Very genius trick indeed! Ha ha ha ha!
Not all go for p2 some will go for p1
Too mane BezA booking cancel. P2 starting to panic.
Yeah..P1 and P2 only think about profit. If the G listen to them our youngsters will be trapped even further indebtedness.
1. Undergraduate – PTPTN
2. Graduate – Cars
3. Working – Credit Card
4. Married – Personal Loan
Looks like the gov is serious in increasing our household debts. Enuff said.
Do not personal our Gov.
Perodua & Proton are hoping….
Proton should have done this long ago. Why wait for the Government to initiate this? During the 90s and 2000s, when Proton was making super cash, Proton should have given back to the rakyat, especially young grads and senior citizens cheaper cars.
Instead of that, they rather make billions and that profit, reward its directors and management with bigger bonuses.
Proton was very arrogant then. Furthermore, in 90s and 2000s Tun M was under your thumb, you could have asked him to give this special incentives for students and senior citizens.
But Proton was greedy then. They rather untung untung untung rather than help the helpless old people and the fresh graduates with cheaper cars.
Proton had many good ideas but due to corruption, they gave up many ideas. One good idea was to trade in your old Proton for RM5k off your new Proton. What happened to that scheme? All masuk pocket only.
Proton should have been kinder to the rakyat when they were making billions, especially to the poor, unfortunate and old. After all, Proton was created to give the rakyat of Malaysia cheaper cars and lessen their burden on car purchases.
The opposite happened. Japs went up 3 fold in price to protect Proton, and in return, Proton also raised their prices to “artificially” keep up with the increasing Japs prices. But mind you, the Japs went up in price BECAUSE Miti told them so.
i totally agree with you.
in the year 1996. proton saga iswara automatic sold at 40K. 12v engine. carburettor. only front power window. 2 speaker radio cassette player. zero on safety aspect. no airbag. no abs. no traction control.
fast forward to 2016. new proton saga Mk III. DOHV 16V engine with VVT. EFi. CVT gearbox. CD player with USB and sat nav, 4 speakers. 4-6 airbags, ABS, EBD, ESC. price? 40K also.
see how much proton had taken from malaysians in the past.
on the other hand to remove excise duty from a car is saying A LOT. minimum duty applies there is 75% of a car value. so if the new saga CIF is 16K, excise duty alone is 12k (bringing sub total to 28K, before adding margin for operation, handlings costs and dealer profit then later 6% GST).
a deduction of 12K is pretty generous. but how to make sure they dont sell the cars and make profit?
Saga does not come with Sat nav.
Super cash or not, it is still tax. Why you dun give example in 1987 where you could get a iswara for 18k?
Hello government of Malaysia. Why are you doing this ? Your reason to drive further consumer spending is not logical.
By doing so, you are encouraging our youth to spend before earning enough to pay for basic necessity. How about repaying PTPTN loans.
Just 2 months ago you complaint that you cannot loan to new students because many students default on their study loans.
Instead of inculcating savings, you are creating more bankruptcies. Please scrap the plan.
So you want to hold them from buying car before repaying PTPTN? How about used cars, it’s much cheaper
yin, now that’s what i call a good solution. Thanks.
Perodua CEO and Proton CEO should also ask Najib to honour his promise to reduce car prices by 30%. This 30% savings is far more than the tax savings.
So, not just first time buyers can benefit, all of Malaysians can benefit. 35 million people can benefit from lower car prices.
Malaysians are now suffering with high cost of living. Our car prices are now the HIGHEST in the world. And it is even far higher than Singapore (taking into consideration the GDP Per Capita)
How long can Malaysians suffer with such high car prices? National Car makers should be the first to ask Najib to honour his promise to reduce car prices by 30%. they should start the ball rolling
I don’t know why Proton CEO and Perodua CEO so scared to ask Najib this?
Income go up but saga price still remain same as 20 years ago. So means price have reduced by 30% or more.
blind support. Unable to think. Chicken rice last time RM1.50, now RM6. Pakai hotak sikit
R u still talking about saga price or did u go off tangent again, as usual?
#BasherLogicTakdeLogic
Please clear your mind from always bashing Govt. It is hard to satisfy everybody. May be you don’t need all these incentives but others need it badly especially for first time car owner.
As long as you can control your household debts is good already, don’t busy about other people. Increase in household debts is not because of Govt but our self. Is like you are making sins but you are blaming your parents can we?
Oh yeah! Now i can ask my son to apply me a premium persona or preve! A fresh graduate like him not suppose to show off with new car.He can drive my 1997 wira to work.Time for him to pay back to a good parent like me.
Sometimes we need a stupid idea from idiots in government to make us happy with their brainless policy.Vote for stupidity.Long live corruption.Wish financial institutions collapse then we no need to pay back loan! Malaysia boleh!
If the gomen can lower car prices by 10-15 percent for car costing below rm50,000 for all Rakyat,this will help the rakyat.
No need to check who is first time young car buyer.
Under this proposal,I can swap the new “incentive car” with my son.I give him my old junk…I get a new lower taxed car.Wah….liao….eh….looks tempting for those who CAN AFFORD to change car.
Those who cannot afford…dont ever think of changing to new car….next month after getting the new car,you may be retrenched…then keta kena tarik,sounds logical?
100% waived for Stamp Duty on first house purchase.
100% waived for Stamp Duty on first housing loan.
100% waived for fares on all public transport
0% incentive for first time buyers of national car.
Sebelum fikir beli kereta, motor, dan lain-lain, PTPTN jangan lupa bayar dulu!
“This will have a domino effect on the entire automotive ecosystem, as well as the financial and insurance industry, given the sluggish economy in the near term,”
“I feel it is quite important for us to get some incentive to help spur the industry’s growth. That would be very much appreciated,”
GOOD!
Government
Cronies
Banks
Insurance companies
Why should we support YOUR industry anyway?
Real suckers
2nd hand car seller will makan pasir after this
Few thousand ringgit cheaper for first time buyers. Come resale few thousand ringgit lesser than market value only for first time sellers not ? NO, everyone who bought that brand will be affected ! If am not a first time buyer, I’ll avoid those providing incentives . It’s just not going to work, full stop.
Why you thinking like the G? Want to protect the 2nd car seller and all the AP king while gip rakyat so much hard time to earn a car.
Youngster take this insentive and work as grabuber driver. Buy axia 23 000 then go to pj and sain as grabuber. Don buy vivos dangerious.
The root of the problem is the ever rising cost of living. If our government don’t do anything about that nothing will change, not even giving out hand outs or incentives. All those serves only to augment reality temporary. The root problem however remains.
I know first-time owner that prefer a second-hand TOYOTA or HONDA to a new PROTON/PERODUA not because of tax but reliability.
Making the poor become poorer
I thought Perodua is no more national car company. More than 50% of its stack owned by Daihatsu -UMW.
Stupid idea to make cars more affordable. Gov shud just continue along with improvements to public transport as of currently. Make it difficult for pipu to choose to use car instead.
It is good for those who really need a car; but then for this group of people, they should not be eyeing City and Vios.
I recommend that this scheme to be limited to Proton only, or Proton/Perodua, nothing else.
If you start with Saga, then Preve, then City 6-airbags, then CRV then C-class and then X5, wouldn’t this be nice?
The biggest winner = Toyota.
The biggest loser = Proton.
Stupid verdict
The quite big price different to Honda or Toyota only. But even with this discount the first time buyer with salary under 4k still need to bare heavy burden if they buying 80k above car unless they got sponsors from family. My advice to first time buyer : if
your salary <=2k : buy axia
your salary <=3k : buy saga/ bezza
your salary <=4k : buy persona/ myvi
Of course u still can ops to buy the vios/city loan for 9 years to pay around 1k per month. But then in these 9 years makesure u have promotion/increment or else you'll be a poor guy/girl with huge parts of your income invested in your car. In chinese :
if your head not that big dun wear that big hat.
Don’t you guys n girls love our government?
They can contradict themselves in very stylish way. They can go from our public transport is really improved thus you should take public transport if you think the new toll/parking/erp/petrol is too expensive to we think we should have more cars on the roads by subsidizing youngsters to buy their first new car.
Why Malaysians are so forgiving to this type of governance is truly amazing…
Becoz the current alternatives r worse?
This is a quick fix and interferes with supply and demand leading to further distortion of the economy. Seperti tikus membaiki labu lah – the more they try the worse it become. What a stupid idea.
my brand new persona quality is terrible, navigation never works, sent to SC, still cannot figure out whats wrong, ask me to come again.
the dashboard is rattling like the sound of piano, still waiting for new dashboard
the fuel lid cannot open from the latch, have to peel open using coin or key
first car incentive can lead to many issue….instead add it to tax exemption/rebate in income tax for different category of income will be better