Goodyear Wrangler TripleMax tyre in M’sia, fr RM444

goodyear-wrangler-triple-max-1

Owners of mid-size SUVs now have a new option when the time comes to replace tyres – Goodyear has launched the Wrangler TripleMax tyre in Malaysia for the growing SUV segment. Available in 12 sizes ranging from 16 to 18 inches in diameter, pricing for the Wrangler TripleMax starts from RM443.72 to RM675.22, depending on size.

The Wrangler TripleMax aims to deliver in three key areas: braking performance, wet weather performance and road hazard resistance. In the first area, Goodyear’s Hydrogrip technology employs a new tread compound on the Wrangler TripleMax, which combines large tread block elements with a high number of biting edges.

Designed with a wide tread face and an optimised cavity with five-rib tread matching, pressure distribution can be concentrated on key block elements during braking. An optimised polymer blend also gives the tyres better grip and a shorter braking distance on wet roads.

goodyear-wrangler-triple-max-3

The Wrangler TripleMax should prove particularly suited to Malaysian roads, as it incorporates a host of durability features. A two-ply construction wall offers more material in the sidewall area for greater resistance to penetration, while the tyre carcass is overall more robust with improved resistance against road hazards such as foreign objects.

Strengthened carcass cords contribute towards the improved carcass strength, for a high level of resistance against impacts with bumps and potholes. The Wrangler TripleMax also features a rim flange protector, which aims to help reduce damage to the rim flange and tyre sidewall through impacts. The tyre’s crown area has also been reinforced, where two layers of ultra high tensile strength steel belts and fabric protection layers give increased protection at the sides.

What about SUVs which use tyre sizes measuring 19 inches in diameter, or larger? Goodyear says that although the current range for the Wrangler TripleMax tops out at 18 inches, there is a possibility of introducing larger sizes later on as demand for more sizes grows. This would appear likely to happen, as the mid-size SUV segment is one that has been steadily growing in popularity, according to Goodyear Malaysia.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• oh mak lu cina on Oct 20, 2016 at 4:33 pm

Marketing people use your head la:
    In a country where house numbers have no 4, buildings have no 4th floor, hospital rooms have also no 4. And you price it at 444. Bodoh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • nabill (Member) on Oct 20, 2016 at 6:08 pm

How about ur lovely head, where u actually think a number, a NUMBER, somehow, is important n relative ur life’s major decisions…. I jus hope u dont represent alot of ppl… Harambe wd lough at u…!

• Mikey on Oct 20, 2016 at 8:59 pm

M’sian are crazy with numbers. Take a look at JPJ where the single digit numbers are tendered for RM 30k to a cool RM 1 million.

• Beliefs based on just one’s own convictions whether culture- moulded or otherwise comes in many forms – and includes religions. It’s irrational but human psychology demands it in default. Very few want or can unshackle this psychological – cultural dependence on beliefs to be able to function in society and at a personal level. So what say you now? In the end we are all dua kali lima lah….

• Se Won on May 22, 2018 at 9:47 pm

3rd world mentality. Sad.

• Mikey on Oct 20, 2016 at 9:25 pm

Judging from the article & the photos, this tires are for smaller to medium size SUV.

The CX-3/Kia Sportage use 18-inch, Hyundai Tucson/ASX/Scooby XV/CX-5 use 17-inch, HRV use 16/17-inch, CRV use 17/18-inch.

I think Goodyear have done their research well as these are the popular models that will fit their tires. Of course there are other brands that offer equally good tires & if i may say cheaper too.

I believe U can get this tires cheaper than the stated price here as many have mention that you can go to Port Klang to tyre hunt. Happy shopping & Cheers …

• Leonardo on Oct 21, 2016 at 8:31 am

I have owned many 4x4s before,even until now. The tyres are all way more expensive compared to my other cars. Even the entry level AT tyres. Sometimes I wonder if the SUV and Off road tyres are really tougher/superior than normal car tyres or just a marketing strategy to cash in ‘rich’ owners?

• Se Won on May 22, 2018 at 9:46 pm

R u retarded? SUV 1.5 tons vs puny featherweight cars, of course the tyres had to be bigger and stronger to compensate the load. More rubber + reinforced material = more $$$. Common sense.