Lexus IS facelift – minor change goes on sale in Japan

lexus-is-facelift-japan-02

The Lexus IS facelift has gone on sale in Japan, half a year after the minor change made its debut at the 2016 Beijing Auto Show. The FR sports sedan is available in IS 350, IS 300h hybrid and IS 200t turbo forms.

The third-gen IS, which already has a bolder face than most, gets a more aggressive front end thanks to large air intakes on the new bumper. There’s also an evolution of the Lexus spindle grille and new headlamps. The latter is more pronounced than before and extend inward, resulting in a shape that accentuates the distinctive ‘tick’ DRLs.

The new grille folds back at a higher point, changing its top and bottom proportions. The engine hood has been reshaped to match. The F Sport grille gets a unique ‘3D’ F-mesh pattern, with black metallic coating that incorporates functional brake ducts. These brake ducts provide a sense of continuity with the side garnishes that enhance the vehicle’s aerodynamics.

lexus-is-facelift-japan-06

At the back, there are more pronounced L-shaped LED lights that are now triple layered (previously double), and new rectangular chrome exhaust tips (was round). Ten-spoke 17-inch wheels with new designs and bright machine finishes are standard, while two new colours – Deep Blue Mica and Graphite Black Glass Flake – have been added to the catalogue.

A range of cabin improvements can be found. The multimedia display screen has grown from seven inches to 10.3 inches, and an ‘Enter’ button has been added to the side of the Remote Touch Interface (RTI) on the centre console, making the system easier to use. The audio and AC-control panel has been refined to fit within the knee bolsters (old ‘winged’ design susceptible to poor fit), with a new hairline-finish surface to boot.

Other changes are stitching on the meter binnacle, revised dials, new cupholders, a new and larger leather-wrapped palm rest with stitching for the RTI and new markings for the dash analogue clock. There are also additions and changes to the interior colour options. The base Lexus Premium Audio sound system now gets 10 speakers (up from eight), while the Mark Levinson option has been retuned for a more accurate and 3D sound.

lexus-is-facelift-japan-08

Also retuned is the suspension system. Improved shock absorbers are in place, and the front suspension’s lower arm is now in aluminium, which benefits both rigidity and weight. The bushes have been revised, all for better ride comfort and handling stability. There’s also a new “Customize” mode in the driving mode selection, which as its name suggests, allows the driver to customise a powertrain/chassis setting to his liking.

On the safety front, the IS now includes “Lexus Safety System +”, which integrates pedestrian detection function with collision avoidance, Lane Departure Alert (with steering controls), Automatic High Beam and radar cruise control.

No change under the hood for the 3.5 V6, 2.5 hybrid and 2.0 turbo variants. The IS 300h is the only one with an AWD option in Japan, while the others are rear-wheel drive only. Read our review of the IS 200t.

GALLERY: Pre-facelift Lexus IS 200t F Sport

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Same L0rr on Oct 20, 2016 at 6:00 pm

Lexus IS > 330e

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
  • Lexus’s(and Audi’s)have amongst the best interior I’ve been in in terms of quality. And yes, you shall have 5minutes to laugh that its only a branded Toyota and Volkswagen. …………the ES(yes, haha, it’s an expensive Camry) has about one of the most pleasing interior that money can buy, and the RX is another one with a fantastically cozy interior. The only thing that really frustrates me is their pethatic excuse for an Infotainment system and that control pad thingy. Personally, I like Lexus for what it is and remain honest that they are a premium and distinctively Japanese car company, instead of their snorefest of an attempt imitating ze Germans. The IS is a good car, but sadly not 330e or C300h good, unfortunately reluctance to CKD will be Lexus downfall in certain markets.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
    • targa on Oct 20, 2016 at 10:06 pm

Totally agree with you. It’s sad that UMW is incapable or reluctant to do CKDs for LExus. But truth is, the cras are pretty good to drive. The MArk Levinson sound system is one of the best I’ve ever heard thus far.

Body control in the current prefacelift IS250 F sPorts was really spot on for me although i’d appreciate a bit more weight into the steering.

• I don’t think it is a matter of UMW not wanting. From my limited knowledge as to why Lexus is still CBU (and only assembled in two places : Japan, and America) is because of their tightest QC that they really do not trust anyone else to assemble their cars. QA is #1 priority to them that is why they can manage and will continue to be the leader when it comes to reliability. Lexus is really an excellent car that is luxurious, comfortable, and reliable. Just not affordable and somehow resale value of Lexuses in Malaysia is not as great as compared to for example Mercedes.

• And I wish to add. Those who kept saying glorified Toyota probably has not sat or driven a Lexus. The level of attention to detail in terms of quality, comfort, sound insulation is day and night. No doubt there are certain components that you may spot similar that are used in Toyotas, like the cruise control systems, etc etc but I’m in the opinion that if things are proven and reliable, why change it? Luxury does not necessarily mean cannot reuse things from Toyota. It is also about the entire post sales ownership experience that Lexus does very well too.

• nabill (Member) on Oct 21, 2016 at 12:12 am

Since u have a certain fetish for interiors, like i do, i suggest u look at the Panamera or a Cayenne(recent models) interiors. … Everything u touch will feel like a million bucks, every button u press has that expensive Swiss precision to it, every panel has a story of fine craftsmanship to tell.. After that, u just dont care anymore how the car drives at that point, which incidently, is brilliant! Go n take a look, and satisfy ur urges!

This IS is abit dated platform wise.. Its not packages well with that unnecessary cramped interior.. And it doesnt have enough engines to offer either…

• The Porsche’s I usually miggle myself around are usually older models, 964 and 930. Don’t have much opportunity to mingle around with newer models. Thou I’ve been on a Macan before, wasn’t anything that grab me away much like Lexuses, but it’s certainly better than something from its Stuttgart’s neighbor(the W212 in particular was quite a disappointment, the W213 rectified a lot of their problems). I didnt find the Porsche nice for its really buttons overloaded interior, but the new Panamera seems to be a very nice place to be in it.

Interior design reflect a lot on my car decision as it is where we’re going to spend most of our time in. It’s why I have an affinity to the uglier CRV than the CX-5. And as for the IS, yea it’s getting abit dated now, I find it very Italian in its design language, ugly to a lot, great to some. But aside from the turbo, power train has been aging a lot. The new LC400h could see a new change for Lexus.

• Aragon on Oct 20, 2016 at 6:11 pm

Front is nice but I dont like the rear look especially the tail light. Too sharp I think.

• sick&tired on Oct 20, 2016 at 6:25 pm

i think i have only seen 1 3rd generation Lexus IS! And i am living in KL!

• frossonice on Oct 21, 2016 at 8:33 am

I don’t think Lexus even promoting it here. Last week at Sunway Pyramid when they were doing promotion there, there was no IS to be seen. Only ES and above.

• Sammy has full value now and forever on Oct 20, 2016 at 6:56 pm

Who cares if there is a facelift? The Lexus IS and most other Lexus models is irrelevant to the Malaysian market. Priced higher than the equivalent Germans, has a lower brand perception and doesn’t drive as well as the Germans. Who would choose this over a 3 series or a C class?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
    • You mean lower brand perception from certain people in Malaysia? Ever thought not everyone wants to be a sheep and follow the herd?

Malaysians are thought from young to equate Merc and BMW with the upper middle class and hence are often blinded by reality. The Fact of the matter is, Lexus, Audi,Jaguar etc have often been perceived to be equal or more in many other developed countries who don’t have preconceived hive mindsets like most of us do.

Lexus’s are built much much better than the Bmw and Mercs sold here because they are CBU’s from Japan and not made in Pekan and Kedah. That last part makes a big difference. The fit and finish of CKD cars are nowhere near the CBUS. Same goes for Melaka built Honda vs CBU Mazda from Japan for example.

With that being said, UMW’s prices are still rediculous.

• Totally agree with you. Just unfortunate due to this QA requirements of Lexus, they can’t be sold as competitively priced as its direct competitors ie the German makes. If their prices were to be lowered, there would be higher adoption which will lead to greater resale value. It is chicken and egg but let’s see whether the day will come, where Lexus allows CKD. Fat hope I’d say.

• FIST (Member) on Oct 20, 2016 at 7:31 pm

Wow

• heybadigol (Member) on Oct 20, 2016 at 7:34 pm

That’s a very nice looking front bumper. The IS is indeed a very good looking car – even with just the base 17 inch rims. The interior is a bit tight compared to the competition, but still acceptable. Sadly, it’s pricing is not so exciting here. I don’t think I’ve ever seen the IS200T here, only see the IS250 around. Do hope that Lexus Malaysia drops the price to make Lexus more competitive here. If not, the IS (and GS) will be rarer than a Ferrari.

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 20, 2016 at 8:21 pm

Looks sleeker to me now I wouldn’t mind getting one but the price UMW is asking for is totally absurd.

• Mikey on Oct 20, 2016 at 9:53 pm

Lets see who are the real competition here. I’m speaking RWD only. The 3 series, C-class AND Infiniti Q50 not to mention the Handsome Jaguar XE.

Yes, the Q50/XE where many will dismiss simply bcos it’s not many on our road just like the ever presence IS & car purist simply don’t like Japs muscling & eating up some of their pies.

I’m not going to bore U guys as some of U probably have driven/own 1 if not 2 of this marvelous machines. To me, they are all equally desirable to own/drive. I agree with many that this Lexus IS & the XE is pricey in this segment.

• maXref (Member) on Oct 20, 2016 at 9:59 pm

Front end looks too busy. Too many details to the point that its drowning. Maybe futuristic is the word to describe this car. Would be nice to see this on the road more often though compared to all C and 3 dominating the road

• Interior too meh. old fashioned

• wish they remove the ‘nike logo’ DRL from their front, would look awesome ^^

• My Biza has luxury soft touch plastics cuz its thin as hell. Why need to spend so much money for my big bro punya big bro? Biza dah cukup!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • parkjw on Oct 21, 2016 at 9:50 am

Lexus “is facelifted”.
    Lexus is facelift sounds as weird as I are eat.

Caps and grammar correction. Thanks.

• Nice car. Hopefully in next few years Lexus will be priced in affordable range like the BMW 3 Series and Merc C Class.