Abuse of highway emergency lanes has been reduced due to stricter enforcement and stiffer penalties handed down by the Road Transport Department (JPJ). As reported in The Sun Daily, JPJ enforcement director Datuk Valluvan Veloo said drivers are considering the consequences of abusing the emergency lane during traffic jams.
The crack-down on emergency lane abuse came about after an incident on the North-South expressway near Ayer Keroh last May 22. An ambulance was delayed in arriving at the scene of an accident due to the emergency lane being blocked by drivers wanting to beat the traffic jam.
Two people passed away in the accident, and the delay in the arrival of the ambulance is believed to have contributed to the demise of the victims. “Ambulances must be given priority. Come on, they are saving lives! What is this?” said Valluvan, adding it was after the incident that the JPJ decided to take lane abusers to court and impose maximum penalties.
A total of 2,783 offenders abusing the emergency lane were identified from May 22 to August 25, of which 806 drivers were hauled up to court. Of these, 113 offenders were fined a total of RM170,000, working out to an average fine of RM1,500 per offence.
Valluvan acknowledged that emergency lane abuse was rampant as offenders know the chance of being caught was low. “Drivers realise that the chances of getting caught red-handed are very slim as the JPJ and police cannot be there every day, and it has become a habit for many to use the emergency lane to cut queues during traffic jams,” he said.
Feedback from ambulance drivers to JPJ has indicated the stricter enforcement is working, reporting that emergency journeys are smoother than before. “We are trying to change the attitude of drivers. We used to only issue compounds of a maximum RM300. Now we take them to court,” said Valluvan.
And by dropping abuse hopefully not dropping enforcement too.Lower abuse doesn’t mean no abuse,understand?
Aper nie PLUS…dah bayar Toll pon Jam. Refund Refund!!!
No lah. It is the same. Polis and JPJ like it. How else can they cari dedak?
The whole PDRM and JPJ live on this dedak. Some officers make clean RM5k per day!
You’re right Kunta. my friend Lorry transport co. gip them everyday, no choice.
Got evidence to share? Or talk talk shout shout only
Agree. I hope JPJ and PDRM don’t go “hot hot chicken shit”. There is no reason to abuse emergency lanes. It’s simply being selfish and I absolutely welcome harsh punishments.
Please expand to federal and district roads as well!
Everyday I see Polis abusing the sirens and outriders as well as emergency lanes to bring banduan to court.
My question is this, why the PDRM cannot leave early like all of us and follow the jam?
Outriders and sirens should only be for the Agong. In our constitution, only Agong is entitled to outriders.
Now, even banduan got outriders. Every morning lah
Good point indeed. But being punctual is not part of our Msia culture.
have you ever heard of something called SOP?
the accused have their own risks when exposed too long outside. and so are the policeman.
Pegawai JPJ cari lori/trak barang saja..dedak dedak
Dropped? Come and see at Federal Highway from KL direction to enter LDP, every morning many cars use that emergency lane to cut queue which caused more jam!
Or can see it every morning from Taman Connaught all the way to Mid Valley. Even if it’s a Saturday where traffic isn’t as bad as usual, people still do it. It’s becoming a habit to them.
But the best place they really want to saman, this is definitely the stretch of road they should be working on.
When there is proper enforcement, then there’ll be a drop in people breaking the law. In Malaysia, a lot of things could improve if the gomen and their agencies just do their damn jobs!
It takes 2 to tango. If MY pipu r not a$$holes with unmatured mind that need Gov to rotan them otherwise they wun behave, then enforcement no need do stupid job to hunt pipu or do road block. Dun just rely on Gov & punishment, everyone must behave themselves!
from the 2nd photo, it is clear that the driver driving an Audi R8 & Porsche have Abuse the rule.
We were in great emergency, pardon us.
Sorry AudiR8, I’m not the aggrieved. I can’t judge or pardon you.
Dont let up. Enforce further!!
They are the worst type of selfish traffic offenders, causing bottlenecks and jams.
Catch them all
Please answer this:
Is the ambulance allowed to be driven at a speed of 130km per hour on the highway? If not, what is the maximum speed it is allowed to travel on the highway?
are you sick? people are dying and you want ambulance to drive within speed limit?
Wake up boy, misuse of emergency lane is nothing to do with ambulance driving at 130km/h.. it is matter of saving life. Imagine if your family in the ambulance, you will want them to drive 200km/h
Hi Guys, don’t jump the gun, that is what i am trying to complain, I observed an ambulance car driving at 130km/hr per hour in a dense traffic over taking here and there with no consideration of the patient inside the ambulance for a distance of more than 15km. Crazy ambulance driver.
I was tailing it to see how far it could go in this mindless and reckless driving.
Have u been in an ambulance? No right… so shut up
You’re tailing an ambulance for 15km?
First of all. Choo u should know tailing an ambulance is an offense. Telling us proudly about what speed it was going at in dense traffic because you managed to tailgate it and determine its speed tells me that you are the kind of human that will drive on an emergency lane as well. Ambulance drivers and medical staff are in the business of saving lives. So please take this seriously. Tq
Choo. Ur an idiot
pepatah melayu ada menyebut – kancil selalu lupa jerat, tapi jerat tak pernah lupa kancil.
try highway elite in the early morning rush hour. yesterday many cars were caught.
Govt should give rebates of some sort for installing dash cams and reporting all forms of traffic violations (Emergency lane abuse, red light jumpers, etc.)
Yes. JPJ did the right thing. Enforcing the law like taking pictures and make them pay or take them to court. No officers stopping them and less chances of people getting off by any means.
The key is enforcing the law properly !
Social media also played a great part. Take photo of those ar*****s and shame them on Facebook etc.
Don’t just complain. Do our part too!
JPJ getting feedbacks from Ambulans and concluded it is working based only on that finding?
Everyday, without fail, this happens along SKVE from Puchong towards Kajang and also along Putrajaya-Cyberjaya Expressway during the evening peak hours. JPJ and PDRM needs to work harder to identify key locations to reduce such abuses of emergency lanes.
still many idiots abused it especially on KESAS during morning rush hour
Guthrie hiway too near straits times flyover early morning rush hour. No enforcement, so, emergency lanes full of beaters. No civic.