Singapore may not extend Formula 1 race beyond 2017

Singapore GP

The Singapore Grand Prix may not run past 2017 – word is that the Republic hasn’t shown any indication it wants to hold a F1 race any longer, news reports indicate. Rumours have been going on for months that Singapore wasn’t looking to renew its existing five-year contract, which expires after next year’s event.

Now, Formula One boss Bernie Ecclestone has hinted that this is looking to be very much the case. In an interview with German publication Auto Motor und Sport, Ecclestone claimed that Singapore was not going to go on with the race after 2017.

“Look at what we have done for Singapore. Yes, the Grand Prix has cost Singapore a lot of money, but we’ve also given them a lot of money. Singapore was suddenly more than just an airport to fly to or from somewhere. Now they believe they have reached their goal and they do not want a Grand Prix anymore,” he stated.

singapore gp grandstand

Race organiser Singapore GP declined to comment on the matter. Reports stated that the 2016 edition of the race saw declining attendance numbers, with overall ticket sales for the night race being 15% lower than the average attendance since the race first started in 2008.

In the interview, Ecclestone also said that the face of F1 might well change, with current manufacturers – including current champions Mercedes AMG Petronas – calling time on the series in the next few years. “It could happen to us that Mercedes and Ferrari run away. But honestly, if the races get better, this may not be such a terrible vision.”

Ecclestone clearly didn’t mince his words on the matter. “Mercedes will retire on the day when it suits them, and it’s something we had before. Look at Honda, BMW and Toyota. They go when Formula One has done the job for them. There is no gratitude,” he stated.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Gratitude? Thanks to Bernie, the whole F1 have become a big business with him making alot of money. And now he takes it personal when people move on when it’s longer make a business sense for them to stay.

It’s nothing personal, it’s just business

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 1
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Nov 21, 2016 at 6:09 pm

Cannot afford to pay bil letrik issit…so pitiful…malaysians who are so hadap with singapore must feel the pinch…ouch…

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Nov 21, 2016 at 6:11 pm

Singapore is so kiasu what Malaysia do they also want to do when Malaysia dont want already they also dont want…cannot think on your own meh…must you be a parrot…

• Malaysia, UK & now Singapore. Who’s next? US? Germany?

• heybadigol (Member) on Nov 21, 2016 at 3:04 pm

Don’t forget France who have world champions like Prost and the Renault has not hosted a race in years. And probably Canada next, but with Mr Stroll racing next year, at least it’s safe to say that Canada is staying for awhile.

• Mikey on Nov 21, 2016 at 2:37 pm

S’pore have come to their senses at last that all this glitz & pompous are just self gratification without actually bringing any gain or glory to S’pore.

They don’t need F1 to promote S’pore. In fact, they don’t need F1 from the beginning. S’pore did it bcos M’sia did it. Who is the ultimate benefactor of F1 ? The answer is Bernie Ecclestone.

Personally, I like fast cars/bikes but i think I can get over it without F1. There is still World Endurance Race, World Rally Championship & Moto GP where the cost is not so insanely exorbitant.

Of course, being one of the most wealthy country in the world(per capita income wise), SG gov can splash on anything, It is better to utilize the $$$ for its own citizens. Your action have made your citizens proud to be S’porean.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 8
    • SG did it cuz they kiasu when they see MY did it. Nuff said

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 8
      • Mikey on Nov 22, 2016 at 9:02 am

j, thanks for vindicating what I’ve said. As usual, U look on the negative of “Kiasu” which I did not use bcos its not entirely a bad thing.

A positive thinking man will look at Kiasu as a motivation to improve oneself to become Better than B4. Bcos of this positive attitude, look at S’pore now !

J, when was the last time U take a break/holiday ? I’ve just came back from 5 days holiday in Philippines & I still see U here everyday without a break. Please take a holiday j as it will do U some good. U don’t get paid for holiday’s isit ?!

• Kiasoo on Nov 25, 2016 at 6:30 am

SG did it to show MY they can do it better. Of course there will be business & image benefits but this is to show SG still exist strong. Not a suprise if they run the MotoGP next, just because MY said it is more popular in asia nowadays. Kiasu.

• Ahmadjr on Nov 21, 2016 at 2:44 pm

Ecclestone is such a cry baby

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • wise decision, F1 is not fun anymore, superbike way better ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Canada, Italy and Germany are all under threat. probably only 18 races in 2017

• Faiz Roslan on Nov 21, 2016 at 3:34 pm

See I told you guys Malaysian Government has better foresight than Singapore, they already plan to exit for a long time as our ministers has make a calculated decision to ensure the best interest of Malaysians by not sponsoring a blood sucking event. And yet ppl are complaining that our government is not up to par, come on! Even SG government is copying us on our policies

– Faiz Roslan CEng

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 41
    • What is it with you and your qualification?

• Many down vote for you. But it understandable, My do is bad, Sg do is best. Topkek.

• Minister You-know-who on Nov 21, 2016 at 6:27 pm

Very different case, bro.

Singapore loaded with money. High income. Sing dollar high value. 1st world country. Corruption free virtually. Clean govt.

Malaysia? you know better…..No need to say, nanti surely rasa hempeh everybody…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 17
      • 4 out of 5 economist r saying SG will recession by next year, meanwhile none says the same for MY.

• According to basher logic,this another indication that country is going bankrupt. Oh but in this case, its for real. 4/5 economic news r saying SG is in technical recession and will go full bloom next year or early 2018.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
      • if u claim Singapore is in recession, then why SGD 1 = RM 3.1 ?

• Hot Cat not Hot Dog on Nov 21, 2016 at 9:06 pm

I still remembered many years ago I was watching SG tv channel news… tat times SG paliament are hving tough debation about to organising F1. SG actually took 2 years earlier before the annoucement to build F1 , they are making tough decision and also wanted listening the rakyat SG opinions too. At last , the final decision to organised F1 the mainly reason is SG only hv small land do not hv many places can attract oversea tourist to visit or let thems stay couple more day in SG….

By the way, a month ago the SG paliament with 100% pass…the next President SG must Malay. And PM Lee is very happy of the announcement.

• Confused on Nov 22, 2016 at 10:41 am

Are you talking about the cat or or the dog?

• Hot Cat not Hot Dog on Nov 22, 2016 at 8:04 pm

Haha… wat ever lah !
          I m not racism, but very don like our gov act.