Peugeot 208 and 2008 facelifts on preview in Malaysia next month – 1.2L PureTech engine set to feature

peugeot-208-preview-teaser

It looks like two Peugeot facelifts are due to be introduced here in the near future – according to a teaser post made by a local Peugeot dealer on Facebook, the revamped Peugeot 208 hatch and 2008 SUV will be going on preview next month ahead of their official introduction into the market.

In the case of the 208 facelift, it’s well about time. The refreshed B-segment hatch, which made its global debut in Geneva last year and went on sale in Europe in June 2015, was said to be arriving here this year.

Exterior changes include a redesigned bumper, an upsized grille and a more striking black/chrome bezel headlight design in front, while the rear gets new tail lamps with the brand’s signature three-claw design LED array.

Aside from these and a few new exterior shades, the existing four-speed auto transmission in the pre-facelift has been replaced with a newer Aisin-sourced Efficient Automatic Transmission (EAT6) six-speeder.

As for the 2008, the compact SUV was given a rework earlier this year. Like the 208, exterior revisions are minor, with a new vertical front grille, slightly revised headlamps, black wheel arch extensions and new scuff plates making for the significant bits. The interior, meanwhile, features subtle enhancements and the inclusion of Mirror Link and Apple CarPlay to the infotainment system.

New to the 2008 is the automaker’s PureTech engine range, and the local car will feature the PSA three-cylinder EB 1.2 litre mill. No word on which one yet though – there’s a normally-aspirated version (the PureTech 82) as well a turbocharged form, with two output tunes (PureTech 110 and PureTech 130) on tap. Like the 208, the 2008 will also feature the EAT6 six-speed auto. More on the duo when the time comes.

GALLERY: Peugeot 208 facelift

GALLERY: Peugeot 2008 facelift

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• TokGuru on Nov 25, 2016 at 4:19 pm

The 208 is a solid car. Unfortunately the pre facelift had a really crude gearbox. Nevertheless it’s still a really good car.

• Mikey on Nov 25, 2016 at 4:29 pm

This Pug 208 is one of the most handsome HB in M’sia. Replacing the four-speed auto with a newer six-speeder will be a most welcome feature.

With the automaker’s PureTech engine range, this will make the Pug more desirable & make the automaker claim of “World’s Most Efficient Engine”. Bravo Peugeot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
  • dorea on Nov 25, 2016 at 4:52 pm

Nasim? No thanks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
  • Naza is ripping Malaysians with unreliable cars with overly expensive Service cost and also very poor commitment towards customers. When purchasers wanna exercise their warranty, 1001 excuses is given to push back the cost to the purchasers. Hopeless distributor who is a government crony. And the damn Peugeot France will never get back to the purchasers from Malaysia, if from other European countries or US, they will respond back. A typical mentality of looking down at Asians and also our government policy never protects its own citizen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 12
  • the 2008 can go 1110km per tank? How big the tank?

• Vincent on Nov 25, 2016 at 7:06 pm

Peugeot also frequently fail in gear box and its turbo…so question, which is worth? DSG? or Peugeot 6 speed gear box?

I tested 508, both facelift and pre… I feel Nasim tune down the power a lot.. to pro-long it life spend..

I love RC-Z but dare not take the risk…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
    • BeemerFreak on Nov 25, 2016 at 11:57 pm

Toyota Avanza, best for you. There is no risk.

• Giggs on Nov 26, 2016 at 6:50 am

There is no “frequently” fail in gear box and turbo for Peugeot. Not like DCG that already well known.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
    • Awin 308 on Nov 26, 2016 at 8:50 pm

Too bad for you. Guys like you who complain about car breakdown all the time should only drive a boring vios with old 1.5 and 4 spd auto. New tech and new models breakdown is normal. A modern car is made out of 15000 components, dont expect a perfect model all the time.

Kudos to Nasim for guts to bring in the puretech engine and stick a finger up to the haters.

(I use to drive a 308 Turbo. Let go of it for a no nonsense jap but i really really miss the fun driving it)

• The 6 speeds gear box made by Aisin.very reliable.

• Colin Wong on Nov 27, 2016 at 2:18 am

Not true. I drive a 508. The Japanese gearbox is good and has never failed. Neither has the turbo unit. Like all, yes, all turbo units in Malaysia, use good motor oil and change slightly ahead of schedule and you’ll be fine. Tell me how many turbo in terms of percentage that has failed.

I think you are speaking off the cuff. To the point of malice, even.

• My summary of the hatchbacks available here

208: Cheapest, best for city driving, not so for highesy thanks to the 4-spd box. Best real world FC for city driving.
    Fiesta (ecoboost): Most expensive. Best engine & handling but all is ruined thanks to the gearbox. FC is best on the highway. Ideal for long journeys
    Mazda2: Fully loaded with gadgets. A good all-rounder but expensive if you opt for LED model. Only 2 airbags
    Jazz: Haven’t driven enough for a verdict. But definitely will be the most reliable

• Sammy Loo on Nov 26, 2016 at 1:15 am

waste of time and money if you get one of these junks

Get a Jazz or a HR-V is definitely the better choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
  • Rocka on Nov 26, 2016 at 2:32 am

I would like to ask any fella here who owns peugeot. Mine is 308 turbo. Previous model. Almost every week got error. “Engine failure”. And when that happened, the car stop and i should call a tow truck.

• My Tech on Nov 28, 2016 at 8:46 am

Really dude?

Must be real unlucky to have the 308 breakdown every week. Other people is not so unlucky as you.

It either:
      A – you dont know how to maintain a car
      B – you maintain with not up to grade oil, etc
      C – you just complaining for the sake of complaining

• awesome…cant wait for the 6 speed new gearbox

4 speed is too ancient

• Jackson on Nov 27, 2016 at 11:44 pm

I wonder which engine they will use. And I hope whichever engine they choose is suitble for the petrol we have in Malaysia.

Heard the new engines, as they are, need Euro 6 petrol.

• Jackson on Nov 27, 2016 at 11:46 pm

Look at Intermilan’s post on the petrol question. At the last end of the comments on this post.
      http://paultan.org/2015/02/19/peugeot-208-facelift-unveiled-now-with-6-speed-auto/

• Ben Yap on Nov 28, 2016 at 9:37 am

what’s the PureTech about? Pure Technology?