As the world heads into 2017, most will be looking forward to new beginnings in the new year. It is also, for some of us, the time when performance reviews, salary increments and bonuses (or lack thereof) start looming large in some eyes.

In which case, have you ever wondered what the drivers in Formula 1 earn? Yes, footballers being paid obscene amounts of money for very little risk to life and limb is nothing new, and some of them can’t even kick a football.

But, at the top flight of world motorsport, who earned what in 2016? As can be expected, three-time Formula 1 champion and second in the drivers championship last year Lewis Hamilton (31), tops the earnings list, taking home 32 million euro (RM150 million) in 2016, reports.

Following behind in joint second is Sebastian Vettel (29) of Ferrari, with 30 million euro (RM141 million), and Fernando Alonso (35) of McLaren-Honda, with the same reported salary. Meanwhile, 2016 Formula 1 champion Nico Rosberg (31) took home 16 million euro (RM75 million).

While it can be argued that Jenson Button (36) of McLaren-Honda, with 17 million euro (RM80 million) in earnings and 21 championship points could possibly be the most over-valued driver in F1, Carlos Sainz (22) of Toro Rosso, with his 350,000 euro (RM1.65 million) salary and 46 points last year, could be the best value for money.

The full list is as follows:

Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) – 32 million euro (RM150.72 million)
Sebastian Vettel (Ferrari) – 30 million euro (RM141.3 million)
Fernando Alonso (McLaren-Honda) – 30 million euro (RM141.3 million)
Jenson Button (McLaren-Honda) – 17 million euro (RM80.07 million)
Nico Rosberg (Mercedes) – 16 million euro (RM75.36 million)
Kimi Raikonnen (Ferrari) – eight million euro (RM37.68 million)
Daniel Ricciardo (Red Bull Racing) – 5.5 million euro (RM25.91 million)
Felipe Massa (Williams) – four million euro (RM18.84 million)
Nico Hulkenberg (Force India) – four million euro (RM18.84 million)
Sergio Perez (Force India) – four million euro (RM18.84 million)
Romain Grosjean (Haas F1 Team) – three million euro (RM14.13 million)
Valtteri Bottas (Williams) – three million euro (RM14.13 million)
Esteban Gutierrez (Haas F1 Team) – 750,000 euro (RM3.53 million)
Kevin Magnussen (Renault) – 750,000 euro (RM3.53 million)
Daniil Kvyat (Toro Rosso) – 750,000 euro (RM3.53 million)
Max Verstappen (Red Bull Racing) – 500,000 euro (RM2.36 million)
Pascal Wehrlein (Manor) – 500,000 euro (RM2.36 million)
Carlos Sainz (Toro Rosso) – 350,000 euro (RM1.65 million)
Jolyon Palmer (Renault) – 250,000 euro (RM1.18 million)
Felipe Nasr (Sauber) – 200,000 euro (RM940,000)
Marcus Ericsson (Sauber) – 200,000 euro (RM940,000)
Rio Haryanto (Manor) – 150,000 euro (RM710,000)
Esteban Ocon (Manor) – N/A (N/A)

While we await the game of Formula 1 driver musical chairs caused by Nico Rosberg’s sudden departure from Mercedes, who do you think will wear the winner’s crown in 2017? Leave a comment with your thoughts and opinions below.