2016 Formula 1 driver salaries – who earned what?

As the world heads into 2017, most will be looking forward to new beginnings in the new year. It is also, for some of us, the time when performance reviews, salary increments and bonuses (or lack thereof) start looming large in some eyes.

In which case, have you ever wondered what the drivers in Formula 1 earn? Yes, footballers being paid obscene amounts of money for very little risk to life and limb is nothing new, and some of them can’t even kick a football.

But, at the top flight of world motorsport, who earned what in 2016? As can be expected, three-time Formula 1 champion and second in the drivers championship last year Lewis Hamilton (31), tops the earnings list, taking home 32 million euro (RM150 million) in 2016, Sporttune.fr reports.

Following behind in joint second is Sebastian Vettel (29) of Ferrari, with 30 million euro (RM141 million), and Fernando Alonso (35) of McLaren-Honda, with the same reported salary. Meanwhile, 2016 Formula 1 champion Nico Rosberg (31) took home 16 million euro (RM75 million).

While it can be argued that Jenson Button (36) of McLaren-Honda, with 17 million euro (RM80 million) in earnings and 21 championship points could possibly be the most over-valued driver in F1, Carlos Sainz (22) of Toro Rosso, with his 350,000 euro (RM1.65 million) salary and 46 points last year, could be the best value for money.

The full list is as follows:

Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) – 32 million euro (RM150.72 million)
Sebastian Vettel (Ferrari) – 30 million euro (RM141.3 million)
Fernando Alonso (McLaren-Honda) – 30 million euro (RM141.3 million)
Jenson Button (McLaren-Honda) – 17 million euro (RM80.07 million)
Nico Rosberg (Mercedes) – 16 million euro (RM75.36 million)
Kimi Raikonnen (Ferrari) – eight million euro (RM37.68 million)
Daniel Ricciardo (Red Bull Racing) – 5.5 million euro (RM25.91 million)
Felipe Massa (Williams) – four million euro (RM18.84 million)
Nico Hulkenberg (Force India) – four million euro (RM18.84 million)
Sergio Perez (Force India) – four million euro (RM18.84 million)
Romain Grosjean (Haas F1 Team) – three million euro (RM14.13 million)
Valtteri Bottas (Williams) – three million euro (RM14.13 million)
Esteban Gutierrez (Haas F1 Team) – 750,000 euro (RM3.53 million)
Kevin Magnussen (Renault) – 750,000 euro (RM3.53 million)
Daniil Kvyat (Toro Rosso) – 750,000 euro (RM3.53 million)
Max Verstappen (Red Bull Racing) – 500,000 euro (RM2.36 million)
Pascal Wehrlein (Manor) – 500,000 euro (RM2.36 million)
Carlos Sainz (Toro Rosso) – 350,000 euro (RM1.65 million)
Jolyon Palmer (Renault) – 250,000 euro (RM1.18 million)
Felipe Nasr (Sauber) – 200,000 euro (RM940,000)
Marcus Ericsson (Sauber) – 200,000 euro (RM940,000)
Rio Haryanto (Manor) – 150,000 euro (RM710,000)
Esteban Ocon (Manor) – N/A (N/A)

While we await the game of Formula 1 driver musical chairs caused by Nico Rosberg’s sudden departure from Mercedes, who do you think will wear the winner’s crown in 2017? Leave a comment with your thoughts and opinions below.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• No point for so high pay,,, the race is no longer interesting now…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 6
  • Mikey on Jan 03, 2017 at 5:01 pm

How much these F1 drivers earn does not bother me bcos they choose to be a F1 driver which is One of the MOST dangerous sports in the world.

Look at Michael Schumacher & you will know what I mean. With all the Millions he has made, he is now in the hands of God(literally speaking)

IMHO, Nico Rosberg sudden departure from Mercedes is one of the BEST decision he has made as he HAS achieved his lifetime Goal of becoming a F1 Champion just like his father. I respect his decision for quitting at the top.

Having said that, One Should Not be too greedy of $$$ & Titles as we cannot bring all the $$$/titles to our grave. Shalom & Cheers …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 60
    • Medic on Jan 03, 2017 at 5:28 pm

Schumacher suffered injuries from skiing accident, not motorsport. Wonder what people read online nowadays

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 2
    • Rizal on Jan 03, 2017 at 5:31 pm

Schumy accident at the ski lodge nothing to do with F1. Anybody can have accident. Whether you are at footballer, F1 driver, crane operator or mere couch potato. Who Knows your next step to the bathroom or driving back to work would be your last.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 0
      • Mikey on Jan 03, 2017 at 9:30 pm

Rizal, thank 4 replying & your SHARP tongue is noted with lots of chilli pepper. Please remember that U will one day received your JUST Reward for your Venomous reply. Only U & God know what U mean when U reply with such distasteful remark.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 42
    • What? MOST Dangerous?
      MotoGP is far more dangerous, if not the MOST.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
      • Mikey on Jan 03, 2017 at 9:21 pm

My posting say “One of the Most”. I did NOT say the Most. I think U need a reading glass.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
    • If u said bianchi or senna or wurz, heck even lauda, i wud gip u cookie but looks like u dun know anything about F1 b4 tokok.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
      • Mikey on Jan 03, 2017 at 9:18 pm

Hell john, KK, Rizal & Medic. Yes, MS DID NOT suffer his injury/coma from Racing, He got his head injury from skiing. That is His-tory now. The whole world know about it.

Which part of my comment say MS had an accident while racing in F1 hence in coma now. I said MS made millions in racing & NOW he can’t enjoy the millions he made & Now he is in the hands of God.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 19
        • Medic on Jan 04, 2017 at 2:35 pm

Sudah la, jangan nak menegakkan benang yang basah. Kan senang kalau mengaku kalau ada kesilapan, orang akan terima

• Mikey on Jan 04, 2017 at 4:20 pm

Kalau Medic pandai sangat, tulis lah comment sendiri. Mengapa cari kesilapan orang saja!

Walaupun comment saya ada kesilipan, ia adalah pendapat saya. Tak payahlah mencaci sampai ke hujund dunia.

Macamlah Kesilapan itu serious sampai Hukuman Mati. Ada orang yg menipu wang Rakyat sampai berBillion pun tak mengaku kesilipan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
        • U seem to have problem following up one sentence with another. Pls read back what u wrote.

• MS having trouble to buy life or personal insurance due to the risk in the motorsport.. i think it might be the same for all of the F1/Motogp guys… so eventually during the skiing fell no insurance covered him..

• 12yrsold on Jan 03, 2017 at 5:12 pm

It is insane to know the 12 top drivers earn multi millions of dollars(RM 14mil to 150 mil) while most M’sian can hardly put 3 meals on the table.

Of course one can argue they use their lives to earn that kind of money. The only consolations I can see is that these F1 drivers are just human though because they also live as long as the next human who work as a blue collar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
    • Its insane that Tevez now earns 20x more than previous and he is past his prime and not star worthy like CR7 et al, but if somebodys will to pay ur asking price….

• 12yrsold on Jan 03, 2017 at 9:37 pm

Sound like you are jealous of Tavez earning more than you. Why complaint to me about how much Tavez earn ?! You can always joint him ie if you are as good as him.

• f1noob on Jan 03, 2017 at 6:56 pm

no wonder nico quits the game. LOL

• oh mak lu cina on Jan 03, 2017 at 7:12 pm

and yes our ex msian F1 driver earned negative income! hahahahhaha

• Drops steeply after the fifth place. They all probably earn more through other money channels like product-endorsements and celebrity-appearances. More power to you and thumbs up guys.

• heybadigol (Member) on Jan 03, 2017 at 7:38 pm

The best value driver must be Max. His image and popularity amongst F1 fans (and even admired by casual F1 observers) alone would’ve sold Red Bull more cans of the energy drink. He should demand more than Danny Ric’s salary for 2017. Come 2018, wouldn’t be surprised if he tops that list or is at least top 3, and will probably be driving a red or silver car (black car might be possible too if Honda and McLaren can get their act together).

• Saiful Hamdan on Jan 03, 2017 at 8:16 pm

Imagine how much our illegal street racers earn every year if their races were legalized and their racing talents acknowledged.

• Farizal on Jan 03, 2017 at 9:05 pm

What’s the use of paying that amount of money to the driver when most of the race were decided by the car instead of the driver

• Peter on Jan 04, 2017 at 1:40 pm

You should consider how much their employer earn than look at their salary, everything will seems reasonable. Who pay them? You, who watch F1 (even on TV, you pay the channel) and make them popular. Similar to football, Hollywood etc.