SPAD to improve express bus services with bus lab

The Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) aims to improve the service quality, security and sustainability of the bus industry, according to a report by The Sun.

“The lab will involve the participation and take into consideration the views of industry players and public from the Peninsular,” said minister in the prime minister’s department Datuk Nancy Shukri. “The government, through the relevant agencies, will continue to work closely with bus operators, associations, agencies and stakeholders to improve the quality of the express bus services and passenger safety.”

It is said that the lab, which will be set up next month, will also focus on the business model of the bus industry, ways to deal with driver shortage, proposals to improve the drivers’ welfare, technological approaches, policies and licensing requirements, as well as ways to improve the quality of bus terminals and its infrastructures.

With Chinese New Year around the corner, Nancy reminded all bus companies to give priority to all aspects of driving and passenger safety, which includes the examination of the driver’s condition particularly before the journey.

“I have also instructed SPAD to enhance their risk-based auditing on the express bus operators to ensure compliance with the Code of Conduct for SPAD-Industrial Safety (ICOP),” she said, adding that SPAD’s Safety ICOP clearly states that express bus operators are responsible for ensuring that all aspects of drivers and vehicle maintenance is done correctly and regularly.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Tiger on Jan 05, 2017 at 3:59 pm

Spad,puspakom and other GLC needs expert from either local or foreigner who could use his expertise to fix all these issues.now their inability to handle is only bez they r not professionals and experts and ultimately public die or injured bez of their inability .and these issues wouldn’t fix bez no one willing to fix.wait another accident and deaths and then we could read one more statement to adhere this issue .same like monkeys playing with coconuts throwing each other.same happening to country economy too

• Kunta Kinte on Jan 05, 2017 at 4:51 pm

Disgrace. Every year same old story. Nobody gets prosecuted. Cause the owners of lorry and bus companies are well connected. All these labs are all just to make money for cronies.

Every year, thousands of Malaysians get knocked down and killed by lorry hantu. The driver of the lorry stop the lorry and just run away. The polis, never investigate. they are too scared.

Come on, how difficult to investigate? The company or the owner is liable for the death. just get JPJ records and see who the owner. Of course driver has run away, but polis can prosecute the owner or company that owns the lorry.

The past 30 years, not even one lorry hantu owner is prosecuted. But every year, hundreds of deaths occur cause lorry hantu run Malaysians down.

The same principle with the busses. See who are the owners. All well connected. So, no driver or bus company is ever prosecuted.

Even the recent incident about the driver talking on handphone and smoking whilst driving bus also, nothing will happen. Every year got so many crook drivers smoke and talk on the phone but not even one is ever prosecuted.

All maaf maaf. Semua OK

• mr1031 on Jan 05, 2017 at 4:10 pm

it’s a known problem..why waste time with more labs? just enforce what necessary safety precaution e.g speed limiter to all the busses and commercial vehicles

• Ok, how much money do you need to form this lab? 2 billions?

• SPAD should spend the money on installing mandatory speed limiters and seat-belts on all buses and increase the frequency of operations (both open and undercover) to detect and deter issues like single-driver trips, drug-use among drivers, under-serviced vehicles and such like. Also work to remove obstacles from politically-connected players in the transportation industry and strive to be open about the owners and operators of bus companies. Reform is needed. Political will and readily available technologies can and should be used ASAP to prevent further tragedies on our roads.

• nabill (Member) on Jan 05, 2017 at 6:40 pm

Even that retarded monkey i saw last week in Melaca, climbing the tree and keep falling off, even he wont believe anything regarding spad, jpj, puspakom, or any minister….

• KayaKaya1 Malaysia on Jan 05, 2017 at 6:53 pm

May I know who are the cronies to supply the bus-lab???

• Mikey on Jan 05, 2017 at 9:51 pm

Hello SPAD, if U Really aim to improve the service quality, security & sustainability of the bus industry, U should get rid of that Botak KAPALA.

With all the existing laws, U just have 2 enforce it. The main problem is the SPAD officers are all well Fed & they are all 2 lazy 2 move their Ass.

Why waste $$$ when there is laws BUT no one is enforcing it !? Are U trying 2 SQUEEZE Water($$$) from Rocks(Empty coffers)?! Where is the $$$/funding coming from ?? Nincompoop.

• Malaysian Driver on Jan 05, 2017 at 11:33 pm

I smell a massive Singapore under the guise of this so call “Bus Lab”. In the end , nothing will change, same shit, same rasuah. Bila ada accident, orang mati, kasih buhahaha a few days in the newspaper, after that all sweep under carpet. this is Malaysia, rasuah didahulukan, nyawa pengguna jalan takde penting. Yang penting ada Singapore, u help me, I help u.

• Faiz Roslan on Jan 06, 2017 at 9:01 am

disgusted by the comments above. we are talking about saving lives in the future and yet u all divert attention to something irrelevant and unproven!

gov buat salah, tak buat pon salah

the bus labs are more than just labs, it helps in accident investigation whcih will help reduce bus accidents in future.. u all worship foregin agency like ntsb, but when spad does something similar, u all kutuk2 tak habis.. bodoh ke apa?

– Faiz Roslan CEng