Next-gen Subaru XV to arrive in Malaysia in Q4 2017

Following the launch of the fifth-generation Subaru Impreza in Singapore, it has been revealed that the next-generation XV will be destined to arrive on Malaysian shores in Q4 this year.

This information was revealed by Glenn Tan, executive director of Tan Chong International during a group interview, where he also added that the Singapore market will be the first to get the new XV as fully-imported (CBU) units, while Malaysia will get locally-assembled (CKD) XVs six months after.

Previously, Tan stated that the company’s Segambut plant would be ready in time to produce next-generation Subaru models that utiilise the Subaru Global Platform. The Segambut plant currently produces the facelifted XV and Forester, both of which were launched last year.

Subaru Impreza (Russ Swift stunt car)

The new XV was first previewed in concept form in early March 2016, and will be underpinned by the same architecture as that used on the newly-launched Impreza. An earlier report revealed that it will follow the same recipe as the outgoing model – higher road clearance and some cladding to match its rugged persona.

Although Fuji Heavy Industries (FHI) – soon to become Subaru Corporation – has yet to reveal the new XV, if you need some help visualising what that might look like, Russ Swift’s modified Impreza used in his stunt show at the Singapore Motor Show is a good start. The car you see has bump stops added to its suspension to allow Swift a little more clearance for him to execute his two-wheel driving demonstration.

On a related matter, Tan also stated that the five-door hatchback version of the Impreza (for those who are interested) can also be introduced to the Malaysian market (currently there are no plans to do so), but it would require a significant amount of demand for such a move to happen. Which model would you be looking forward to the most?

GALLERY: Subaru XV Concept

GALLERY: 2017 Subaru Impreza

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Kunta Kinte on Jan 13, 2017 at 7:28 am

Don’t worry, when it comes here, it will be more than the old price.

Our respected CEng said the ringgit falling will be good for Malaysia but prices are just going higher and higher. Goes to show the Economics our super brains learn in school

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 23
  • Aero (Member) on Jan 13, 2017 at 7:36 am

Good news ! Glad to see FHI plans to continue with Subaru assembly at TCMA Segambut. I hope they will also export the next-gen XV to Thailand and Indonesia, just like the current XV.

TCS through TCMA has assembled 16,487 Subaru XVs between August 2012 and November 2016.

Of that number, some 16,283 have been sold or registered; 8,015 in Malaysia, 7,016 in Thailand, and 1,252 in Indonesia.

The TCMA-assembled XV is one of the few CKD models we have in which export sales actually exceed domestic sales. The XV is also the best-selling Subaru in Malaysia, Thailand and Indonesia.

I wonder if there’s any plans for the new Impreza here as well ? Unlike the last gen Impreza (and XV), the new one much more competitive, and is still the only 4WD C-sedan on the market.

However, the Impreza will likely not sell as well as the XV here, even at RM110k or so, but it will definitely build the Subaru brand image in the long term.

The new FC Civic proved that the C-sedan market in Malaysia is still relevant, even in this SUV decade. So it is truly my hope that FHI/TCMH/TCIL will bring in a CKD Impreza as well in the near future.

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Jan 13, 2017 at 9:27 am

Didn’t anyone notice how loud the XV’s CVT whine is?

• Henry on Jan 13, 2017 at 1:23 pm

It is the nature of a CVT to whine if you look at its construction. What they can do is beef up the insulation of the XV.

• Alza? on Jan 13, 2017 at 9:29 pm

is alza better than xv? pakai alza, diam diam la, buang muka je

• Civic10 is too overpowering here. Gud looks with high spec & jepunis overlord makes it almost perfect. Subaru is small lord here with less svc centers and outdated design.

Only way Imp & Nissan sylphy can compete is to bring AWD variant with Ioniq’s high safety spec and price it slightly less than Civic10. And TCMA need to get both cars EEV certified for savings to passed to customers.

• jinggo on Jan 13, 2017 at 9:36 am

The power of dream…

• Jonn Dol on Jan 13, 2017 at 8:27 am

If you want to steal some portion of the C-segment pie currently being dominated by the Civic, you have to count on the Subaru Impreza Sedan of course, not the hatch!

• Henry on Jan 13, 2017 at 10:50 am

Unless it is CKD. In CBU form it will be priced out of the mass market where the Civic is sitting.

• applegreen on Jan 13, 2017 at 9:07 am

I hope motorimage still sell impreza here even though as CBU unit

• nearly bought on Jan 13, 2017 at 9:07 am

xv. .pls improve your sound proof. ..I almost buy

bcos of this

• sound proof? on Jan 13, 2017 at 9:34 pm

my xv is so quiet, comfortable, roomy, good handling. i doubt u don’t even dare to test drive in the showroom…no money, work harder

• Whats the diff between Imp hatchback and XV? Jacked up suspension only?

• Mikey on Jan 13, 2017 at 10:05 am

By looking at the Subaru XV Concept, it is quite a Good looking SUV. It is way better than ASX/X-trail. Hence, i have no doubt that it will sell as well as the current XV if not better.

Most Scooby have a reputation for its solidly build vehicle & its All-wheel drive prowess. This must be due to its Rallying heritage.

As for the five-door hatchback version of the Impreza, Glen Tan said “currently we have no plan to do so ” indicate he does not have enough confident in the Impreza.

It does not bode well for an Executive Director to say so even if he is being honest. In fact, this is the Worst way to introducing a product/car. Nothing beats a Confident Man speaking & have confidence in its product.

• Henry on Jan 13, 2017 at 10:35 am

Very nice but I’m afraid there will be a hefty jump in the price when it gets here, whether in CBU or CKD form. The reason is obvious.

• Henry on Jan 13, 2017 at 10:47 am

The XV is not an SUV but a Crossover. It is basically a jacked-up Imprezza hatchback with some modifications to the suspension system and strenghtening of the body for offroading. In other words there is a car version of the XV, like the VW Polo and Cross Polo, just to name one. There are other examples.

An SUV may be based on the platform of another model but it is a stand-alone model. There is no car equivalent of, say the ASX/X-Trail.

• Pussified-SUV on Jan 13, 2017 at 10:50 am

Design wise reminds me of those auntie type suv which they used to fetch children to school…not suitable for adult male.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 19
  • albert on Jan 13, 2017 at 4:21 pm

turbo xv thanks.

• boxer on Jan 13, 2017 at 9:43 pm

boxer 2.0NA feels better than civic 1.5T…xv doesn’t need turbo, pls test drive it then u know what i mean

• Bernard on Jan 13, 2017 at 8:42 pm

Are people willing to wait so long or get another vehicle before that? The latter would be the answer.

• Y U Fuk on Jan 15, 2017 at 11:04 pm

Like most Subaru’s, they are well made with sound engineering, however, Subaru Malaysia should re look at it’s market positioning to begin to gain market share, which would then justify CKD, which in turn will reduce the price, so it can be competitive. In today’s economic climate, shoppers are looking for Value for money. You can gas all you want about the quality and engineering, but price point OTR is key. The formula in a developing car market is, firstly increase dealer/3S in more key locations. Throw in more accessories than the next 2 competitors. Reduce price=Increase in Sales. Saying you want to be a niche player is too dangerous…..you are not Aston Martin or Land Rover !!! Now that Nissan is in control of Mitsubishi, I’m sure the clever Carlos Ghosn will get things right. He is an auto
    genius. So Subaru really needs to pull up their socks….other off roaders of similar elk are on the way.

• kccheongkk on Jan 17, 2017 at 11:00 am

Any chances to see any hybrid?