Puspakom offers free Voluntary Vehicle Inspection

With the Chinese New Year festivities nearing, Puspakom will be offering Voluntary Vehicle Inspection (VVI) free of charge for a limited time, from January 16 to January 27 this year. These voluntary vehicle inspections will be carried out at all Puspakom inspection centres, except those in Shah Alam, Taman Bukit Maluri, Mak Mandin and Kota Bharu, which cater specifically to commercial vehicles.

The VVI is a 25-point inspection which examines the brakes, rims and tyres, instruments, front and rear lamps and exhaust. The inspection also checks for leaks from the transmission, engine and other areas for roadworthiness.

“Many are expected to travel to their hometowns or go on holiday during this festive season. With that in mind, Puspakom is taking the initiative to help vehicle owners ensure that their vehicles are in good condition, which will give them confidence when driving. This is part of our social responsibility,” said Mohammed Shukor Ismail, chief executive officer of Puspakom.

The free-of-charge VVI campaign will take place from 8am until 5pm every day (subject to operating hours of specific outlets). Priority will be given to VVI customers, who can visit any participating Puspakom branch, with no prior appointments or documentation required.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Open bonet and look yourself la

• Fred Chang on Jan 13, 2017 at 4:10 pm

Really? I didn’t know you can check “brakes, rims and tyres, instruments, front and rear lamps, and exhaust” from under the bonnet

• Use your damn common sense to check. After 30000km change your brakepad. EVERYTHING is online!

• Kunta Kinte on Jan 14, 2017 at 8:45 am

Puspakom is just a waste of money. Do you know even brand new cars coming out of car factories also must pay so much of money to puspakom to give approval?

This money goes back to the consumer in higher prices.

• Kunta Kinte on Jan 13, 2017 at 6:28 pm

Rakyat don’t want all this la Puspakom. What they want is Puspakom to stop asking duit kopi from everyone.

Puspakom is dirty to the core. Corrupted at every level. they are so brave, they openly ask duit kopi, or else, your file or case goes down the pile of files.

Clean up your Puspakom please.

• Why must only do it during festive season? It should be all day long. Remember the airbag crisis? Why cant offer to public. Think CSR.

• Pikachu on Jan 13, 2017 at 5:18 pm

I had a bad experience when I went to the Teluk Kumbar, Penang branch 2 years ago for a foc inspection. The officer at the registration counter was 110% rude by telling me to come back another day as they have too many vehicles to inspect.

When I told him that it was printed in the media that we just walk-in without appointments, he asked me to complain to his boss in KL and walked-off.

I drove off without any inspection and swear never ever to walk into any P center even if they offered a free car – social responsibility, my foot!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • We are truly sorry to learn your unpleasant experience in PUSPAKOM. We will not tolerate with such attitude by our staff. Please immediately call 1-800-88-6927 to give us the details of the staff so that we could take necessary action on the personnel.

• Sam Prabanathan Loo on Jan 13, 2017 at 5:28 pm

I also can check what, but looks like many vehicle owners here required to sign a deathwish (aka ‘afterlife package to HELL’

brakes – too shitty even with ABS (even a new cars from pookedua), rims and tyres (only rims looks bling-bling but tyres already bald like hell until can see white bits inside), front and rear lamps (at least one side must be not working, some even terror, brake lights all not functioning) and exhaust (either ‘leaked’ original piping or modified like taik, only loud sound)

• Fanta Oren Masam on Jan 13, 2017 at 6:51 pm

Free thing definitely not good.
    You should be lucky if you get no. 99+++ in the line.

Better spend a bit money and check at workshop than wasting hours at puspokom….

• Priority will be given to vehicle owners who wish to do Voluntary Vehicle Inspection at our inspection centres, should you need further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact PUSPAKOM’s toll free line at 1-800-88-6927.

• Hunter Zolomon Hunter Zolomon on Jan 13, 2017 at 9:13 pm

Will they bother about dark tinted window of vehicle during the inspection?

• Its free, its not mandatory

• Tinted glass test or we call Visible Light Transmittance test is one of the inspection points in Voluntary Vehicle Inspection. However, the inspection report will be only given to the vehicle owners / drivers.

• Eric Tan @ Rose Mah on Jan 14, 2017 at 2:32 pm

Is Puspakom capable of VI for my Tesla model X?

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jan 16, 2017 at 12:01 am

Con Job.

They probably will deliberately damage the vehicles just to spur repair business