Speed limits to be 10 km/h lower during CNY – report

Heading back to your hometown this Chinese New Year? Take note that speed limits across all federal and state roads will be 10 km/h lower as part of Ops Bersepadu, according to The Star.

From January 21 to February 5, the new speed limits will be 80 km/h on federal roads and 70 km/h on state roads, said transport minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai, adding that heavy vehicles will also be prohibited from using highways on January 26, 27, 31 and February 1.

“In 2016 alone, the number of fatalities due to accidents had risen sharply to over 7,000 deaths,” he said. “This is very worrying. Statistics will remain statistics if we all don’t do our part to reduce the number of accidents.”

Speaking of statistics, Liow said that the number of fatal road accidents rose from 6,193 in 2015 to 6,570 last year, while the number of deaths climbed from 6,706 to 7,152. In total, 521,446 accidents occurred in 2016 compared to 489,606 the year before.

He also mentioned that 80.6% of those accidents were caused by human error, while 62.7% of fatal accidents involved motorcyclists. “The realities of the figures should be an eye-opener to everyone to adopt a safe and careful attitude when on the road,” he said.

Liow added that integrated enforcement would be carried out under Ops Bersepadu, with the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety (MIROS) conducting an assessment of the effectiveness of the operation during the festive season.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• KK lom on Jan 18, 2017 at 10:11 am

how about walk by bare foot?

• That is advisable. With the jam, u probably be faster. Barefoot better cuz proven by Kenyans.

• LIow Ah Tan on Jan 18, 2017 at 1:30 pm

Can reduce 10km/hr can really reduce the accident rate? Got data to show? What about reduce by 30km/hr?

• tokmoh. on Jan 18, 2017 at 10:25 am

Every year they reduce speed, accident got go down or not?

Nak cari makan issue speeding tix lettew.

Some roads are just WTF. Kesas highway with 90km/h limit when it looks like a 110km/h road. Harambe betul.

• Faiz Roslan on Jan 18, 2017 at 12:53 pm

The success is proven, that’s why we must support the policy with every single drop of blood so that less actual blood is spilled this festive season. Syabas gov! – Faiz Roslan CEng

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
    • Tell you got double lane road with speed limit 30km/h. No car on that road follow. If wanna cari makan on that road, really fatty.

• ex-VGM staff on Jan 18, 2017 at 4:05 pm

90kph because a lot of intersections and interchanges. some of PLUS busy interchanges have 90kph too. like USJ and Ayer Keroh.

• can we catch the emergency-lane-hogging cars in the pic?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 18, 2017 at 10:40 am

LOL THIS LOGIC…but anyway roads too jam for the speed limit also

• Hot dog on Jan 18, 2017 at 11:56 am

Jam like hell how to speeding !!!

• Speeding doesn't cause accidents on Jan 18, 2017 at 12:12 pm

But inconsiderate distracted drivers do. Driving slow on the fast lane, on the mobile phones, simply cutting into lanes without using their mirrors, let alone adjust the mirrors correctly to see the lanes next to you (Not behind you, that’s what the center rear view mirrors are for.)

In fact, there are studies that suggests that going too slowly on highways for long distances is actually more dangerous for drivers!

• Ex VGM staff on Jan 18, 2017 at 12:12 pm

Don’t worry. With all the jams, max u can go 20-30kmh only

• nabill (Member) on Jan 18, 2017 at 12:20 pm

Almost every year they propose this, n yet, every year’s accident n deaths are more than the previous year, so unless u r a special type of stupid wer u think this is gonna work with almost zero enforcement, n hope by magic it works… Thn better comeout with something else, something more holistic…im not sure what r those ppl’s qualifications are, wer they come up with the same crap every year… Untill wen we r gonna have those incompetent ppl holding high posts… UNTIL WHEN????

• speed limit for busses and lorries also same. so my small kancil next to bus is safer? or should i speed up a bit to stay away from this big vehicles?

• Bernard on Jan 18, 2017 at 1:04 pm

I do not think motorists in this country can be educated to follow the laws. Therefore its best to leave them be.

• GG WP on Jan 18, 2017 at 1:30 pm

Or… how about every driver not drive like a complete moron? Just saying.

• thepolygonal on Jan 18, 2017 at 1:55 pm

Congratulations on coming up with such a good idea. Please re-label all the speed limit signboard because not everyone will know. After CNY re-label again back to normal.

• Be very strict this time on emergency lane users. set up more roadblocks please. send them straight to court :)

• Karpal sinking on Jan 18, 2017 at 2:58 pm

Lol 100km/h.. doesn’t matter anyway, nobody will reach that speed with all the jam during the holiday

• Naik banyak, Turun sikit on Jan 18, 2017 at 3:20 pm

hahahahaha…….whatever the limit set, the dunggus drivers aint gonna listen…..until kaboom!!
    Typical malaysian…love living in regrets.

• Ben Yap on Jan 18, 2017 at 4:04 pm

when i draft behind a car with my road bike, i can go up to 80kmph and i still survive.

it’s not about the speed la.

• No more tolls then no massive jams at toll booths.
    Simple and easy