VIDEO: Police looking for ambulance-blocking driver

Malaysian police are searching for the driver of a Perodua Myvi, who had deliberately blocked the path of an ambulance while driving on the Federal Highway recently.

On January 25, Muhammad Ardan, a registered nurse, uploaded a dashcam video recording of the incident on Facebook, which was taken from inside an ambulance. In the video, the driver of the Myvi is clearly seen misusing the emergency lane, and refusing to give way to the emergency service vehicle, despite the blaring sirens.

At the 1:20 mark, the Myvi driver is seen almost causing a crash, when he or she suddenly made a lane change back into the emergency lane, forcing the ambulance to brake heavily.

In a report by NST, Selangor police chief Datuk Seri Abdul Samah Mat advised the driver to turn him or herself in as soon as possible. “We are investigating the case. Police will trace the identity of the driver and call him or her up, to facilitate our probe. I urge this driver to come forward voluntarily,” he said.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Hmm... Much Hmm... on Jan 27, 2017 at 4:19 pm

Yes! We need more of these videos!

Now to find the culprit and make their lives miserable.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 209 Thumb down 2
    • Myvi kaki kunta on Jan 28, 2017 at 11:45 am

Shall not block the ambulance, childish myvi kid who think he or she is pandai pandai. If the chlidish kid block those vvip that is rushing home for nothing by making use of the polis, then i got no comment.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 2
      • Kunta Kinte on Jan 29, 2017 at 5:08 pm

To be honest, nothing will happen to this guy. He will settle the matter either in the balai or courts.

Also, have you ever seen crooks and offenders serve prison sentence? So many people get sentenced but whether they go to jail is another story.

Offenders know this. They know they can settle matters in the balai or courts or even our prison system. That is why they continue doing the offence cause they know, if they do get caught by some freak chance, they can easily selesai the matter.

Until corruption is sorted out completely, you will see many offenders like this behaving like Al Capone and thinking they are indestructable like Ultra Man

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 13
        • Kutuk katak on Jan 30, 2017 at 9:45 am

Not all myvi driver is like that. Your post is your own opinion, lie in 16 and now lie in 17 again. Haha.

• Kenny on Feb 01, 2017 at 3:47 pm

Most of those MYVi you saw modified or upgraded like a sporty hatched does one way or another is a road hoggers.

• Look Chat on Jan 29, 2017 at 5:46 pm

What look look… JPJ tidur ka ? Work together with PDRM la… nonsense ! Gaji Buta saja oleh rakyat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
    • The Observer on Jan 29, 2017 at 8:47 am

In other countries, the polis is already at the house of the offender and have arrested him. In Malaysia, polis have to put out this info to tell the public they are searching for the offender.

Hello PDRM. It is so easy. Just go to JPJ and get details of the owner. Go to Kementerian Daftar also to check on the IC. Also, what happened to all the sophisticated camera system we spent billions on>

The camera system should identify where the offender has gone.

It is a very sad day to see what this Myvi has done. But this is the result of abuse by our authorities themselves. So, people also now follow and do havoc.

One fine example is polis escort. The law says only the Agong can have polis escort and outriders. But everyday we see hundreds of konon VIP having polis escort and stopping traffic.

Even banduan also got VIP service. Our PDRM is so lazy to get up early to take banduan for court case. So, all relax and makan nasi lemak and minum teh until last minute then rush the banduan every morning on the federal highway with VIP outriders to go to court.

This is why we create deviant drivers like this Myvi. He probably thinks it is okey to break the law like how the authorities break the law.

Oh, don’t forget abut the many Alphards who have outriders who go and kick cars if they don’t move in time. Many old people take time to move their cars. I have seen these outriders kicking the cars of old people because they want to make way for the VIP or Datuk to go through.

PDRM close an eye. Semua OK. Now you know why this Myvi driver also think he is above the law. What this guy did was the worst thing one can do ever. I hope he is prosecuted.

Authorities also need to show good example first to the rakyat. Many of the rakyat in Malaysia all look at their leaders as example.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 8
  • If I see this WA6502U anywhere I will give it a present.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 153 Thumb down 2
    • Stevie on Jan 27, 2017 at 7:04 pm

Muahaha..caught red handed surely this one go straight behind bars. Idiocy at its best.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
    • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Jan 27, 2017 at 7:31 pm

Myvi boy racer car clubber is crying in his room. Papa is going to cut myvi boy’s allowance. Naughty boy racer cannot belanja awek at Nando’s this month. Also Myvi boy is grounded cannot go to car club gathering at dataran shah alam tomorrow night. Myvi boy has to take RapidKL bus to college at section 13. Poor Myvi boy.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 2
      • Ah Beng TRD Vios godcar on Jan 28, 2017 at 4:59 am

MYvi, Alza. Whats the difference? 90% are amateur driving like idiots.

Get a real racecar like vios TRD if you want to race

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 57
  • Hayenadeblue on Jan 27, 2017 at 4:30 pm

To quote my son, “Adan uke!!!!!”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
  • Zaid Shaaya Basheer on Jan 27, 2017 at 4:32 pm

It had to be a Myvi.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 135 Thumb down 0
    • Normal lah Myvi always like that. No signal, always give problem to other drivers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
  • Goldie on Jan 27, 2017 at 4:40 pm

I have seen ambulance chasers often and this is the first time we have an ‘outrider’ for ambulance except that he almost caused a disaster. Maybe we should amend the law to impose a minimum RM 10000 or one month jail for offence causing obstruction to emergency vehicles, excluding VIP convoy rushing to parties.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 130 Thumb down 3
    • C S Lee on Jan 27, 2017 at 6:30 pm

Agree totally, agree with remark on vip rushing to parties. Thought out riders not allowed any more? No enforcement again?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • C. P. MOHAN on Jan 27, 2017 at 4:55 pm

Two words for this Myvi driver “disgusting opportunist”

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 0
  • heybadigol (Member) on Jan 27, 2017 at 4:56 pm

The Myvi’s tint looks quite dark too.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 0
  • GR187 on Jan 27, 2017 at 4:58 pm

Disrespectful useless driver, I hope the idiot will get dragged to court and fined heavily. That’s the only medicine for an idiot driver.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 2
  • Buruk la lagi nama Myvi lepas ni. Tak pasal² nanti Myvi lain pun kena.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 2
  • When ego is more important tham someone else live.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
  • lkf0512 on Jan 27, 2017 at 5:27 pm

The couple who harassed a Shah Alam City Council (MBSA) enforcement officer last year over a parking summon received 5 months jail.

Imagine this…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 1
  • C S Lee on Jan 27, 2017 at 6:28 pm

The vehicle registration is clear, jpj can give you the name, nric and address. No reason why the owner can’t be found. Flash it on TV and newspaper! There are many who drive worse than that. Get tough, that’s the only way. Better still nab the owner tonight – even if he or she is Chinese, I am Chinese too!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 2
  • WA6502U on Jan 27, 2017 at 7:03 pm

I think all ambulances should have a RPG at the front, to remove all the people abusing emergency lanes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • James on Jan 27, 2017 at 7:20 pm

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again. Can we just PLEASE, charge these people under attempted murder and if the person actually dies, charge them under murder. When news get out, people will not think about using emergency lanes anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
  • Paul Tan, can open a side for us to upload the video for those who always use the emergency lane without reason. So JPJ or PDRM can do the job thru this channel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 2
  • The driver should be banned from driving.

• yadda on Jan 27, 2017 at 7:45 pm

to give benefit of doubt, i think this guy is more of an idiot than an asshoel. He probably heard the ambulance and move to the left to give way as some emergency vehicle sometimes will use the middle in between lane. He must have panicked to find the ambulance right up his ass and tried to run away.And with all that commotions he couldn’t think straight or tried to move back into the correct lane..maybe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 36
    • Taylor on Jan 28, 2017 at 9:01 am

If so he or she is not fit to drive, license should be taken back and never drive again

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • Henry on Jan 28, 2017 at 9:47 am

He is an idiot and a..h.. He shouldn’t be driving on the emergency lane at all.

• Diss-illusions on Jan 28, 2017 at 12:21 pm

Are you the driver or somehow connected to the driver? There were several opportunities to get back into the normal lane but he didn’t and almost caused an accident. At the rate the ambulance had to brake, I wonder how it was for the paramedics at the back not to mention the patient.

• Lame excuse

• After this myvi will get my highbeam lamp

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
  • Annoyed on Jan 27, 2017 at 9:36 pm

I hope the driver realises his/her mistake and repent one day… Nah! I hope the bastard crashes… and suffer.

• Bernard on Jan 27, 2017 at 10:09 pm

I suggest life imprisonment for the driver . Send a strong message.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • Lpost on Jan 27, 2017 at 10:19 pm

Might be a clone plate reg

• Enzo611 on Jan 27, 2017 at 10:33 pm

What if the culprit has been found and then said not him/her that was driving at that time

• kadajawi (Member) on Jan 28, 2017 at 4:40 pm

That’s the problem. That’s why the ambulance should cause a crash with the driver… then can fully confirm it is him. Crash into him, let him get out, angrily, take a photo of his face, and drive off to do the job.

• Gantung lesen, blacklist the driver and the car owner, tarik kereta aswell.
    This is just plain stupid, high dadah kah budak tu?
    Putting other people’s life at risk for their own selfishness.

• Sub_zero on Jan 28, 2017 at 12:59 am

Time and times again were told, myvi driver are the worse driver in malaysia

• Myviismy6 on Jan 28, 2017 at 11:52 pm

Its the car which is garbage, manufactured by Pukidua, Lagi Power, Lagi MAMPUS.
      Not all Myvi drivers are like that. In fact, there are many good drivers in KL and Selangor who drive safely using an unfortunate Myvi.
      Condemn Pukidua but not Malaysians drivers who cant afford other Japanese or German cars due to Highest Car Taxes in world after Singapore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
  • The driver has to go to jail for this. what a selfish a**hole! Everyone should look out for this myvi WA6502U

• redcross on Jan 28, 2017 at 7:15 am

hmm 1st question is the ambulance really emergency or just blasting siren to avoid the jam ^^

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 23
    • Cindy on Jan 31, 2017 at 5:34 pm

Doesn’t matter. Always have positive thinking. That’s all.

• He/she should not be allowed to contribute his or her genetic to the human genetic pool

• TheDean on Jan 28, 2017 at 8:43 am

Here’s the thing:
    (1) how come I only see ambulances with blazing sirens during heavy traffic? Many suspect these ambulances are ’empty’.
    (2) emergency lanes are for all to use. Maybe the Myvi driver was responding to a serious emergency at home, or was transporting a really sickened child. Or maybe he/she was having a really serious stomach ache lol.
    (3) In all fairness, the car was trying to go back to the right making way for the ambulance but was suddenly halted by the traffic in front.

In all likelihood though, it did look like a menace taking advantage of the lane and driving recklessly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 63
    • LatukBandar on Jan 28, 2017 at 3:47 pm

You must be the black MyVi driver…. right?

• Myvitoo on Jan 28, 2017 at 4:32 pm

Are you myvi driver?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • kadajawi (Member) on Jan 28, 2017 at 4:42 pm

No, emergency lanes are NOT for all to use. Sickened child, call the bloody ambulance. That’s what they are there for. The only time where normal people can use the emergency lane is when the car breaks down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
      • TheDean on Feb 03, 2017 at 11:23 am

Wait until YOUR child or loved one goes into seizures and see whether you’d wait for an ambulance or drive yourself. By law, it’s for ALL to use.

• James Dean on Jan 29, 2017 at 6:51 pm

TheDean , don’t talk like rubbish because in the ambulance not your family , after this if your family got emergency no need call hospital to send ambulance , hantar sendiri lo

• redidiot on Jan 28, 2017 at 8:57 am

revoke his/hers licence and ban driving/riding for life. mandatory emergency lane cleaning (comunity service)for life.

• Ampulan on Jan 28, 2017 at 9:45 am

Dear all…. pls remember the plate number. In future if this car accident n the driver taken by ambulance…. kita block ramai2….. biar 8 jam baru sampai hospital. Serve him/her right….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
  • GTi-R on Jan 28, 2017 at 11:30 am

Generation slowflake.. this is to be expected from them

• Clean Slate on Jan 28, 2017 at 12:25 pm

The motorcyclist at 1:30 also overtook the ambulance and why is it not using the bike lane.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Jan 28, 2017 at 4:53 pm

No no no. You don’t get to question kapchai using emergency lane, not paying toll and weaving between cars while honking at you. They have right of way in ALL circumstances and when accident, you pay for your bent fender AND the kapchai’s repair, clinic bill and KFC. Kapchais are NEVER wrong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • The problem is that driving licence are easy to get and difficult to loose…. It should be the other way around.

• kadajawi (Member) on Jan 28, 2017 at 4:38 pm

Malaysian ambulances need a) more power and b) a reinforced front, like a bull bar. Then the driver could have just rammed the Myvi. No need for an ambulance to pick that driver up if he gets injured.

Hope he gets some jail time.

• Megane on Jan 28, 2017 at 5:36 pm

Myvi lagi – driven by many psychos . Suspesion keras mcm table leg Ikea . Keta gampang keluaran Perodua .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • James Choo on Jan 29, 2017 at 10:06 am

Catch that bloody idiotic moron throw the book at him or her better.

• jumihumu on Jan 30, 2017 at 7:13 pm

Other Myvis are best only.
    This Myvi ini paling best!

• wendy on Jan 31, 2017 at 12:03 am

another typical myvi driver..

• The fact we are saying that ‘Myvi drivers are like this’ does bring a chill up my spine…the fact of the matter is..dunno if some realise it here but it’s been the best selling car in the country for years and this means it represents the majority of drivers on our roads which means that most drivers in Malaysia have a third world mentality and are not fit to be operating a machine as complex as a car.. ..

that’s a scary thought if you think about it.. if we remember..just over 10-15 years ago..we use to label waja/wira drivers in this bracket and those 2 cars sold really really well… nothing’s changed…

On another note..the fact that more drivers use this model will increase the likelihood of encountering an idiot behind the wheel on the balance of probability…so there’s that as well..

• Levin on Jan 31, 2017 at 6:42 pm

Anyone noticed the sticker on the myvi’s rear windscreen? It reads “KRJstickers” which can be easily searched on Facebook. I’m guessing the car owner is from Klang area.

• MenteriPerikananTimorLeste on Feb 03, 2017 at 1:12 pm

LOL
    Everybody though it’s a young driver (called biy/girl)
    It turns out to be a 58-year-old taxi driver with some “saving my ass” excuse. We can read the way he drives. So called emergency to get his medicine. ROFL