Prime minister Najib Razak approves RM30 million allocation for new race track in Sungai Petani, Kedah

Prime minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak has approved an allocation of RM30 million to build a race circuit in Sungai Petani, Kedah, according to a report by The Star.

“The track will benefit the youth, there will be no more need for Mat Rempit to race on the streets. They can race all they want on a track then,” he said during a programme with Gen-Y youths recently.

The idea for a race track in the northern state was mooted back in 2014, when then Kedah chief minister Datuk Seri Mukhriz Tun Dr Mahathir proposed plans to build a 1.6-km race circuit on a 70-hectare site in Sungai Petani.

Expected to be completed in 2016 or 2017, the original project is said to feature a race track, off-road course, drag strip, grandstand and hill stand seating, a paddock building and retail premises. It will also seek recognition from the FIA (International Automobile Federation) and FIM (Federation of International Motorcycling).

More details about the race circuit will be revealed by current Kedah chief minister Datuk Seri Ahmad Bashah Md Hanipah at a later date, including its expected launch date.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 13, 2017 at 4:51 pm

projek bazir wang

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 192 Thumb down 18
    • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 256
      • Pointless. Mat rempit and big bike riders all they want to do are high speed. They want a 20km highway stretch.. Not a circuit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • thepolygonal on Feb 14, 2017 at 9:38 am

Wait… I think it’s actually a hidden airfield right? You smart government you…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • ringgit masih jatuh…..buatlah project yang berfaedah…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 191 Thumb down 9
  • Ah Kow on Feb 13, 2017 at 5:06 pm

I don’t see how by building a race track all the way up north in Kedah would help curb “Mat Rempit” to race on streets.
    I do NOT see any relation to it, in fact it might encourage more rempit on streets.

#MalaysiaBoleh

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 125 Thumb down 10
    • Albert on Feb 13, 2017 at 7:31 pm

If rempits want a proper race track,then they should have gone to underutilised Sepang circuit.
      The fact is,they want the thrill of being watched at their convenience n in the wee hrs of the morning.
      They dont want RULES.tHEY RATHER DIE suddenly without rules.
      Just like the movies,FAST AND FURIOUS.
      No body wants to travel 85km to Sepang to be at these illegal races.
      The rm30 million is to make cronies happy as projects r hard to come by.
      You might as well 1000 such tracks,but the rempits still prefer STREET RACING.thEY R NOT KEEN ON MOTO GPs.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 3
      • Ah Kow on Feb 14, 2017 at 9:48 am

How is building a race track beneficial to our country?
        Building a race track will not be any safer for us rakyats.

Waste of time, waste resources WASTE TAXPAYERS MONEYYYYYY!!!!

How is this decision even possible with our country’s financial situation?

#Gomenfailfinance

• thepolygonal on Feb 13, 2017 at 5:06 pm

Nowadays figures like 30 mil is allocated to build a race track… looks like still splashing out money. Indeed GST has made the government VERY rich. I hope the long term plan brings great benefits to the country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 3
  • sohhai on Feb 13, 2017 at 5:11 pm

Got money to build useless race tracks but no money for the chinese schools or higher education

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 101 Thumb down 12
    • Donkey Kong on Feb 13, 2017 at 6:37 pm

Not surprised at all …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • anti racist on Feb 14, 2017 at 9:26 am

no need to be racist la. why need chinese school when we have thousand of sekolah kebangsaan. everybody can go there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 33
      • Hot dog on Feb 14, 2017 at 10:41 am

Nowadays many Malay parents send thier childrens to Chinese school..History book doese teach us The hero Hang Tuah, princess Langkawi Mahsury, all the prime minister Malaysia..my primary 2 son’ s book ask who the current prime minister ! School no teach you racist, school educate knowledge , skill …China now became strong, i propose you send your childrens to chinese school !! Rich malay parents send young children to England….global phomenon !

• Uberian on Feb 14, 2017 at 4:19 pm

People should have choice in their education. If sekolah kebangsaan are as good as International schools, vernacular schools will die on its own due to the lack of enrollment. Right now, the demand is high because of the failure of Sekolah Kebangsaan. Stop the victim mentally. I fail because they pro (typical tongkat mentality). Instead of killing the competition, how about start improving yourself and stop whining?

• Yeap … all those in KL, Malaca and johor is gonna go down to Kedah for the race and then come back …

Brilliant minds

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
    • Donno on Feb 13, 2017 at 8:11 pm

your coments clearly shows you are talking rubbish. tracks are not just for “race”. it is to enjoy riding or driving your cars and motorcycles at full potential. if you think sepang has no one going there, just go there any day of the week. there would be track days for cars and bikes, and many small capacity bikes do go out for track days in sepang. those in kl, melacca and johor already have their own tracks at their hometown, and if you don’t know about that, clearly you are not those going to trackdays anyway. everyone has their own interest, i don’t go golfing, flying or yachting/boating but i don’t bash those who do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 67
  • Andrekua on Feb 13, 2017 at 5:22 pm

One day say mat rempit done for, next day will build a track for them.

Rempit may have caused headache for us but for PM, time to buy some votes ahead of next GE.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 1
  • lilytan on Feb 13, 2017 at 5:25 pm

Better approve Dego ride at least the boys can make use their bikes to earn money rather than racing in circles n waste money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
  • Sgt Scoop on Feb 13, 2017 at 5:26 pm

I’m glad the government is spending my tax money on mat Rempits rather than the roads I drive on or the schools my children go to. We’ve got to make sure that these work-shy young men have every luxury in life.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 2
  • edycno420 on Feb 13, 2017 at 5:29 pm

as tho’ the mat rempits will make use of the tracks. LOL. i doubt it. Personally, i have been “rempeting” during my younger days, but the difference between rempeting on the racing tracks and the highways/busy roads etc, there is no “thrill” in racing at the tracks. So, this is clearly a waste of money. The mat rempits will only probably use the tracks for a short period of time, and then return back to the streets. Believe me.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 1
  • gIGoN on Feb 13, 2017 at 5:30 pm

Why can’t they do it in KL? Of all places why Kedah??

• Donno on Feb 13, 2017 at 8:03 pm

if you are in kl, you got the elite circuit, sepang, melacca mimc to go, so why aren’t you at those circuits yet???. johoreans got pasir gudang and later fastrack. so why not kedah? if you are not in the scene, please don’t be kepoh. tracks are for car enthusiasts too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 34
    • People in the city are smart enough that a race track doesn’t fix the ailing economy, free falling Ringgit and ballooned debt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • Ben Yap on Feb 13, 2017 at 5:42 pm

better use that money to subsidize our petrol. not that this rempit contribute to country even after RM30 mil spend.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
  • Mat rempit on Feb 13, 2017 at 6:08 pm

Be positive.. Focus on the issue not the people executing it. You say things because of so much hate in you. Give credit where credit is due.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 69
  • So waste money. 30mils can sponsor so many scholarships for our own rakyat’s education.
    Besides that, there is 1 more question that the PM has not answered us all. What are the charges to use the track ? If it is so expensive like Sepang track, you think most of the youths can afford to use the track ? Then this will become a white elephant project since the rempits will continue to terrorize the streets due to unable to afford to race using the track.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 0
  • saladin on Feb 13, 2017 at 6:25 pm

Buat pusat kesihatan lagi bagus. Ape ke jadah buat race track utk merempit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
  • A ploy to garner young voters support. Wont materialized

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • Bernard on Feb 13, 2017 at 7:45 pm

It is quite obvious that the authorities do not understand the rempits….and is 30million tax payers money?!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • Henry on Feb 13, 2017 at 7:53 pm

A cuckoo idea.

• Mokmok on Feb 13, 2017 at 8:20 pm

Have anybody been to Pasir Gudang Race Track? Only big bikes would take it on the track, mostly Singaporeans.. Kapchais? They prefer the traffic lights next to the track. Can’t the government at least see their mistakes made?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
  • Err…if go by the theory KL, Melacca, Johor should not have Mat Rempit problem. Come on, just said is for Mat Rempit’s Uncle and Antie pocket.

• Noob Racer on Feb 14, 2017 at 12:21 am

So, after spending 30m to build it, which party will be maintaining it? Government continue to spend money maintaining a very expensive race track? Or outsource to kroni-kroni and konco-konco?

If Government will continue to spend money maintaining it, why want to waste that money? You have better issues to solve using that money.

If outsource, meaning kroni will charge expensive track day fees. How can the mat rempit afford to race in the track? Using BR1M? If they can already afford to race in the track, they won’t be on the street of Klang Valley already, there are ELITE, Sepang etc. So since they cannot afford, how do you solve the mat rempit problem?

Total failed

• Alexander the great gay on Feb 14, 2017 at 12:45 am

Encouraging more youngster racing to afterlife soon.

• ae101 on Feb 14, 2017 at 12:58 am

Rempit is all about thrilling race to win girl, sex, money and audience attention. Long time back majalah 3 already interviewed many of them. They don’t really like to race at track. Why waste 30mil buta buta?

• David Tan on Feb 14, 2017 at 9:09 am

Why not add this fund to healthcare and education? perhaps sport like football, dive or maybe badminton.

• Geeta Mohan on Feb 14, 2017 at 9:39 am

This is good news for Sungai Petani. We need it badly. Thank you.
    I wonder why I have a hard time getting to comment in Paultan articles. If this goes through its weird.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • pengayuhbasikal on Feb 14, 2017 at 9:56 am

Tanah mana mahu dikorbankan di Kedah ?

• leong on Feb 14, 2017 at 10:27 am

race track is useless as f1 not continue in sepang, and the sepang track is good enough for this people to race that and safe. do spend the 30 millions on engineering development or something to make RM better value

• Once Mat Rempit got self-train on the track, Next level is to prove on the public road and get applause and thus entitle to be daredevil among their gang.

• This is the problem when any project is approved by one man. And then what? Charge all the youth who want to try the track? Safety issue here, hello? Where is the case study? For god sake please make sure all spending is provent to be benificial. We have too many failed project afterall

• kereta_lembu on Feb 15, 2017 at 12:42 pm

Clearly these people have NO idea what Mat Rempits are about. Racing is only one part of their agenda. They like to ride in huge numbers, often with a ring leader and they will ride like their father owns the road and often break traffic rules like run red lights, stop in the middle of the road, blocking traffic and intimidate other road users.

They don’t always speed, sometimes they specialize in riding super slowly and hogging all the lanes possibly to show off that they are above the law and that other road users better back off and let them do their thing.

Now, tell me how would a racing circuit stop these Mat Rempits?

• Phil L. on Feb 15, 2017 at 1:42 pm

Racetracks?

Is it free to enter? Then who pay the maintainence?

Collect entrance fees? Mat Rempit got money meh?

• Deadpool on Feb 15, 2017 at 2:27 pm

omfg this stupid act. you think those rempits will travel that far? they just want to show off their useless skills on street to put themselves and others in danger. waste of our money. cb ahjib, hope u get knocked by one of the rempits.

• Project gajah putih juga lo.buang duit objective se benar tak akan di capai.sikap,denda tangkapan yg perlu di ubah Dan ditingkatkan.

• gearone on Mar 25, 2017 at 6:00 am

Well there is very mixed comments indeed regarding this and i have to say everyone of you have very valid comments from many different angles,

Having spent 16 years in professional motorsport and seen how it creates jobs / supporting industry of small to medium business size there is real opportunity for the local economy to enjoy benefits of this new project, also looking at channeling the energy of the young street racers to see that they can turn there excessive passion in to a career if education is given, part of any racing circuit implementation is job creation and education this is certainly something that can be brought to this project, TOC in KL has some great motorsport course’s and with not enough opportunity for youngster to use the skills they learn, this is one more potential outlet for them and many more to develop skills to give them opportunities overseas.

Malaysia has got really great opportunities to create new industry’s within South East Asia and projects like this are starting points, The history of Malaysian motorsport is absolutely wonderful an don par with some of British and European activities back in the 1940 to 1960……………………………………….
    Some early local racers, such as Lim Peng Han and Osman Abbas, also competed at the Johore Grand Prix, a 3.7km long circuit running through the Johor Bahru town, in the early fifties.
    The Johore Grand Prix, first held in 1940 and ended in 1969, was one of the oldest races in Malaya.

I personally I hope that those glory days return and dare i say it who would love to see a TT at Langkawi the most amazing island in the world.
    Imagine TT riders from the legendary isle of man competing at an event in Langkawi

Lets hope its the success Malaysia deserves and the start of a new industry and growth in the north of what is an amazing country……