DBKL to implement motorcycle zones at traffic lights

Kuala Lumpur City Hall (DBKL) will be running trials on a new system that will see special motorcycle stop zones being implemented at certain traffic lights, Bernama reports.

These zones – which will be painted in red and white – will be the designated stop area for motorcyclists, who will not be allowed to stop anywhere outside the zone at these lights. Other motorists will have to stop their vehicles behind the specified motorcycle zone.

Kuala Lumpur mayor Datuk Mhd Amin Nordin Abd Aziz said this restructuring is to improve overall traffic safety and provide better facilities for motorcycles stop in a safe condition. “Each zone will be able to accommodate more than 20 motorcycles at one time,” he explained.

He said the motorcycle zones will initially be implemented at three locations – Jalan Raja Laut, Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman and Jalan Tun Perak. He added that several other locations to establish such facilities have been identified.

Mhd Amin Nordin said DBKL will run the system for a three-month trial period starting from this month for road users to get accustomed to the new traffic restructuring. After the trial period, motorists who fail to comply with the directive will be fined between RM50 and RM100, he said.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• nabill (Member) on Mar 16, 2017 at 10:09 am

Ya… Good luck.. They hardly stop for a traffic light… I dont think those my-father’s-roads big bickers will follow either…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 4
    • Saman dulu. Motorsikal parking atas kaki lima

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
      • Who cares about the rules? My Gen 2 driven against traffic flow also can what

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • Ah Kow on Mar 16, 2017 at 3:37 pm

Saman penunggang yang tunggang motosikal kat kaki lima.

• likapop on Mar 16, 2017 at 11:07 am

They should implement this to all the roads in KL. Don’t they know how hard it is for the pedestrians to cross the road because the bikes are waiting on the zebra crossing while waiting for the traffic light? Sometimes there are also stupid cars waiting on the zebra crossing.

Don’t they realize that it is the only chance for the pedestrians to cross the road? Please think for others too… Don’t be so selfish please.

It’s about time all the motorists to have 1st class mentality and get civilized. It means nothing if you’re riding a nice bikes or cars but you don’t have respect to those pedestrians.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 0
      • agreed with those cars/bus/bikes that stop & block zebra crossing for pedestrian to cross.Furthermore, those cross junction where the left lane which allows cars/bike to drive even when traffic light are red (Sultan Ismail junction next to renaissance hotel)….very difficult for pedestrian to cross.

• donno on Mar 16, 2017 at 2:45 pm

If that zone is full of where is the rest of the motorcycles have to stop?

• hock202 on Mar 16, 2017 at 7:16 pm

Start enforcement on vehicles stopping in yellow boxes, running red light etc etc etc.
        Also catch those motorcyclist using the highways where motorcycle lanes exist.

• Elchino on Mar 16, 2017 at 10:11 pm

Yes, you can have all the rules but without any enforcement, this proposal is doomed to fail. Yes, have you started to summon those vehicles waiting inside the yellow boxes.

• kzm (Member) on Mar 16, 2017 at 11:53 am

pipu mentality hard to be change.. u can have every rules n laws but if mentality not change not nothing will change.

• But pipu think they can change things w/o changing mentality. Aneh tapi benar.

• alldisc on Mar 16, 2017 at 10:10 am

hahaha many car drivers even stop in yellow box. how not to stop in m/cycle box?

but most importantly- in the 20 m/cyclists there will be one 2-3 slow bikers.. aiyohh.. tension

• theplanner on Mar 16, 2017 at 11:13 am

Motorcyclists already using pedestrian zones when stop at traffic lights. Why waste more $$$ to paint ?

• longjaafar on Mar 16, 2017 at 10:12 am

I still cannot understand why cars cannot wait for the traffic lights in the designated box. They have to go forward, sometimes a whole car length after the line. How much time do they gain?

• Johnson Amigo on Mar 16, 2017 at 2:56 pm

not every car equipped with Brembo brakes, sometimes when the car stopped the best is right on the designated box, those can’t make it just langgar the red light..

• nazrid mohd on Mar 16, 2017 at 10:16 am

its about time

• C. P. MOHAN on Mar 16, 2017 at 10:25 am

I would call this as ‘REINVENTING THE WHEEL

• Hijau on Mar 16, 2017 at 10:55 am

Larangan “kapcai” memasuki KL harap diawalkan. Langkah ini amat berkesan bagi mengurangkan kadar pelepasan karbon dalam bandar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
      • ..are u nuts! just imagine if all motorbike rider decided to drive car in KL. MASSIVE TRAFFIC JAM!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
        • the alternative is to take MRT, not drive..those who still choose to drive should be charged a congestion fee to enter the city.

• Michelin on Mar 16, 2017 at 11:17 pm

Bangang! Asap bas sama lori lagi teruk dari asap moto la..

• likapop on Mar 16, 2017 at 11:05 am

They should implement this to all the roads in KL. Don’t they know how hard it is for the pedestrians to cross the road because the bikes are waiting on the zebra crossing while waiting for the traffic light? Sometimes there are also stupid cars waiting on the zebra crossing.

Don’t they realize that it is the only chance for the pedestrians to cross the road? Please think for others too… Don’t be so selfish please.

It’s about time all the motorists to have 1st class mentality and get civilized. It means nothing if you’re riding a nice bikes or cars but you don’t have respect to those pedestrians.

• flawed system on Mar 16, 2017 at 10:27 am

This is nothing new. If not mistaken, there were several motorcycle zones including one in Bukit Bintang, right in front of Pavilion KL. 20 motorcycles? Is it enough to cater for the peak hours? Fine for just RM50 and RM100? More like coffee money isn’t it? Unless the enforcement is reform and the fine is increase to RM5,000 and RM10,000, that would make sense. Again, nothing new

• Penunggang motosikal tidak berhenti di lampu isyarat, nampak lampu kuning tekan minyak lagi kuat…Penunggang motosikal hanya pentingkan diri sendiri, tidak berdisiplin, kurang kesedaran sivik

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
    • Harith on Mar 16, 2017 at 8:53 pm

It is true that some idiot motorcyclist (kapcais or big bikers) who simply drive through the red lights but not all of them are that way. How about drivers who did the same? Are they really not selfish, disciplined and civilised? People are complaining about this and that. And those authorities try to implement so many things but decided to let it be after a while. How can such nation even prosper with people like us? Denouncing people as “kurang kesedaran sivik”, what does that make you? From my point of view, those who ridicule others are the same.

• superdriver on Mar 16, 2017 at 10:56 am

No need ar…sure after 3-4 months no one bother. Ask the motorcycle driver to not modify their exhaust. The sound is extremely loud and annoying and hurts the hearing of people with hearing difficulty and the elderly. DBKL please fine them for noise pollution. Ask them to stop horning their bikes each time they go through the mid of lanes between cars. Seriously its the car drivers road too. Don’t want to wait between cars in the rain or the sun then get car. Very simple, you get to travel with your family much safer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
    • Johnson Amigo on Mar 16, 2017 at 2:58 pm

same goes to the ferrari lambo drivers with loud exhaust noise, fine them as well.

• david on Mar 16, 2017 at 11:15 am

i hope they remember to relocate the ground sensors for traffic light.

• Klman on Mar 16, 2017 at 11:21 am

We can have the best system in the world and the best law in the world, if it wasn’t implemented in a corrupt free manner, it’ll go down the drain.

• Bernard on Mar 16, 2017 at 11:48 am

Hahahahahaha you think they will follow??? Does DBKL know what type of specimen they are dealing with, any idea at all??

• Mikey on Mar 16, 2017 at 5:18 pm

U are absolutely right. This is all talking Kok only. Just like the last time Ku Nan said – To Ban Kapcai from KL. It will end up with file closed. No Further Action(NFA). He he he.

• fail

• John Cooper on Mar 16, 2017 at 12:14 pm

Waste of money on such initiatives because many motorbikes do not even stop when the light is red, they like to beat the lights. On the RM50-100 fine, who is there to monitor? If the motorbikes could not be caught for beating the red lights, could the authorities catch them for failing to stop inside the box? haha haha haha

• Aniki Tan on Mar 16, 2017 at 12:19 pm

I think Malaysia is the only one that encourage motorcyclists to continue making the road unsafe to other motorists, soon they will design high speed lane for motorcyclists to speed during traffic jam hours in between actual lanes and emergency lane. they never thinking of enforce the law to ensure road safety to all motorists. look at how singapore manage and enforce the law, even the motorcyclists know have to drive within the lane, not between the lanes and thought it’s their high speed lane during traffic jam hours and stop behind the traffic light like others vehicles. if you see motorcycles stopping in front of the traffic lights, those are malaysian drivers. as i know singaporean drivers will break the rules in malaysia as well, so it is not singaporean or malaysian who behave well, but the government that enforcing the law well.

• Regina nava on Jul 07, 2023 at 10:52 pm

Yes…a trial peroid wth the supervision of the police at evry traffic light in the city. Monitor n teach like wat Spore did…aftr 3 months ..fine them hevily if rules r broken…malsysians hv to learn…frm Japan n Spore….hw to control.

• applegreen on Mar 16, 2017 at 12:38 pm

Datuk Bandar:”If motorcyclist still dont wanna stop, we will implement net spike. At red light the spike automatically goes up. Siapa tayar pancit padan muka!”

• Ah Kow on Mar 16, 2017 at 5:01 pm

I prefer automatic rising bollards barrier like in Rome, Italy

• Hate Rempit Forever on Mar 16, 2017 at 12:58 pm

Banning them from the city will not be a bad idea. Bad arse do not stop at traffic lights. I got laughed by my UK colleague once with the way they zip-zapping their bikes, and the worst part when skipping the red traffic lights by crossing over and running against the traffic.

• mat zambri on Mar 16, 2017 at 1:37 pm

Just install camera’s at all traffic lights and don’t be alarmed by the amount of offences committed every minute.
    You are dealing with zero IQ zero EQ & zero courtesy category of beasts.
    No amount of fine can deter them unless the authorities take a tougher stance.

• Don’t waste money for Bus, Teksi, Motorcycle and Bicycle zone, more important is emergency zone, Ambulance got no way to run in KL, in Bangkok, I saw the Ambulance just jam like other and stuck in traffic more than 15 minutes, sure the patient inside got more suffer on this, hopefully this will not repeat in in KL.

• Ah Kow on Mar 16, 2017 at 3:55 pm

Before you all paint the road, PLEASE ALSO ENCOURAGE car drivers to GIVE WAY for MOTORCYCLIST to pass through easily. Scoop towards the right and let the motorcyclist pass through the most LEFT LANE.

Don’t you all drivers find it annoying when motorcyclist passes by your car like some maze and it feels like they will be ripping off your side mirror???

Therefore, drivers please give them ample space on your left hand side while wait for traffic light or stuck in jams
    And motorcyclist please keep left and don’t go in between cars like some maze, cause it is dangerous you yourself.

• Ahmad on Mar 16, 2017 at 4:02 pm

To all gengster motorcyclist out there, please do not honk or kick the car who is trying to change lane while stuck in a traffic or waiting for traffic light.

You think your grandfather road arh.
    Changing lane is not an offence mind you all.

But I don’t think it is safe for you and the road users when you’re speeding in between cars stuck in traffic or waiting for trafficlight.

• Askedu on Mar 16, 2017 at 4:54 pm

Why car need to change lane during traffic jam?

You think your grandmother road arh?
      Changing lane is not an offence but very annoying not only to bikers but other driver as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
      • To explain your stupidity.

If a driver exit from the left lane, and want to make a U-turn all the way at the right lane, how am I suppose to make a U-turn when the road has 3lanes with a traffic light filled with cars as the driver exits into the road if the driver don’t change lanes?

If this makes you annoyed, I suggest you better not drive.

• Askedu on Mar 22, 2017 at 2:44 am

To also explain your stupidity (please read carefully statement by Amad), in real life situation car drivers always change lane/zigzag not to u-turn or turning somewhere but to ‘go faster’ than others esp. during traffic jam. This is very dangerous not only to bikers but also to other car driver. Hope you (John & Amad) who like to ‘suka-suka hati’ change lane doesn’t even exist in this world!

• Normally traffic jam is because of peak hours and someone accident in front. Of course everyone wants to avoid the obstacle.
        Even we car drivers give 1 bike space in between 2 lanes, alot of bikers like to overtake each other and force other cars to give space, although car also got limited space. In Malay, this is call ” Beri betis hendak peha” . In the end, when not enough space, you ppl will hit the car side mirror and run away like a chicken. Eih, come on, why bike cannot ride in single line ? After all, you people dont pay toll in all highway in klang valley. Peak hours at Kesas highway, so many bikes dont want to use the bike lane. Want to squeeze in together with the cars. Accident then blame the car, by right you shouldn’t be in the car lane in the first place.

• Ah Kow on Mar 17, 2017 at 10:17 am

That is why we need to educate these ignorant motorcyclist.
          The authority is at fault too for not educating the road users and enforcing proper laws.

That is why normally during jams or waiting for traffic light I will scoop over to my right closer to the car beside until it is impossible for motorbikes to cross.Giving them a clear way on my left.

I hope other considerate road users out there can follow this habit. :)

• Aniki Tan on Mar 18, 2017 at 1:18 pm

no use one, even if you squeeze to most left or most right, some idiots still force their way through or honk you even though we make it clear that there is another big way from the other side

• Kopio on Mar 16, 2017 at 8:56 pm

how you expect me to know all this? when I take my b2 undang never have all this zone zone…

• Susukotak on Mar 17, 2017 at 6:09 am

I tought this idea should come from miros if not jpj. All road label… marking should be from them and gazzatted. We have foreign road builder with all ‘main taram’ marking. After 1st marking not work.. they pun another marking w/out remove the 1st 1

• Look at federal highway, there is motorcycle Lane, but people still like squeeze with the car and put their life in danger zone.

• Ahmad on Mar 17, 2017 at 10:00 am

I wish to clarify if the motorcyclists have the rights not to use the dedicated motorcycle lane?

• Lau ya on Mar 26, 2017 at 8:42 pm

If you ride a motorcycle and get hit by a car on federal highway, you don’t have a case. You insurance won’t pay you. Just like you get hit by a car for not using the overhead bridge when crossing the road.
        Don’t even talk about federal highway, if you pass the toll using the Lorry lane instead of dedicated motorcycle passtru, and accident happen, gone case also.

• Askedu on Mar 22, 2017 at 2:50 am

Have you ride along the Federal Highway motorcycle lane? If not then dont be shy to try for urself.

• Lau ya on Mar 26, 2017 at 8:50 pm

You have a reason doesn’t make it legal. You don’t create your own law. If I don’t have money can I rob from you? no. So motorcycle is suppose to stay in the correct lane. Period.

• Mr Suka Syukur Selalu on Mar 17, 2017 at 1:36 pm

BDKL themselves macam hantu. They park their cars and truck on the curb and walkways…..

• Faris on Mar 17, 2017 at 3:58 pm

Cars don’t even stop before the white guide line … Fix that first would you DBKL ?

• Justbuzzoff on Apr 20, 2017 at 2:36 pm

Car drivers learn to stay in your lanes then bikes need not zig-zag.