Mitsubishi Triton updated for M’sia – 7 airbags, Active Stability Control standard for Adventure variants

The Mitsubishi Triton has been updated for the Malaysian market, which sees the introduction of additional features as well as minor design changes to the pick-up truck.

We start with the VGT Adventure and VGT Adventure X variants of the Triton G, which receives a significant boost to its safety package. New standard items include seven airbags (dual front, side, curtain and driver’s knee), Active Stability Control with traction control (also added to other VGT variants), Hill Start Assist, Trailer Sway Control and automatic speed-sensing door locks.

Inside, the manually-adjustable driver’s seat has been replaced with an electric powered one that adjusts for height, slide and recline. Elsewhere, the rear view mirror now comes with an auto-dimming function as well.

On to a more encompassing change, the new Triton variants we sighted at Mid Valley – VGT Adventure, VGT Adventure X and VGT AT 4×4 – all come with a new four-spoke, leather-wrapped, multifunction steering wheel that replaces the previous three-spoke design. Additionally, the front grille on the VGT and VGT Adventure variants are finished in gunmetal chrome, and the latter gets new side steps as well.

All variants with the VGT designation will continue to be powered by a 2.4 litre MIVEC turbodiesel engine with 181 PS at 3,500 rpm and 430 Nm of torque at 2,500 rpm. The mill is paired with Mitsubishi’s Easy Select 4WD system and a five-speed automatic transmission exclusively on Adventure and VGT AT 4×4 variants, while a six-speed manual is reserved for the VGT MT 4×4.

We’ll know more details about what’s new with the Triton range in Malaysia when it is officially launched this coming Friday, including if there are any changes to the pricing for the pick-up truck model. Stay tuned.

GALLERY: Mitsubishi Triton VGT Adventure X AT 4×4

GALLERY: Mitsubishi Triton VGT Adventure AT 4×4

GALLERY: Mitsubishi Triton VGT AT 4×4

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Joshua on Apr 05, 2017 at 5:05 pm

finally….

• Basheer on Apr 06, 2017 at 12:11 pm

Ford Ranger 3.2L WildTrak Jet Black > All

• Hen Chic Roast on Apr 06, 2017 at 3:57 pm

Meanwhile Toyota decided to upgrade their Hilux by sticking more plastic stickers and colourful body stripe…

• passion on Apr 05, 2017 at 5:11 pm

finally stability control!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • voseh on Apr 05, 2017 at 5:33 pm

7 airbags…more than vios

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • Vladimir on Apr 05, 2017 at 11:57 pm

Not everything is about vios. Couldn’t a comment be just about this car. The triton. Yes it is obviously more than the vios. What’s new? Good step forward mmc. Tq.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
      • Mikey on Apr 06, 2017 at 10:54 am

Must bash something or someone otherwise cannot sleep tonight. That is why there are many comments ….. sorry I mean bashing. It’s OK bro, just let them let off some steam otherwise there will be more road rage. Cheers …

• Ben Yap on Apr 05, 2017 at 5:41 pm

this car is so powerful that it can smoke a bezza and saga easily.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
  • msmar on Apr 05, 2017 at 6:01 pm

IMHO
    new face for a new Pajero Sport is more stylish and futuristic.
    Question: When MMM will launch the new Pajero Sport?
    Now, a new Fortuner is more often seen on the road even tough the price nearly at RM200k

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 05, 2017 at 6:38 pm

Hell its about time

• Finally with safety control.

• Eternalgl0ry on Apr 05, 2017 at 7:33 pm

Finally they brought in vsc for them. Triton will the best for the price in malaysia now. Even the top spec comes with the bedliner cover

While other car manufacturer still did not include it. It cost around 3-5 thousand for the cover

• Fedap on Apr 05, 2017 at 7:35 pm

This is a slap in face for those who bought Triton Adventure before this no?

• jonibbbbb on Apr 06, 2017 at 10:18 pm

@Fedap, I beg to differ. All car brands will try to improve their products as frequent as possible due to competition and market needs. You cannot expect car brands to keep the same specs forever.

• tkhengong on Apr 07, 2017 at 11:16 am

That’s a sad fact of buying newly launched cars. The question is “do you want to be first to own a brand new model, enjoy being in the spotlight and the envious look of passing motorists?” If your answer is “yes”, then there is always a downside and you be prepared to take a hit in the car price, features or freebies a couple of months down the road. On hindsight, I would have saved RM20K+ if I bought my 2016 2.0i-P XV today. Fortunately for me, my thought of switching to the Forester before I take delivery of my XV didn’t materialise; else I would have been hit even harder!

• Just when Mitsu about to die, it gips a best spec pickup. Too bad its not 10 years ago.

• Bailout on Apr 06, 2017 at 8:15 am

Mitsubishi no need to apply 1.5 trillion yen from Japan govt.

• 5 speed gearbox is a bit dated

• Mikey on Apr 06, 2017 at 10:59 am

Agree with U the transmission is OLD. That is probably why MMC is NOT doing well hence need to tie-up with Nissan Alliance.

• alldisc on Apr 05, 2017 at 10:16 pm

it seems that DRB is doing the right thing. all the car companies handled by DRB are heading to max safety. Honda, Proton and Mitsubishi. plus Audi, of course.

i believe its the same for Jeep but not Mahindra. thumbs up DRB.

• Kaisuki miyagi on Apr 06, 2017 at 12:14 pm

Finally!!! you come with VSC.. luckily I didnt buy if not I’ll regret.. Almost decide to buy last month bcoz got rm8k rebate for triton vgt..

• albert on Apr 06, 2017 at 12:59 pm

5 years or 150000 or 200000km warranty?

• 4wheeler on Apr 06, 2017 at 10:05 pm

I wonder what will Rasdan71 & Wayang think when they found out that Triton now is being offered with ASC after saying it wasn’t important as a safety feature!