AIG Malaysia bags Best Insurer 2016 award – best turn-around time for motor claims in the industry

AIG Malaysia Insurance, a subsidiary of American International Group, bagged the Best Insurer 2016 award at the MRC Symposium 2017 last week. This year’s win makes it the fourth for the company, adding to the number 1 spot titles it bagged consecutively in 2011, 2012 and 2013.

The main criteria for winning the award is based on the best turn-around time in the approval of motor claims amongst all the general insurers in Malaysia. The company holds the record for the shortest turn-around time for motor claims in the industry.

“We are truly honoured to receive this award and to be recognized as a leader in the industry for our commitment to providing our customers exceptional motor claims service. We have set a benchmark with our claims processes and will keep pushing ourselves to stay ahead of the competition,” said AIG Malaysia CEO Antony Lee.

“Our customers are at the centre of what we do here. Improving the customer experience, especially at their time of need, continues to be a key focus for us. This is even more important with market liberalisation when car owners will need to make that important decision comparing price with service quality,” he added.

Formed in 1998, Motordata Research Consortium (MRC) is the only concessionaire appointed by the general insurance association of Malaysia (PIAM), with the endorsement of Bank Negara Malaysia (BNM), to build a database to reduce subjectivity and improve standards in the industry. The database acts as a point of reference and record-keeping to improve claims processing and increase transparency.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Kelab Kebenaran Kunta on Apr 07, 2017 at 7:26 pm

Best Insurer Award for what? Every year, premiums going higher and higher cause insurance companies cannot control their adjusters cheating big time. Every adjuster is cheating the insurance company with claims that are sometimes 10x.

Damage only RM1000 but adjuster approve RM10,000. All pakat pakat with the panel workshop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 8
    • Accord Is Here on Apr 08, 2017 at 12:26 am

Brother.. don’t simply talk cock here. If u got the gut, write to BNM & PIAM or even MACC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
    • Do everyone a favor, go lodge official complain to anti graft agency.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
    • U are outdate already… That era already gone lorrr… Read properly “MERIMEN” stated there.. Try google MyCC web & search regarding Motor Insce, currently MyCC working hard to fight again Merimen/Insce Co for Adjuster & W/shop on name of “Consumer Interest”. If they win in court, sadly Motor Insce will go back to that era again…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • Kelab Kebenaran Kunta, you seem to know a lot of adjusters and said without checking your fact. Can you show proof instead of saying adjuster cheating here and there. Pakat? You think insurer is stupid? Do you know they employed workshop people or even adjuster in their company to check every motor claims. I think you coming from old era? Insurer now use merimen or eclaims systems which had parts prices for almost every cars in Malaysia. Do you think that it is easy to cheat insurer? For car above 5 years they applied betterment which adjuster need to recommended used parts. Regarding your comment about damage only 1K but adjuster approve 10K, do you know repairing on your own does not involved any paper work, estimate, cut cost by repairing most of parts, labour charges also cheaper to cut cost, paint low quality & etc. When you claim insurance, you want new parts, better paint, warranty 6 months for every part changed, paper works involved a lot and etc. Mostly owner when claim insurance want everything replace. I feel if you got proof then you should report to insurer, bank negara and anti corruption agency instead talking without checking our fact.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 12
  • Datuk Siri iPhone 7 on Apr 08, 2017 at 2:25 pm

But then there are stupid claim executives in the insurer who just approve what’s on the table e.g. reports given by adjusters or estimates given by workshop…

• alldisc on Apr 08, 2017 at 9:28 pm

You think so? Hahaha.. No.. Many officers will either round the figures off or make attempt of cutting 15-20% of total recommended by adjuster. In my experience the only insurans paying 100% of whatever amount recommended by the adjuster is MSIG.

But its good time to become customers of AIG. Let this be a lesson to other insurance companies.

• Hello datuk who claim executives of insurer you referring to? From what i know those claim exec are order by the their superior to cut as much as possible. You think insurance doing business don’t want profit ahhh??? Now days insurer do thing is totally different from those old era. They don’t simply follow adjuster report submitted. Some insurer simply cut to shiok sendiri until when owner complain then only they give back the parts so blame who? The power still with the insurer and not adjuster or workshop. I feel that if the insurer is sincere enough to approve the damages parts to repairer, i sure workshop will not cheat or repair back the parts recommended cos they also business people got profit why want to cheat insurance. In fact do you know that when an accident car go to outside workshop their approval is very low but when they are in franchise workshop their approval very high….WHY? Outside workshop parts are force to a high discount and labour charges push very low by the insurance.Franchise parts are nett and labour charges very high but insurance just follow. Don’t simply blame without checking your fact.

• Kunta@albert just got goreng nicely for trying to goreng fake news. Thats what happens when u try to peddle false info to those who r in the know.

Gr8 job, guys! Kipidap!

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 10, 2017 at 9:12 am

scam industry…motoribke bang cannot claim apa ini