Perodua maintains 35.9% market share in Q1 of 2017 – 50,300 units registered, up 6.5% compared to last year

Perodua has registered a total of 50,300 vehicles in the first quarter (Q1) of 2017, an increase of 6.5% compared to the same period last year (47,200 units). With the Total Industry Volume (TIV) at 140,000 units so far this year, Perodua has maintained an estimated market share of 35.9%, the same as last year when the TIV was lower, at 131,300 units.

In March itself, Perodua sold 19,500 units, a 13% increase over the month of February (17,300 units). This is down to the increased popularity of the facelifted Axia, as well as “aggressive promotions” for other models, according to Datuk Dr Aminar Rashid Salleh, president and CEO of Perodua.

Other parts of the business also saw positives so far this year. In the aftersales department, service intake rose one percent (from 515,343 in Q1 2016 to 518,201), while parts and accessories revenue went up by five percent from RM65 million in the same time last year. Perodua’s body and paint revenue was also up by 17%.

On the whole, Perodua produced 49,218 vehicles in Q1 2017, against 48,300 over the same period last year. Of that, 941 vehicles were exported to six countries, a decrease of 41% over last year’s performance (1,600 units). However, the company is confident that it can achieve its export target of 5,000 units – the same as 2016.

“We aim to steadily grow our regional reach as we further improve our operations to become globally competitive,” Aminar said. For the whole year, the company has set a total sales target of 202,000 units, which is slightly lower than its total tally of 207,100 units in 2016.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia's motoring hacks. A car's technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he's usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

The comments revolve around Malaysia's auto industry, expressing mixed sentiments. Many praise Perodua for its high market share and value, viewing it as the top choice for affordable, resale value, and reliable cars, while criticizing Proton's lower sales and perceived inefficiency, including questions about government loans and quality. There's frustration over high taxes, fuel prices, and the lack of comprehensive public transportation. Some comments discuss the industry’s financial struggles, with Proton’s bailout being a particular focus, and skepticism about government support and industry sustainability. Overall, the sentiment favors Perodua’s success, criticizes Proton’s difficulties, and highlights concerns over economic and infrastructural challenges affecting car ownership and industry health.

• Not Toyota Fan on Apr 18, 2017 at 7:55 pm

Proton fan boys, what say you? Where are the promised sales that was supposed to challenged Perodua?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 6
    • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 221
      • Mari Tido on Apr 18, 2017 at 9:12 pm

Last year Perodua sold over 200,000 cars. Proton sold 70,000 cars. But Proton got 60,000 workers.

Means 1 worker to 1 car ratio. This is Bentley quality lah!!!! Handmade 1 to 1

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 3
        • If Proton workers make Bentley quality cars, don’t u think they should deserve Bentley workers salary? Don’t u think the rakyat should give Proton RM1.8B?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 55
          • Sama L00 on Apr 19, 2017 at 9:08 am

Proton better stick to rebadge, it local made models are less reliable and favored by the market. The Preve is the best example, not yet launch the wheel already broken. Suprima S is forever-show-room model. Only Proton hardcore fans would stick with them. Anyone with slightest conscious know Proton should be avoided at all cost.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
          • Henry on Apr 19, 2017 at 9:09 am

Actually they deserve 3.6b if, like Ferrari, they make an average profit of USD 90,000 per car. Heck, they also deserve a lifelong pension. LOL.

• Honda on Apr 19, 2017 at 10:45 am

eh john, hutang duit rakyat belum jelaskan lagi, now say rakyat should give proton RM1.8bil?

Apa logic tu? Berapa mereka bayar lu untuk buat statement2 merepek ni? RM1.8bil ka?

Baik you shut up ataupun orang lain akan shut u up for good.

• notakata on Apr 19, 2017 at 2:14 pm

@Sama L00
            Some pipu cannot differentiate between accident and low quality part. So pity.

Dun get start with takata airbags

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
        • Albert on Apr 18, 2017 at 10:44 pm

protong waiting for rm1.8Billion shambolic bailout package.
          Dont disturb them.They r not perturbed at declining sales.
          They sell 50000 cars this year ,so that can receive sympathy for another “soft loan” which they have no means to pay back. Pandai nya ini pengemis antarabangsa .Protong…the power of bad dreams

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
        • John Ohwai Mental Club on Apr 18, 2017 at 11:01 pm

something wrong with mental people.

• Padamuka on Apr 19, 2017 at 2:58 am

Don’t lie just for the sake of ‘like’.. Proton got 12,000 worker leh.. The best part was proton used your money for the past 30 years.Laugh at yourself for being stupid.Hahahaha.Luckily I’m a Singaporean.I can’t believe Malaysian really make fool of the entire life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
      • Khairi on Apr 19, 2017 at 6:30 am

wow this john guy sudah melampau. Wake up from your deep slumber!

• Proton Ispira on Apr 19, 2017 at 8:16 am

Proton Inspira don’t celup Jepunis?
        Proton wira design from where?
        Last time proton wira engine from where?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
        • Henry on Apr 19, 2017 at 8:52 am

Not to mention the latest HondaProton Perdana and SuzukiProton Ertiga. LOL.

• Amran on Apr 20, 2017 at 12:16 pm

Ertiga also celup 100%

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 179
      • Mikey on Apr 18, 2017 at 8:48 pm

Hahaha. Mixing Premium with P1 is like mixing oil with water. Try as U may john. It is futile. Get a life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 133
          • Henry on Apr 19, 2017 at 10:43 am

The same way a person calling himself Professor when he is not one. Understand?

• Honda on Apr 19, 2017 at 10:51 am

that you call premium ah? more like “Premier” tissue to me la.

Running out of ideas, shut up.

We don’t need your low IQ comments here.

• Abu Kassim on Apr 18, 2017 at 11:06 pm

john tries so hard. Shameless paid trooper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
      • Khairi on Apr 19, 2017 at 6:31 am

typical lazy attitude. Unable to think.

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Apr 18, 2017 at 9:26 pm

Proton how many millions you guys made.. Sorry, lost this month?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
      • Made RM1.5B in the past and going to make RM1.8B in the future

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 54
        • Honda on Apr 19, 2017 at 10:54 am

Correction. Is owe not made. Get it?

• Everest on Apr 19, 2017 at 12:59 pm

When you need to pay back is call owe, but when you don’t need to, isn’t it call made?

• tokmoh. on Apr 18, 2017 at 9:38 pm

Proton now too busy learning the art of begging for next round of “soft loan”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
      • tokmoh. on Apr 18, 2017 at 9:41 pm

They would try to best their previous achievement, last time was rm1.5bil, this time rm1.8bil, well done! Bangga la proton is leading champion in begging, no one else in the industry ever done it. Bangga kan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
      • Henry on Apr 19, 2017 at 9:00 am

This is what will happen.

Proton, on its own won’t be able to pay basing on the low sales, high inventory and overhead they are having.

If Proton is sold, the FSP will assume the debt as part of the deal. However, the debtors (including the Gomen) will be asked to take a “haircut” i.e. take a reduced payment as settlement.

• tokmoh. on Apr 19, 2017 at 9:57 am

Beggars can’t be choosers. Except proton that syok sendiri highly of themselves.

The govt should’ve already known this from the moment they agreed to lend to Proton. The moment they signed the loan agreement, they can start making full provision for doubtful debt edi.

Getting haircut is better than nothing.

• Henry on Apr 19, 2017 at 10:37 am

The Gomen’s contingency is, in the worst case scenario, to convert the debt into equity. This means the Gomen will again become a shareholder in Proton.

How nice.

• Mikey on Apr 18, 2017 at 8:20 pm

Can U imagine P2 without VSC also can sell/maintain 35% market share. I wonder what will happen “if” they improve on the already capable, reliable, dependable & cheaper maintenance car by launching a totally new Myvi replacement model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
    • Muthusammy Loo on Apr 18, 2017 at 9:31 pm

A new Myvi replacement model, if P2 bring back 1.0 oso not bad what together with existing 1.3 and 1.5 which will remain as their major seller (abeit with manual only so that it won’t cannibalise axia n biza low spec), furthermore with superlight chassis with revvy inline 3 pot, it’s quite accelerative (however, their manual version is currently their major weakness with poor biting clutch point that need to be improved)

• immafanbuoi on Apr 18, 2017 at 8:24 pm

I wonder what orang atasan p1 will feel about this news, I mean..they do everything..but they still failed miserably.. or, diorg just goyang kaki, coz their money will always come in..

• TOK GURU on Apr 18, 2017 at 8:27 pm

Go perodua go!!!! Keep up the good work

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
  • K Kinte on Apr 18, 2017 at 8:36 pm

Why people buy Perodua is very simple. It holds the RV. Buy Myvi today RM40k, 3 years later still can sell RM30k.

Buy ANY Proton for RM40k, 3 years later become RM12k

Then when you sell the car, you will crack your head where to come up with the balance when the bank asks you to top up the loan.

Proton owners always ask the same question after 3 years….
    “Every month for the past 3 years I have paid my car loan, I am shocked I have to top up thousands more just to sell my car”

Perodua owners also say the same thing after 3 years….
    “I am so excited, after selling my car, I got now extra 10k after settling bank loan and now I can put deposit for another new car”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 8
    • drillero on Apr 18, 2017 at 9:56 pm

Guys, everybody in the car business is like tonto. Tolong Orang Tipu Orang. Who create demands for such lousy car in the first place? Better realised sooner or letter, Capitalist with big money who will determine which car will have high RV and which car are not regardless of safety and qualities. Used to be Proton, now is PTH, next are China made Chevvy?

• Kinte k on Apr 18, 2017 at 11:06 pm

Nak bohong carilah tempat lain bang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • Very good comment haha i think you can read people’s heart

• Those said excited no longer available, do u know that?

• P VS P on Apr 19, 2017 at 9:45 am

The conclusion is
      Proton = More Safety
      Perodua = More RV

• samealos on Apr 19, 2017 at 5:35 pm

Even you buy myvi you have to top up a bit lor

• Panic at the Disco on Apr 18, 2017 at 8:50 pm

More and more people buying cheap car.Meaning economy is bad.People selling big and expensive car and buy budget cars.Look at the use car dealers.Lots of regret faces,for believed the governmentlong list lies about economy.Don’t you all should be panic now?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 202
      • johnny english reborn on Apr 19, 2017 at 9:54 am

And are you saying our economy is in good condition right now? Open you eyes as well as your heart widely, then you will realise it

• fanofthisite on Apr 19, 2017 at 1:19 pm

Dear John, malaysian vehicles sales have fallen. statistics said that. so now you say vehicles sales went up so means the economy is not bad to you. Never mind how you come to that conclusion. But why than P1 sales so dismal. If truly more people are back to buying new cars why is P1 is very far away even with strength of new generation car line up. Also why is the used car (every day man car ) dealers not clearing stocks quickly , as a recovering or stable economy also means used car dealers benefit as there are more people who can afford cars

• Proton Worker on Apr 18, 2017 at 10:58 pm

Saya baru bangun tidur ni. Nak tidur balik, malas nak pergi kerja ni

• Proton Worker on Apr 18, 2017 at 10:59 pm

If we are tired, we want to sleep. Who is the public to tell us otherwise?

• p1 wimax on Apr 19, 2017 at 6:48 am

Proton received 1.5b loan from the government, at least they should have used it wisely by having good designers, engineers and improving after sale service of the car. Even the promised gdi and tgdi engines are taking a long time to be launched.

• Henry on Apr 19, 2017 at 9:20 am

Do what? Most of the money went to paying vendors. Otherwise they will have problem sourcing parts.

• Henry on Apr 19, 2017 at 9:16 am

Success = making something tangible that people want to buy.

Failure = producing something to “syiok sendiri” that people do not want to buy.

Simple equations which Dunggu John finds it hard to understand. LOL.

• Ben Yap on Apr 19, 2017 at 9:43 am

with perodua’s high market share, it means that malaysians generally cannot afford cars above 80K.

• C. P. MOHAN on Apr 19, 2017 at 10:18 am

No matter who gets the biggest market share, the winner is the government through various taxes and GST. I do not see the benefits to the rakyat at the moment because of the high vehicle prices, fuel, toll, Public transport and parking. Probably the reason why EV is not encouraged here wholeheartedly.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 101 Thumb down 301
  • Acidflux on Apr 19, 2017 at 10:47 am

Thx to uber and grab .. ppl buying cheap cars to do biz now..

• Just release B segment size sedan to fight City already! Bezza is so narrow and ugly.

• leonardo on Apr 19, 2017 at 12:32 pm

PERODUA is the best quality NATIONAL car in Malaysia. Excellent quality, excellent safety and excellent fuel economy. Eating away more established car makers likey Hyundai, Toyota, Mazda, Kia. Etc. Trouble free and excellent styling too.
    Money in the bank for Toyota and Daihatsu.

• drillero on Apr 20, 2017 at 7:19 am

Excellente? You must be living in Planet Pluto for too long. Yes, laughing all the way to the bank, for Toyota Motor Corporation since Kei Car can be sold at exhorbitants profit here & in large quantity. We, the consumer, crying all the way to home everyday. With the same price, we can afford REAL car in other markets. What is the reason left to levy such damn high excise tax to the cars? On top of excise tax, we need to pay GST Tax, then Road Tax, then GST Tax on petrol or diesel, then GST on driving licence, then GST on toll, then GST on parking, then GST on car repair & maintenance, then GST on every service, then GST on buying 2nd hand car. If you switch on your aircond, you will be tax. Then what is so great abt Perodua???

• C. P. MOHAN on Apr 19, 2017 at 12:52 pm

@John there is usually a long time lag between tax collected and completion of P.T infrastructure so the long gestation period is understandable and agree with your view. Most countries even developed ones have EV infra. issues that is why I believe that self-EV without the need for such infra is the way forward.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 163 Thumb down 402
      • Lowyat on Apr 19, 2017 at 6:23 pm

Hahaha… john sendiri thumbs up sendiri syok… Hahaha

• stasta on Apr 21, 2017 at 12:05 pm

the problem is your much touted LRT and MRT only exists in klang valley. those who stay in penang or JB or melaka have no such option and still need to drive.

• Zakir Naik on Apr 19, 2017 at 9:33 pm

John has shown why Proton needs another billion. Thanks to lazy P1 salesman like him, who like to bash others and ‘like’ himself on PT.org, no work can be done. Pity the rakyat who are paying his company