Mercedes-Benz Malaysia to launch more than 17 models this year – GLA facelift, AMG 43 versions next

Mercedes-Benz Malaysia (MBM) is looking to top its record-breaking performance in 2016 this year, and while there’s still a long way to go before the year is up in terms of sales numbers, the company is definitely going to be ahead on one count in 2017, and it will be in the number of product launches.

According to Mark Raine, its vice-president, sales and marketing, there will be more model/variant introductions this year than in 2016. To recap, the company launched 17 models last year, including the W213 E-Class, C117 CLA facelift, R172 SLC, C205 C-Class Coupe (and Cabriolet), G-Class facelift and the X166 GLS.

“We launched a lot of products last year, but we’re going to launch even more this year. We’ve reached the top position, and the most difficult part is staying there. The greatest danger is that we could grow complacent, and that’s what we don’t want happening,” he told paultan.org.

Raine said that the company will be introducing additional SUV and Dream Cars variants, most of them very soon. “The avalanche of products is coming in this quarter, leading into the third quarter,” he said.

“While our portfolio of products is pretty much complete, there are upgrades and new models that can be added into the lineup, and you can expect launches in each of our four product groups,” he added. The company currently has over 50 models in its local product portfolio.

Specific products include the X156 GLA facelift, arriving here very soon, as well as the Mercedes-AMG E 63, due here later in the year. There’s also the already announced W213 E 350 e plug-in hybrid, which is due to enter the market in the third quarter.

Aside from that, a number of AMG 43 models are also set to make their debut in the very near future, and Raine said there would be plenty of AMG-related activity for a planned 50 Years of AMG celebration. He added that the W222 S-Class facelift will however only be introduced locally next year.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 24, 2017 at 11:13 pm

when will they offer free service? no? stick to bmw then

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
  • Porsche on Apr 25, 2017 at 7:34 am

AMG GT-R, please!

• Fauzan on Apr 25, 2017 at 9:58 am

Just bespoked order from Mercedes-Benz Malaysia.

Bought GLC43 Coupe dis way.

• Henry on Apr 25, 2017 at 7:49 am

Good. Now everyone can own a Mercedes-Benz.

• Some says launching many models means sales is bad wor. So launching 17 new model means….

• Mikey on Apr 25, 2017 at 9:34 am

Mr Mark Raine said “We launched a lot of products last year, but we’re going to launch even more this year. We’ve reached the top position, and the most difficult part is staying there. The greatest danger is that we could grow complacent, and that’s what we don’t want happening”.

Does the above sound like sales is Bad ??

• azhar on Apr 25, 2017 at 10:11 am

Why launch so many models?? Perodua 5 models only, Top sales volume.….

• Kunta pangsai story again on Apr 25, 2017 at 9:11 am

It will capture all luxury market sectors

• Don’t have to expand so much. Just improve the offering of your existing products. For a luxury brand cost more than 200k and keyless entry is not even standard that’s not acceptable. Also for a car close to 400k all the advanced safety features also not being equipped is simply outrageous. U got lots of profits already.

• Top1percent on Apr 25, 2017 at 10:00 am

Tax the rich so no problem

• Ootai on Apr 25, 2017 at 1:23 pm

The rich also don’t mind because the companies are paying. Not from their deep pockets. Lol.

• Dun matter, as long as they got taxed.

• LHDN patut tingkatkan & pemantauan.

• Kreta tax dibawah Kastam, bukan LHDN. Tapi dgn GST, takde lari ke mana kecuali business yg ahem ahem.

• Maria on Apr 25, 2017 at 10:00 am

Please bring E63 s wagon please. then i’m sold

• Latif Bandi on Apr 25, 2017 at 10:21 am

Shadddup & take my $$$!!
    Mercedes-AMG E 63 FTW

• Zackyrul_hipstar on Apr 25, 2017 at 11:53 am

Drive brand new Merc & ur instantly the Envy of the Town.