Audi A8 to beat Mercedes S-Class in autonomous driving, will launch with Level 3 technology – report

The next Audi A8 is set to be a leader in autonomous driving technology, beating even the recently-updated Mercedes-Benz S-Class when it enters showrooms later this year. According to Autocar, Ingolstadt’s flagship luxury sedan will be the first car to come with Level 3 autonomy, which will enable the car to take full control of driving duties.

Audi’s traffic jam pilot system will reportedly work at speeds of up to 60 km/h, as long as the road ahead has physical separations (like a barrier) between two sides of traffic. As such, the driver can shift focus on other tasks such as reading, but will have to be ready to take control if the traffic situation requires human input, and will be given between eight and ten seconds’ notice beforehand.

By contrast, the new S-Class’ Intelligent Drive system will only allow up to 30 seconds of handsfree driving, and will require drivers to keep their eyes on the road at all times. The suite of driver assists includes Active Distance Assist Distronic that will adjust the speed automatically for corners and junctions, and will work at speeds of up to 210 km/h.

Also included is Active Steering Assist with Evasive Steering Assist to help avoid errant pedestrians, as well as Active Lane Changing Assist; the latter will change lanes autonomously between 80 and 180 km/h. Active Braking Assist autonomous braking, on the other hand, now gets a new cross-traffic function and congestion emergency braking function.

Audi CEO Rupert Stadler mentioned during the company’s annual press conference that only government legislation would stop the new A8 from driving fully autonomously in public. Autocar reported, however, that European governments are eyeing a change in legislation to allow the use of self-driving tech.

SPYSHOTS: 2018 Audi A8

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Audi? I thought it was a Hyundai or enlarged vios keli.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
    • Koko Ohwai on Apr 25, 2017 at 9:26 pm

According to Proton, Proton is BETTER than Volvo and BMW. So, Proton can bear S class now

• K Kinte on Apr 25, 2017 at 9:38 pm

Everybody launching latest technologies in their cars except one car company. They are launching the latest teh tarik and kuih lapis in town

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
    • Mikey on Apr 26, 2017 at 8:52 am

Agree. This Hyundai Keli is way better than whatever U are driving.

• karam singh on Apr 25, 2017 at 8:39 pm

Tesla just laugh at both of u ;p

• Carbon on Apr 25, 2017 at 9:45 pm

Autonomous driving in a limousine-class car is pretty redundant and merely a showcase of technology. Not that it is needed, it’s because they can. Owners of such cars are typically chauffeured in, not driving it. The boss sitting behind will be doing anything besides driving, while the chauffeur behind the wheel should do nothing except driving. If you’re the boss sitting behind, will you allow your chauffeur to takes his eyes off the road, and leave your lives to the 8 to 10 seconds response time?

• Johnson Amigo on Apr 26, 2017 at 7:38 am

the driver could be a sexy supermodel the boss hired to drive the car…hence, this technology is highly relevant for other tasks to be carried out! use your imagine to apply the technology just like the day we got our hand on the.. iPad.

• Reddit on Apr 26, 2017 at 9:49 am

Pelik tapi Benar. My family are chauffeured around in S Classes since the W140 era.

Autonomous driving tech lebih sesuai to those yg tak mampu chauffeur.

• heybadigol (Member) on Apr 26, 2017 at 8:13 am

Thats good. You can save money by not needing to hire a chauffeur. Provided its smart enough to find parking on its own and wait for the boss to be ready.

• sudonano on Apr 26, 2017 at 9:27 am

We don’t care what autonomous driving, the only thing we care is the 3 pointed star.

• i’m not a Mercedes fan but at this segment and among the big german 3…nothing comes close to an S class for the overall package… I prefer the XJ personally but that car is getting old…