IIMS 2017: Suzuki Ignis – a funky city car that we want

Of the many cars vying for customers at the 2017 Indonesia International Motor Show (IIMS), the Suzuki Ignis was the one that this writer wished he could buy. Sure, there was a Koenigsegg CCR in JIExpo, and my favourite big coupe was launched at the show – but the Suzuki Ignis is attainable cool. But only if you’re in Indonesia, where the little Suzy was launched two weeks ago.

The city car with SUV-inspired styling – a “new breed of urban SUV” according to the marketing spiel – is a funky and original design, one of many from the Japanese small car expert. Imported from India, the Indonesian-market Ignis looks identical to the JDM Ignis that surfaced at the 2015 Tokyo Motor Show. The iM-4 from Geneva 2015 survived the perilous journey from concept to production intact, and we’re really happy it did.

The cute little 3.7m hatchback has a distinctive and cartoonish face featuring LED eyes that are cradled by LED daytime running lights. The sides of the clamshell bonnet have fake vents, and there are three stripes on the rearmost pillars – I somehow find the cues cool rather than contrived.

The high ground clearance of 180 mm and black 15-inch wheels (on very slim 175/65 tyres for eco reasons) provide a rugged look. The car you see here is the range topping GX with optional contrasting roof paint. It’s the spec to have, as things such as the LED headlamps and DRLs, fog lamps and roof rails are exclusive to the GX.

Also on the GX are niceties such as keyless entry and push start, auto air con (check out the funky design) and audio/phone steering buttons. The option of a touchscreen head unit is best ticked, as the floating panel was designed with a screen in mind. Trim on the centre console and door pulls matches the body colour, and look out for that three stripe motif inside as well.

The featherweight Ignis (840 to 860 kg) is powered by a 1.2 litre four-cylinder engine with 83 PS and 113 Nm of torque. The K12M VVT motor is paired to a five-speed manual and a five-speed AGS automated manual gearbox with manual mode. Claimed official fuel consumption is 23.44 km/l for the AGS and 23.64 km/l for the MT.

Prices range from 139.5 million rupiah (RM45,352) to 169.5 million rupiah (RM55,106). If only…

GALLERY: Suzuki Ignis GX MT

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• proton oh proton on May 02, 2017 at 2:25 pm

Interior looks so cheap plastic…

• Kunta Kinte on May 02, 2017 at 4:05 pm

We can never get this cause Proton is a bad negotiator. Suzuki only gave us the unwanted and unsellable Ertiga. Proton made it easy for it to lose few hundred million ringgit as it needs to pay royalty payment to Suzuki Japan for the Ertiga

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
      • new guest on Jan 21, 2019 at 5:57 pm

How much royalty is being paid to Suzuki japan in total ? Absolute or as a percentage of total revenue.? And how much is it as compared to other subsidiaries of Suzuki motor Japan. Like I guess Maruti Suzuki, india pays around 5% ?

• dammm on Aug 12, 2017 at 7:40 pm

cheapest 5* EURO ANCAP car. what else do you want???? complain about plastic? among safest car on earth.

• Bernard on May 02, 2017 at 3:00 pm

Bring it here and sell below RM30k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • No people want it on May 02, 2017 at 11:06 pm

Previous generation CBU import by Suzuki Malaysia selling at RM46k for a keicar fitted with 1.0liter engine. They withdraw it within 2 years.

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on May 02, 2017 at 3:01 pm

Aren’t Proton supposed to assemble an Axia rival Suzuki?
    1) Proton has no money, hence begging for RM1.8bil
    2) Suzuki broke off the alliance with Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • MT & AMT only? wun sell well here.
    Interior colour scheme is songsang. The white bottom will dirty easily and the dark upper gips gloomy ambience.
    And floating panel looks cheap and tack on last minute.

But of cuz we wun persoal them jepunis overlord designers and demand to sack them. But if this had been P1…

• Nagendran Karuppiah on May 02, 2017 at 3:27 pm

Rebadge as second Gen Savvy……price below RM35k

• Noah Thiruchelvan on May 02, 2017 at 3:30 pm

Saw one in Heathrow last week, it looks absolutely cute. In a cartoon kinda way. I bet it is super fun to drive as well

• Jonn Dol on May 02, 2017 at 4:10 pm

It’s definitely a missed opportunity for the Suzuki cars fanbase here after the closure of the Malaysian Suzuki Automobile Div. And judging by the current scenario & speculation, it’s difficult to see how Proton would further their (minor)collaboration with Suzuki beyond the Ertiga model. Because apparently Proton is in need of a strong business & technical partner , with strong global ambition to expand & willingness to invest a huge sum, which in this case Suzuki is not. Perhaps Suzuki Cars will roam again here in the near future?

• matt farrel on May 02, 2017 at 4:30 pm

i have recently test driven an ignis and in my opinion, the car is way superior than the celerio it replaces and is much better than a sirion (myvi) in terms of features and price, i couldnt compare it to an iriz cause i’ve yet to drive one in Indonesian spec..but overall i was impressed with just how good the Ignis is to drive and its features compared to its rivals…

my only complain is that the AMT is sluggish and even though suzuki said they’ve improved the AMT compared to the one on the Karimun Wagon R, i still feel its sluggish and not smooth, so its a sign i shall have to get one in 3 pedals…

but overall i am impressed with the car

• Ugh, more useless CUVs… Highway speed featherweight high ground clearance tiup angin turn turtle

• Peter on May 02, 2017 at 9:44 pm

Why good stuff never landed here?

• UseYourHead on May 02, 2017 at 11:29 pm

The interior is not cheap or useless as some commented here, you gotto know what you are comparing with. These are small compact vehicles that are widely use in places like Japan etc. Go see for yourself in Japan the amount of K cars there and you will understand better. If you think interior is cheap then go buy RollsR, if you you think is useless then buy other cars. Duh…..

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 02, 2017 at 11:56 pm

honestly suzuki is just superb in making these sort of cars…

• ridea on May 03, 2017 at 8:33 am

Ignis been praised by others, but bashed by msian.

• Tainwaing on May 03, 2017 at 7:22 pm

Do you how reliable of Suzuki in small car ? Maka a trip to Japan to find out ?

• new guest on Jan 21, 2019 at 5:58 pm

How much royalty is being paid to Suzuki japan in total ? Absolute or as a percentage of total revenue.? And how much is it as compared to other subsidiaries of Suzuki motor Japan. Like I guess Maruti Suzuki, india pays around 5% ?