A somewhat premature announcement has emerged on crash.net, saying a round of the 2018 MotoGP calendar would be hosted at the Chang International Circuit in Buriram, Thailand. However, a later update quoted a spokeperson from Dorna, organisers of the MotoGP, as saying “everything is still under negotiation, as far as the 2018 MotoGP calendar.”
The article quoted a Bangkok Post report, saying a round of the MotoGP would take place in Thailand on October 5 to 7, before proceeding to the current “fly-away” rounds in Japan, Malaysia, and Australia. This is in addition to three other rumoured new additions to the 2018 calendar – Finland, Kazakhstan and Hungary.
While Dorna has remained silent on this, it is said that Finland is not likely to be included in the 2018 fixtures, while a full calendar of 20 races will mean that one existing race will have to be dropped, to accommodate summer and winter breaks, as well as bike and tyre testing dates. A new addition to the MotoGP race schedule has not happened since 2014, when the Termas de Rio circuit in Argentina was included.
In Malaysia, the Sepang International Circuit (SIC) is set to host the MotoGP till 2020, with most of the circuit’s events planning and sponsorship geared towards getting a Malaysian rider into the top-flight of MotoGP. In 2016, SIC drew a record crowd of over 160,000 spectators for the MotoGP in October.
Write an article about the Honda RC213V-S.
Now everybody also want to move their operations to Thailand. This is because Thai people work hard. They are focused and they strive very hard.
This is why all the car companies also made Thai the Detroit of Asia.
No laziness amongst the Thai people. MotoGP also will do very well
Correct. SG is most lazy cuz they got no MotoGP
U may be right going by your logic BUT i think SG are Not lazy maybe Kiasu(positive) but they work hard 1st & smart now after accumulating/saving their $$$.
Now they are using their Brain more. In order to work smart, U must have capital to maximize your base. Hehehe. Cheers
That is why SG GDP per capita is 3rd highest in the world and we are No 45 in the list of countries.
That is why Singapore dollar is 3.25 x than ringgit
We started first, u say msian lazy.. now thai just show their intention to be a host u say thai people work hard.. paisey..
long overdued race….
Some say it was stupid to gip up F1 for puny MotoGP.
No, it’s a right move.
F1 pun mau lari from msia. Too much angpau needed to run show here
Yes. Too much angpau to Bernie, deswai we lari.
‘some’idiot they are..bcoz F1 is a lost cause
F1 is dying on its own, motogp on the other hand breaking new record every year
2 races in asian? Sounds ironic but F1 in sepang was doing well until singapore came in. Just like singapore, thailand has always be more popular to visitors compared with msia. Now with Buriram coming in motogp, u wl see the same saga all over again. No f1 n then no motogp? Sepang will probably be another batu 3.
You know why batu tiga close? Not up to fim standard anymore back then, heck whilst sepang was built the race move to pasir gudang, johor for one time
And some more shah alam was developing soo fast in 90’s it was much better to develop new and approved race circuit by fim and fia somewhere else
And madey found the right place to built it
Sepang is really such a fantastic facility and so close to the international airport.
The people are such fans and I saw so many Rossi and Marquez posters and signs and especially Marco Simoncelli signs. Literally everywhere you looked it said SIC.
(It took a while for me to catch on…)
Very funny, Knobdoodle. See you there this year. Who else is coming this time?
I’ve been to Buriram for the past three years to watch World Superbikes which was absolutely fantastic apart from the sales of any sort of momorabilia related to the event, the food on sale was absolutely abismal CP crap and this year they even ran out of water, Unbelievable! but true and not a programme in sight, the organisers of the event will have to pull their socks up very smartish if they are hoping to host a MotoGP event. Trackside information for the English speaking fans was virtually non existant and screens giving information were pathetic. Please please please get it together Buriram, Let’s have a MotoGP to be proud of here in Thailand.