Ops Selamat 11 – traffic operations to begin June 14

<em>Ops Selamat 11</em> – traffic operations to begin June 14

In conjunction with the Hari Raya Aidilfitri festive period, the police will begin its next round of traffic safety operations nationwide on June 14, Bernama reports. Deputy prime minister Datuk Seri Dr Ahmad Zahid Hamidi said that Ops Selamat 11 will begin next Wednesday.

He said that the aim of the traffic operation was to educate road users and simultaneously reducing the accident rate and fatalities on the roads during the festive season. “Other than enforcement, public awareness is also important to reduce the accident rate and deaths during the festive season,” he said.

Ahmad Zahid also revealed that 1.4 million of the 5.3 million summonses issued last year still had not been paid. He said that the 3.9 million fines that were settled raked in RM304 million, the Malay Mail Online reports.

Zahid advised motorists to be more careful and vigilant on the road. “If you do not commit any offence there would not be any summons to worry about, and the number of accidents would also decrease,” he said.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Mr. Loba Loba on Jun 08, 2017 at 11:00 am

In conjunction with the Hari Raya Aidilfitri festive period, Rakyat who pays exorbitant tolls get to enjoy jammed highways, jammed rest areas & summore jams caused by traffic road blocks.

Yet majority accident rate and fatalities on the roads are motorcyclists

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 08, 2017 at 11:03 am

5.3 million saman issued last year. That means also another 5 mil duit kopi unofficial settle also happened or even more.

• Atan Senget on Jun 08, 2017 at 12:23 pm

Terbukti ekonomi semakin kukuh, pipu kena cukurr.
      KFC , Starbucks selalu full. Honda mercedes laris. Samsung S8+ launch tak sampai 2 jam sold out.

• Ben Yap on Jun 08, 2017 at 11:23 am

Thank you to Datuk Seri Dr Ahmad Zahid Hamidi for taking the initiative to lower accident rates in malaysia.

You are truly a dedicated prime minister and you are sure to have my vote!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
  • safety 1st on Jun 08, 2017 at 12:36 pm

human is human, a singaporean will drive ethically in their home country not because they are educated, but simply because their enforcement is strict.when they drive here in msia, all hell break loose, why? bcos they know they can get away with it… solution? put more cameras not only on highways but at all places in kl. then you will see all malaysia will transform to modern world driver adhere to rules

• Yes Billions lemons spent on AES & Kejara.
      But nothing beats tuan boleh setel tak payah pening.

• kzm (Member) on Jun 08, 2017 at 3:59 pm

So don’t complaint when more AES camera around..

• Tok Guru on Jun 08, 2017 at 4:21 pm

U sound like a naggy atuk…Chill & sit back dude.

• Tok Guru on Jun 10, 2017 at 6:19 am

Nice work trying to sound like me bro… now can you please get ur own nick name ah …

• the highway speed limits especially on NSE should be raised. With the quality of the highway, it should not be limited to 110km/hr. Some highways in Klang Valley have even lower speed limit at 90km/hr. Speed limit is one thing but drivers education is another thing. I think raising the speed limit by 10km/hr is fair.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • awg1031 on Jun 08, 2017 at 3:57 pm

looking at the percentage of perodua (and proton) owners on the road, I believe we still have the need for 110km/hr limit..think their tyre can handle above than that? speed definitely can (after 1-2 min), but what about braking? with our attitude of tailgating other cars, the risk is to high for these car to brake safely (worse in rain)..and how many do change their tyre when needed? remember, they’re from low-middle income classes..late alone the poor attitude on the road (inclusive rich idiot driver)

• saman sudah bayar on Jun 08, 2017 at 1:34 pm

I promise i will emergency brake when it turn to yellow light. Don’t bang my ass please!

• Bernard on Jun 08, 2017 at 4:34 pm

Singaporeans follow the law, that much i can say just by observing them. Most other asian and african countries dont.Why is that?