QUICK LOOK: 2017 Modenas Pulsar RS200, NS200

Local bike brand Modenas made a big splash last month, launching the 2017 Pulsar RS200, NS200 and V15 in Malaysia. Essentially rebadged models from Bajaj Auto of India, the new offerings carry very attractive prices, opening up the brand to a wider range of customers.

Here’s we’re taking a closer look at the first two models: the Pulsar RS200 sportsbike at RM11,342, and its closely-related naked sibling, the Pulsar NS200 at RM9,222 (both inclusive of GST). The latter is priced within reach of top-end supercubs such as the Honda RS150 and Yamaha Y15ZR (both around RM8.3k), while the RS200 is half the price of name-brand 250 cc sports bikes.

Both models share the same single-cylinder, three-spark plug, liquid-cooled power plant that puts out 24.5 PS at 9,750 rpm, and 18.6 Nm of torque at 8,000 rpm. The more expensive of the two also offers ABS with its Bybre brakes – a big plus point over bikes in the same price range. This video shows the difference between the two models, and more.

We will cover the Modenas V15 very soon. For now, do let us know what you think of the Pulsar RS200 and NS200 pair.

GALLERY: 2017 Modenas Pulsar RS200
GALLERY: 2017 Modenas Pulsar NS200

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Ruslan Bahari on Jun 08, 2017 at 2:31 pm

So hepi MY prices cheaper than Sri Lanka crabs.

• sergei on Jun 08, 2017 at 2:37 pm

Haf just needed an umbrella to sync with racing sportsbikes..he he

• why the need for 3 spark plugs though?

good price

• Sub_zero on Jun 09, 2017 at 10:11 pm

Bajaj is the only one who use other than that benelli supercub also use this tech

They claim burn fuel much better which mean better emission etc you get it

• Bernard on Jun 08, 2017 at 4:25 pm

Looks like a rebadged Bajaj:) We are good at this…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • Jonn Dol on Jun 08, 2017 at 4:54 pm

I guess the 50cc deficit is to avoid direct comparison with the Japanese no? But I thought Bajaj could have easily adopted the KTM RC250 engine into the RS200?..

• Sub_zero on Jun 09, 2017 at 10:15 pm

Your half correct, the reason they choose 200cc is due to huge pricing difference between 200cc and 250cc model in india

More overly the sweet spot of (where people in india can actually evsn afford) is in within 150cc to 200cc, anymore than that is just too expensive

Equivalent to ours where any more than 9 – 10k are just to expensive

• At least the price not expencive…

• Mikey on Jun 08, 2017 at 9:23 pm

Bro Friz, usually Mr Mohan do the bike’s review. Where is Mohan? Just curious. Overall, GUD presentation bcos U are looking at the camera & your hands are moving/showing. This show U are confident of yourself. Gud job.

• Cheap bike for cheap pipu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 50
    • Wow buddy…nice attitude bro. looking down on people is so common nowadays rite. cant imagine how your kids would grow up.
      And if u do have any common sense, the purchase of bike is for practicality. If I am a daily commuter that uses a bike to travel from, lets say Shah Alam to Damansara, it doesn’t makes sense for me to fork out RM40k for a Harley or a Triumph. I rather go for a midrange bike with average comfort ability and reasonable pricing. That doesn’t makes me cheap, it makes me a smarter and wiser consumer.
      Get that in the peanut brain of yours.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Kelvin on Jun 08, 2017 at 10:23 pm

Any review after this? Seems nice, please comment on the quality and ride impressions. Keep up the good job paultan.org!

• The challenge for modenas is whether the dealers would stock these (Indian) bikes. For the users, the risk is the availability of spare parts, when needed. Maintenance could be on the high side, especially with 3, instead of the usual 1. Got to give aggressive promotion to capture an untested rebadge product.

• Suggest paultan do a road test review for both bikes. Modenas should give the rider at least one week to use each bike. Test on handling, vibration, top speed, fuel usage. Then compare with

• pandaulat on Jun 09, 2017 at 2:12 am

Wow bro u aced it like a pro. Remembered all d specs, pointed out d differences n interesting points like ur a biker. impressive! Tapi kunci sudah ada start jer! Bikers suka dengar exhaust, size / make of tyres n weight. Kipidap

• jibby v2.60 on Jun 09, 2017 at 8:23 am

Hafriz, from modenas website it says rs200 only have single channel ABS only (front), but in your video it shows two channel ABS. can help to clarify with modenas is it really two channel ABS? if that’s the case, i’m sold to get this for my spare bike.

• suflan on Jun 10, 2017 at 11:07 am

Single channel meana normal abs, not one tyre abs. Other types are cornering abs.

• Aikon on Jun 09, 2017 at 8:37 am

The backlit handle controls are cool. Not many bikes at that price point or even at higher price points offer that. Nice torquey engine too.

• Jinko on Jun 09, 2017 at 11:45 am

MODENAS please bring ABS option for NS200 then I definitely will buy. I believe ABS is a must have safety feature for bikes like this.

• kakitocracy on Jun 10, 2017 at 10:59 am

I am not a bike guy but when Modenas was mentioned I was sceptical just like on Proton brand. Sure enough it is as I thought but worst “Essentially rebadged models from Bajaj Auto of India” and only very recently India was only manufacturing BSA buffalo bikes copied from the 1950s British design. What R&D engineering work is done? Nothing! Cant even design an indegenious single cylinder 2/4 stroke motorbike engine and motorframe? The first Bajaj in Malaysia was a copy of Kubota paddy harvester, look how far they have progress? Malaysia is stuck in a time warp.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • Bernard on Jun 11, 2017 at 12:57 pm

20 years ago, the Yamaha TZM 150 could reach speeds of up to 180kmh. Todays bikes can hardly reach 100kmh. Case example: Bajaj v15. Even the Kawasaki Z250 can only reach 140kmh. Yamaha FZ150, 120kmh….I know about 2 strokes and 4 strokes but what about advancement in technology or is there a plan by manufacturers to make bikes look like ribut but lari macam siput??

• Iskandar on Jun 13, 2017 at 5:56 am

Bro,I think mostly due to gomen lah, they’re putting CDI/ECU to cutoff/limit the engine power and gomen already stopped the production of 2 strokes bikes! I bought 125i Sport Rider and it’s hardly can go through 130km/h due to the ECU, if kilang one confirm can terbang one but I think the Puspakom and gomen played a role in this ECU thingy

• Rodolfo on Oct 26, 2017 at 4:12 pm

You want to ride oven than 200kmh? Other riders and drivers didt realize you on the road.

• Wayne Alexandar Radiant on Jun 12, 2017 at 7:28 am

9k+&10k+r cheap for bikes running below 130kmh???by contrast we pay more than the should be price base on our capital of living standard today.thats also why our inflation keep escalated weight burden on ppl shoulder even d figures don’t speak truth.time to change by starting change d policy maker…. Who??? Elect wise next ur.. K.

• Rodolfo on Oct 26, 2017 at 4:07 pm

I hope easy to get a spare parts