Police studying use of e-reporting for traffic cases

The police are studying the feasibility of expanding the scope of the online e-Reporting system to include making police reports for traffic and crime cases, Bernama reports.

According to Tan Sri Khalid Abu Bakar, the inspector-general of police, a request had been made to the attorney-general’s chambers to study the plan, as the move will have legal implications.

“Currently, the e-Reporting system cannot be used for making police reports on crime cases and traffic complaints as this has legal implications. I hope this can be resolved fast for the facility to benefit all,” he said.

At present, the system is only able to handle reports that do not involve criminal cases or do not require further investigation by the police – it can be used for reporting the loss of an identity card, driving licence, road tax slip, passport, credit or ATM card, mobile phone and laptop, as well as for cases of runaway domestic maids.

The e-Reporting application, which was launched in March, can only be used in Kuala Lumpur by Malaysians aged 18 years and above, but Khalid said its availability will be extended nationwide soon.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Periasamy on Jul 27, 2017 at 7:56 pm

This is good for the public IF only the other side is active and awake.

Most of the time, the recipient of the report is sleeping, so the urgency or the matter and the deployment of patrol cars immediately will be a problem.

Don’t forget, Malaysia has this problem about the other side being asleep. Remember, even high spec military radar controller and airport controller can lose the MAS plane because they were “asleep”.

Until we sort our tido problem, no point doing E reporting.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 9
    • The recipient is sleeping? Never did knew server computers go to sleep…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 45
      • Otak Udang on Jul 28, 2017 at 9:29 am

never knew server can run after suspects?

• Polis at counter taking ur repot straightaway jump over the counter and run after the perps? Which movie u see that from?

• Mutalib on Jul 27, 2017 at 10:55 pm

No need all this. Old fashion call also polis come few hours later. My last break-in at 2am, I call polis, the guys came 1 hour later. Robber already run away after stealing all my barang

My house and balai 10 mins walk away

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
      • If come earlier must fight robber, who dare?

• Balai polis biasa and balai polis trafiknot same same. The balai polis trafik near ur place dun catch thieves.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
        • Otak Udang on Jul 28, 2017 at 10:25 am

Another dumb answer from our resident mental patient

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
          • zebra on Jul 28, 2017 at 11:13 am

If u pay peanuts, u get monkeys

• And deswai polis trafik dun gip u a F when u go their station to repot ur stolen phone & laptop.

Jgn kata otak udang, otak memang xde.

• My england is bad on Jul 27, 2017 at 8:02 pm

Lipott in england or malayu

• Repot in hieroglyphics perhaps cuz some pipu dun understandings Ingland or BM.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 21
      • 12yrsold on Jul 28, 2017 at 9:07 am

Sorry for asking UNCLE john. May I know what the hell is “hieroglyphics”?? My papa said, if I don’t know, I must ask.

• Budak 12tahun, tapi ilmu 7tahun.

• Mikey on Jul 28, 2017 at 3:01 pm

Apa salahnya budak tanya kalau dia tak paham?

• 12yrsold on Jul 28, 2017 at 3:05 pm

Uncle john, Google put tada, dalam kamus pun tada “hieroglyphics” la. U belajar dari mana?

• Otak Udang on Jul 28, 2017 at 9:30 am

what nonsense statement is this?

• How come dun understandings? Police officers must passed both SPM English and BM right.

• Yes. But pipu repoting dunno. So how? Bagilah in hieroglyphics, what else!

• Oh, so we report phone and laptop stolen, police will not further investigate? Indirectly asking the theif to steal and we wont investigate or catch you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • Jimmy on Jul 27, 2017 at 10:03 pm

Should not be done.
    At least not until we are better than United Kingdom.

• Badan orang besar saja on Jul 28, 2017 at 9:40 am

Do you mean better than UK in terms of mentality? I agree if this is the case

• Mikey on Jul 28, 2017 at 9:01 am

The report says – At present, the system is only able to handle reports that do not involve criminal cases or do not require investigation by the police.

If it does not REQUIRE further investigation, why bother to report?! Is this the message PDRM is trying to tell us!

• kingslayer on Jul 28, 2017 at 4:34 pm

i dunno if u are stupid or bongok.. read more.. if u lost your IC (maybe drop ur wallet or something) and dunno where it is, how does police want to investigate..

unless or coz u told the police someone snatch ur wallet and u can (falsely) describe the culprit..

missing IC need police report by JPN. if u don’t file a police report, u can’t file new / replacement IC application. Then again u’ll bark like rabies dog.

i wanna say don’t breed, but, kids not normally inherit parents stupidity.. i hope that stop with u.. dun ever pass to ur kids, ok?

• thepolygonal on Jul 28, 2017 at 9:17 am

Does this mean I can report those traffic offenders like emergency lane users, traffic lights runners, queue cutters… yes at last I shall have my revenge.

• After 2 weeks…
    “System kami down encik. Encik cuba call balik 1 minggu kemudian”

After 1 week…
    “System kami takde report encik. Encik boleh datang ke IPD..”

• Hugo Andore on Jul 28, 2017 at 11:15 am

Not to pour cold water on PDRM but seriously I have no confidence that these guys are up to the task in the handling e-reports.

Remember the JPJ whatsapp number where you can lodge offenders and other JPJ related incidents, sent them like 4-5 reports but not even a single response/follow up received up to date.

There was one time, I witness a car accident, some drunkards rammed into a wall after a sharp curve, driver was injured on the head, it took me like 5 phone calls but talk to the right person. Every mofo who picked up the call just taichi the call to some fckin department.

• U called balai polis biasa, instead u shud call balai polis trafik. Deswai the delays.

• Hugo Andore on Jul 28, 2017 at 2:53 pm

I called the traffic department, the operator said accidents are not under her department’s jurisidiction, told me to call another department and that went on and on…

• U probably said “Hey eksiden, someone injured, pls come helps”.
          U do know which emergency servis to call for injured person, right? The white van with blinking red light?

• C. P. MOHAN on Jul 28, 2017 at 12:23 pm

‘Substance over Form’ one party is talking about improving form and the other is talking about it’s poor substance. Honestly, to be effective and efficient we need both working in unison.

• HT Mao on Jul 29, 2017 at 12:50 pm

PDRM tak bole pakai…..Everybody knows that…..