Police issue 11,368 summonses in three-day operation

The police has announced that 11,368 summonses were issued during a three-day traffic enforcement operation carried out nationwide last week, Bernama reports

Most of the summonses issued under Ops Bersepadu Had Laju involved offences such as driving exceeding speed limits and not possessing a driver’s license, according to Bukit Aman traffic investigation and enforcement department principal assistant director Supt Mustafa Bakri Salleh.

“We find that offences relating to speed limits are still high, and despite various warnings and reminders being given, road users still failed to adhere to regulations imposed in certain areas. This operation is specifically meant to educate road users to be more disciplined,” he said.

The operation was conducted by 64 officers, along with 583 personnel from the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) and National AntiDrugs Agency (NADA), as well as those from the immigration department.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Redidiot on Aug 14, 2017 at 11:12 am

Since Malaysian drivers so degil, gomen shud make speed limiters mandatory to all new cars, and for current ones to be retrofitted.

You can buy any car, from P2 to Ferraris-but all will only have 110 kmh speed limit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
    • Sinister on Aug 14, 2017 at 3:20 pm

Speed limiters are only for idiots like you. Sometimes you have to speed for emergencies. I occasionally go up to 250km/h on the highway when the roads are clear but also pay the saman on time if I get it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 34
      • We don’t care if U pay the summon or not cause u’ve the money. U might be can see the roadway ahead is clear, but what about the another side of highway? What happened if u involved in a horror accident that caused harm to other innocent persons? Could you pay them sufficient compensation for his whole life if the victim become a handicapped person?? What happen if somebody else killed? Are U willing to pay it with your own life too??? Don’t be selfish and please think if the victims are your beloved ones!

• potato on Aug 14, 2017 at 11:44 am

kudos for PDRM hard work. been raining big time over the weekend. hope you don’t get cold from carrying out your duties.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • Sinister on Aug 14, 2017 at 3:22 pm

PDRM SOP for road blocks are from ancient colonial times. They should open more than one lane for their checking. Even operasi besar-besaran always end up with only one lane passing thru these roadblocks.

• blvcktnt on Aug 14, 2017 at 11:55 am

Takpe lah musim raya.

• Alan smith on Aug 14, 2017 at 12:54 pm

Just in time to pad up the stats number

• According to bashers, real saman issued X10.

• 12yrsold on Aug 14, 2017 at 3:29 pm

He he he. Police said they issued 11,368 summonses but PDRM only deploy 64 officers while the rest consists of 583 personnel from SPAD, National AntiDrugs Agency & from immigration department.

11,368 divide by 647 = 17.57 summons per person for 3 days. Divide 17.57 by 3 days = 5.85 summons per person per day. That is “HARD” work indeed.

• In other words, polis was smart to use other resources to minimise headcount while maximum saman issued. Kudos to polis for upping efficiency. Now u know how to work “SMART” not only just “HARD”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
      • potato on Aug 15, 2017 at 10:51 am

totally agree. this is like running a business, you want to keep the cost down to maximize profit which includes keeping work force down to minimal.

if they were to follow recommendations from so called “experts” here, and open up 4 lanes, or put 1 officer on each toll booth, that would mean alot of “operating cost” as they have to hire x4 more employees to man 4 lanes.

• Cincin cincin on Aug 14, 2017 at 11:34 pm

Sigh, cincin yang mahal ya

• 12yrsold on Aug 15, 2017 at 8:59 am

He he he. In other words, many are having kopi/teh & Kari Puffs in-between. That is HARD work. SMART people are people who do Not do hard labour – according 2 your logic.

U call them DONKEY(last week in Toyota & Mazda article). REMEMBER!! Oh U forgot because U overwork over the weekend. That makes U a Donkey. Cheers… to Donkey.

• fabian on Aug 15, 2017 at 1:09 pm

increase saman to 1% of car’s new sale price,minimum RM300.
    RM100k car, saman = RM1k
    RM1mil car, saman = RM10k

repeat offender have multiplier effect,
    2X for second time offender
    3X for third time offender and so on.

• Oldman Longan on Aug 15, 2017 at 3:35 pm

Saman la banyak mana pun tak de maknanya. I want to see the real implementation of Kejara demerit points, so some people who all these while speed to 250 km/h and willingly paid summonses because they have money, get their license suspended or revoke.

• TipahTertipu on Aug 15, 2017 at 7:39 pm

how many cases were “kawtim”??

• Bernard on Aug 16, 2017 at 11:55 am

Can’t change msian drivers, it’s an impossible task. Correction has to be done when they are born …. now too late