New Toyota Yaris Ativ launched in Thailand – 1.2L, 7 airbags standard, priced from 469k baht (RM60k)

The new Toyota Yaris Ativ sedan has made its launch debut in Thailand, a few days after an official teaser video was first released. The car is based on the current Vios sold there, but comes with a smaller engine to comply with Thailand’s Eco Car rules. It will compete against other cars like the Honda Brio Amaze, Mitsubishi Attrage and Suzuki Ciaz.

All five variants – J Eco, J, E, G and S – are powered by a 1.2 litre Dual VVT-i four-cylinder engine paired with a Super CVT-i automatic. The 3NR-FE powerplant is identical to the one found in the Yaris hatchback (also an Eco Car), churning out 86 PS and 108 Nm of torque.

The Yaris Ativ features unique front and rear ends to distinguish itself from the Vios, the latter featuring slimmer LED rear combination taillights. A large lower grille dominates the sedan’s face, with the typical Toyota V headlamp and grille combo occupying the upper section.

Looking closer into the details, the Yaris Ativ also features a distinct character line that starts from the front wheel arch, heading towards the rear doors, with another line linking the door handles to the rear taillights.

Equipment wise, E, G and S variants are fitted with 15-inch alloy wheels, while 15- and 14-inch steel sets are on the J and J Eco, respectively. Halogen projectors also make their way to the G and S variants, while it is halogen reflectors for the other variants.

Inside, fabric seats are standard across the line-up, with leather or urethane-wrapped controls depending on variant. Similarly, door trims vary from leather (with red stitching) to fabric kinds, and interior colours offered include black or beige.

The range-topping S gets the most goodies here, with a seven-inch touchscreen head unit, automatic air-conditioning, 4.2-inch multi-info display, Optitron instrument cluster, six speakers as well as keyless entry and start.

On the safety front, the Yaris Ativ comes with seven airbags (front, sides, curtain and driver’s knee), VSC, traction control, hill start assist, ABS with EBD and brake assist. All these are standard on every variant of the sedan, which isn’t bad for an Eco Car.

Prices start at 469,000 baht (RM60,506) for the J Eco, followed by the J at 519,000 baht (RM66,957), E at 549,000 baht (RM70,827), G at 599,000 baht (RM77,278) and lastly, the S at 619,000 baht (RM79,858). What do you think of the new Yaris Ativ?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Leafable on Aug 15, 2017 at 2:50 pm

Well done Toyota Thailand. 7 airbags and VSC as standard. UMW you next?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 1
    • Albert Yong on Aug 15, 2017 at 3:13 pm

actually it is RM49k. Don’t convert. Our currency jatuh so much the past few years against the Thai Baht.

So, bear in mind, for RM49k, you get a Toyota with 7 airbags.

In Malaysia….what do you get??? We are still waiting for our 30% car price reduction.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 8
      • stroll on Aug 15, 2017 at 4:38 pm

How come? Your calculation does not make any sense. Yes our currency drop as of today. we should use today’s rate. 30% price drop, all B segment sedans and hatch will be priced same as P1 lord. Can they survive?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
        • Salesman Design Better on Aug 15, 2017 at 7:05 pm

This design? Seriously?

• my england is bad on Aug 15, 2017 at 8:21 pm

Aiya basher stays in cave for long time.
            1.You have to follow current currency exchange.

2. You want price reduced ? You think this is kangkung what?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
        • 31 millions malaysian is wating perodua(D/T) to rebadge this car, modification Exterior Housing & Interior Casing, to release by 2018 @RM46k. Bcoz MAI newly invested multi-millions Automotive R&D center at Rawang, with facilities provided RD shorten from 3yrs to 18mths for a full car development. If only housing & casing change, less than 1y will do.

• We dun wan bumper & bodykit R&D. Oh and stickers & racing stripes R&D too.

• Alredi gip u 61% diskaun, u dun wan. When price high, u says too exp. When reduced prices, u pulak hentam no RV. So mana mau ni?

Which world u came from that has bog standard cars with super low price & super high RV?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 10
    • alldisc on Aug 15, 2017 at 3:16 pm

Let’s see whether government allows Toyota to sell this car at 60k, killing persona, myvi 1.5 and alza. Different cars, sample price. Last time they allowed Toyota to bring in vios at 80k, proton has lost market badly until now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
    • camtakpro on Aug 15, 2017 at 3:53 pm

So Yaris Activ > low spec Altis in terms of airbag counts?

• thepolygonal on Aug 15, 2017 at 4:09 pm

7 airbags…achieved Merc standard!

• ncpau on Aug 15, 2017 at 8:33 pm

This Ativ got how many ANCAP star? Even catfish vios dun go test

• So cheap… before RM drop into longkang, 1yr+ ago currency exchange rate was 1:1, Toyota Yaris only cost RM46K; without tax is below 40k. Bear in mind SUZUKI SWIFT without tax only cost RM30K.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
    • nemesis on Aug 16, 2017 at 10:56 am

this makes the rio looks sooo much nicer

• Perodua should create a sedan like this, not like Bezza

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
  • Albert Yong on Aug 15, 2017 at 3:16 pm

When will MAI and MITI insist that all cars should have VSC and minimum 6 airbags?

They dare not do this cause most car companies in Malaysia are gomen owned. So, less profit for the gomen if they give you 7 airbags and VSC

Toyota – UMW Gomen GLC
    Honda – DRB GLC
    Hyundai Sime Darby GLC
    Ford – Sime Darby GLC
    BMW – Sime Darby GLC
    Perodua – UMW GLC
    Proton DRB GLC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 14
    • sure all of them got GLC kah? Only one got GLC is Mesidis.

• ex-VGM staff on Aug 15, 2017 at 5:11 pm

BMW is not controlled by Sime Darby lah. the Germans are here now in BMW Malaysia. Auto Bavaria is just a dealer now. this has been for several years already. if AB still running BMW HQ, we will only see 3 series, 5 and 7 series forever.

no 1 series, 2 series, X1, X3, X5, 5GT etc.

• anonymous on Aug 15, 2017 at 3:24 pm

This model will be replacing existing Vios.
    And next gen Vios will be more premium under TGNA architecture

• Mohd Faiz on Aug 15, 2017 at 3:58 pm

if fully loaded with very-fat women, ada power cukup naik genting gunung?

• the fat woman has to take teksi genting.

• Sam Kuntaik Loo on Aug 15, 2017 at 5:40 pm

Can. Any car also can naik genting lorrrr, however this car as well as other low powered cars must strictly turn off aircond.

• tabouleh naik bukit on Aug 15, 2017 at 8:27 pm

Habis la naik genting enjin mengaum more than campro bising

• Honda Thai’s sale will keep going strong after launching this failed plastic surgery vois…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • RM60K? This is what you get when you don’t have Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
  • RavenAii (Member) on Aug 15, 2017 at 4:27 pm

Imo, I prefer this one over our current generation Vios. The lines are subtle and less sharp edges are present on the Ativ. Never really fond to Toyota’s new corporate design but this one looks humble and lovable, I like it. However, the engine though… If it was Turboed 1.2L then it’s fine, but Natural Aspirated 1.2L?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • turboed on Aug 15, 2017 at 8:40 pm

Turbo? In your dream

• RavenAii (Member) on Aug 16, 2017 at 7:30 pm

I said ‘if’, did I say I wish it as turbo? No. Questioning and Hoping is quite different.

• karam singh on Aug 15, 2017 at 9:56 pm

Do you realise the middle body is actually vios? They only shortened the front and rear body. Redesigned the look. Plus different dashboard. But I must say its clever engineering.

• hyundai89 on Aug 15, 2017 at 5:05 pm

omg..outdated design interior..add few red line to create sporty look??poor design

• Marieta on Aug 15, 2017 at 6:54 pm

Woah, side silhouette looks like current Proton Saga! Who agreed thumb me down!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • Interior oso looks like Saga3 mashed with City but looks cheaper than both

• Kuinosan on Aug 15, 2017 at 8:01 pm

Still not over the Vios era Toyota? Carry on with this stubborn attitude and you can say good bye to your sales targets!!!

• 60k for a CVT eco toyota and based on the current vios? Sounds like a facelift and a downside engine with 7 airbags. Not too bad, but will it come to Malaysia? Slotting in between the P2 Bezza and the Toyota Vios…

• Jimmy on Aug 15, 2017 at 10:31 pm

A Milo tin looked good in blue.
    Overall looked better than the current Vee-eos.
    If RM60k with 7 + 1, few people will want to buy the current Vee-eos, I think.
    1.2 L typical of kura-kura across all the models, maybe except BMW-Supra, wait and see.
    400k for 9.2 second is shameful, no?

• Nautica on Aug 16, 2017 at 8:21 am

The front face is overdone and ‘busy’ compared to the rear styling. And will all the safety features be intact when and if it arrive to our shores? Or will UMW give us just 2 airbags and ABS and bump the price up to RM 80K?

• Ben Yap on Aug 16, 2017 at 9:06 am

power output is super disappointing.