Geely GC9 commissioned for China’s diplomatic fleet

Fifty brand new units of Geely’s flagship D-segment sedan, the GC9 will be added to China’s diplomatic fleet, serving as official cars for state guests, diplomats and other dignitaries during their visit to the land of the dragon.

This is on top of the 20 GC9s (also known as Geely Borui) delivered to China’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs back in 2015 after a series of official car policy reforms issued by the Chinese government in 2012. The move was to actively promote homegrown car brands for state and official use.

The Geely GC9 is the first flagship sedan in Geely’s 3.0 generation product portfolio, and was designed by former Volvo’s head of design, Peter Horbury. It’s offered with three petrol engines, a 2.4 litre naturally-aspirated inline-four, 1.8 litre turbocharged direct injection four potter and a 3.5 litre NA V6, all of which are paired to a six-speed automatic transmission. The car’s platform was jointly developed with Volvo.

For the 2018 model, the GC9 gets a major facelift and Geely’s latest iNTEC driver technologies, as well as improvements to the handling and NVH department.

Uruguay’s ambassador to China, Fernando Lugris said, “we had previously chosen the Geely GC9 as our official car. The model’s Chinese design, large interior and intelligent driving technology left us with a very good impression. We will once again choose the GC9 as our official car and believe that it’s a good representation of China’s automotive manufacturing strength and style.”

At the handover ceremony, Zhejiang Geely Holding Group President and Geely Auto Group President and CEO said, “looking into the future, we will deliver even higher quality products and services that will meet the increasingly mature market demand.”

Closer to home, Geely’s priority is to strengthen its presence in Malaysia and ASEAN markets before venturing into exports. Its chairman, Li Shufu wants to bring Proton out of the reds and prioritise RHD research and development for future cars. We can already expect the Boyue SUV to hit Malaysian showrooms by end-2018, and you can read our initial review of the SUV here.

GALLERY: Geely GC9 Borui / Emgrand GT

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Kunta Kinte on Sep 08, 2017 at 11:46 pm

Can we also get the GC9 in Malaysia? Better to buang all the Accordana. I don’t see why Proton has to pay so much of royalty to Honda for the rights to rebadge the Accord. Hundreds of Millions down the drain.

Also, don’t see why Government servants need a 2.4 Accord when a 2.0 is more than enough. Infact, Government Servants all should be given Persona and Saga as their official cars to save Rakyat’s money.

Anyway, assuming we want a D seg sedan, better we bring this GC9 into Malaysia.

Thank you China for saving Proton and saving Malaysia!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 159 Thumb down 10
    • Kunta Kinte on Sep 09, 2017 at 12:00 am

Amazing how Geely, just started in 1997, can be so successful. They paid cash for Volvo and they made USD$30 billion in profits in 2016. They are so cash rich. They had to fight with so many other local China car manufacturers.

Proton started in 1985, much older company, with full Government help and protectionism, and yet, it barely can make money.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 106 Thumb down 6
      • Tupac Sakur on Sep 10, 2017 at 7:20 am

china have 1.3 billion people while malaysia only have 31 million people. if 5% people of china buy geely, that would be around 65 million cars. more than half the population of malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 11
        • Ruslan Bahari on Sep 11, 2017 at 8:33 am

Thank you, Tupac, for a smart answer. Many people think age is the pre-requisite to success and wisdom. Not always true.

But yes, Geely is a true-blue success, market size notwithstanding. PROTON was far too protected and thus tended to rest on their laurels. I remember their salesmen in the 90s when I entered car-buying age; they literally did not have to sell a car as buyers bought on price (and Japanese assurance).

Hopefully they have learnt their lessons and Geely will take them to greater heights.

• To Be on Sep 11, 2017 at 9:00 am

How about Korea, 51.25 million population, where Hyundai group is one of the global player today.

• alldisc on Sep 11, 2017 at 10:27 am

hyundai’s success began 30 years ago as they aggresively marketed their cars in europe and america. and the result is there now – hyundai is indeed a popular and trusted brand in the USA.

• Jangan persoal on Sep 11, 2017 at 9:40 am

malaysia have 32 million people. if proton sales is 64k units, how many % malaysia population buy proton.

• rchoo on Sep 11, 2017 at 9:12 am

And their car sells very well in China especially SUV

• Shady on Sep 09, 2017 at 5:13 am

Spot on, Government Servants only allowed to buy Persona and Saga. No foreign brands. then Thank you Government Servants for saving Proton.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 5
      • Front of Preve with nose job
        Side of Accord Banana
        Rear of Mazda 3

WTH?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 46
      • topkek on Sep 09, 2017 at 9:42 am

Hypocrisy at its best, when car got taxed tau pulak nak harga rendah, kalau harga rendah then gomen servants tabouleh pakai non-p1?

Apa ke tahian ini? Very topkek.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 31
        • Sembang kacang. Reduce 30% as promised 1st, u then can start talkok.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 4
          • The only sembang kencang is u. When reduced prices, u pulak hentam no RV. So mana mau ni?
            Which world u came from that has bog

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
          • My england is bad on Sep 11, 2017 at 9:43 am

Reduce 1st. Tak paham england ke~

• topkek on Sep 11, 2017 at 3:46 pm

Belum reduce lagi dah sembang kencang tak boleh itu ini.

Make your own nick la, basher pemalas

• Our first Perdana is much better than the new Proton Accord or even this GC9. I dun know why they discontinue. It was a top seller. Better than Merc oso

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 75
      • rotijohn on Sep 09, 2017 at 7:44 am

Our first Perdana was a Mitsubishi car. Fullstop!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 0
        • Proton is the worst car company since slice bread. From first to third generations also using jepunis platform. Even Chinese Geely can build their own GC9

• Ohwai on Sep 11, 2017 at 2:56 am

It is rebadged car. So?

• tokmoh. on Sep 09, 2017 at 8:32 am

Exactly. Enough wasting money to Honda, time to cut them off, and rebadge this car instead. Freshly facelifted too.

Built with Volvo’s engineering expertise, peace of mind safety and quality. Cheaper than Japanese outdated junk too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
    • Tahniah dan Syabas to Geely and also by extension Geely Malaysia. It seems you guys know what you are doing. Well done.

• Geely GE is a better choice for Perdana. It looks grand and can make Rolls Royce out of business.

• Hopefully the new Geely Malaysia CEO Li Chunrong will take the ex-national car company to new heights. Thank you Tongsan overlords!

• Hidop Potong on Sep 08, 2017 at 11:48 pm

I can see next generation of Proton Perdana there

• Borui sound like no money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • If price below rm 100k , people will buy.

• Jason on Sep 09, 2017 at 8:10 pm

If the V6 engine is cheaper than camry,totally would buy.Nak jugak rasa enjin V6 on highway!

• Karim on Sep 11, 2017 at 11:01 am

Alfadana V6.

• abah kau on Sep 11, 2017 at 12:12 pm

enjin V6 torque rendah (sbb cranckshaft pendek mcm myvi) reaksi enjin malas bila kereta berat. sbb tu minyak kuat. kenapa camry 2.5 dan teana 2.5 guna 4 silinder aje. lebih bagus. crankshaft panjang, piston besar. low end kuat, ada power. myk save. kenapa BMW tak penah guna v6, tapi mesti straight 6.. sbb torque kuat. skrg dah lain sbb semua BMW twin power.

• loler on Sep 11, 2017 at 3:48 pm

Camry and teana low end power? More like cow pulling cart
        Lololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololololo

• tokmoh. on Sep 09, 2017 at 8:25 am

Geely > all

• JeepBoy on Sep 09, 2017 at 9:12 am

Some govt cars on the road aren’t Proton. There are Nissan, Honda, Toyota, etc, with luxurious spec. Just drive around Putrajaya and you’ll see that. Seem like govt themselves don’t support proton.

And Proton wants rakyat to be patriotic and buy Proton??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 1
    • You got it all bullseye right there. True/ genuine fact is a lovely thing. 1 bigshot is a hardcore Tesla supporter even.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • P1 alredi private. So gov no more ties to sapot. Gov prefers pipu use public transport instead

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 27
    • Imprezzed on Sep 09, 2017 at 9:57 pm

Yup. Noticed lots of Toyota Fortuners as JPJ official cars. whyyyyyyyyyyyyyy…….

• ex-VGM staff on Sep 11, 2017 at 10:38 am

some departments need the capabilities to go off road. like JKR, JPJ, kementerian Kesihatan, jabatan orang asli.and the taxes paid by these ministries is like money from left pocket to right pocket – means govt pays only the basic car price. nothing more.

• heyheyman123 on Sep 09, 2017 at 11:20 pm

Make Honda, Proton, BMW and Mercedes Benz win-win, everyone happy except for Perodua

• heyheyman123 on Sep 09, 2017 at 11:24 pm

Guys pls read my second comment that I wrote the same comment in my first comment cause I accidentally post my first comment without checking the words

• This car would have looked impressive in 2010, not 2017!

• zamer on Sep 11, 2017 at 8:01 am

pls dont make this as Perdana..already outdated design.
    Volvo S90 perhaps..or perhaps totally discontinue Perdana.

Malaysian are looking for foreign brand if were to buy >100k car

• Carozza on Sep 11, 2017 at 9:55 am

70k car, Malaysians are looking for foreign brand. Honda Toyota VW starting prices.

• azhar on Sep 11, 2017 at 9:36 am

back to rebadge business!