Grab partners with Here for more accurate routing

Ride-hailing service Grab has announced an expanded partnership with Here today, using the latter’s maps to provide more accurate fare estimations, ETAs and trip routing. The mapping company will provide its services in Malaysia, Indonesia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam, which will be combined with real-world on-road data from Grab’s 1.3 million drivers.

Here – owned by German carmakers Audi, BMW and Mercedes-Benz – is creating the most up-to-date maps to be used by autonomous driving and connected driver assistance systems, and has employed a fleet of Here True vehicles to continuously map the road network. The result is the HD Live Map, a three-dimensional representation of the physical world that is accurate down to two centimetres.

Aside from its maps, Here will also provide its places of interest (POI) database gathered through public sector and enterprise partners such as Samsung, Amazon and Microsoft, as well as real-time traffic data sourced from vehicles and devices connected to its network.

Forming the backbone of the collaboration is Here’s Matrix API, which enables Grab to improve the way drivers are assigned to passengers. The Basic Routing API will also provide passengers with more reliable ETAs and corresponding fare estimations.

Grab says that the data-sharing partnership will help it overcome the challenges of operating in rapidly-developing countries such as Myanmar and the Philippines, which have no established national address system. To that end, Here has embarked on a two-year, 45,000 km mission to create the first ever comprehensive digital map of the Philippine road network, which it has almost completed.

“South East Asia is developing quickly, with new roads and new rules emerging every day. By layering local map data on top of Here’s comprehensive location data, we can optimise driver-passenger interactions and further streamline our backend dispatch systems,” said Grab’s head of product Jerald Singh.

Here APAC director Mark Whitmore added, “We’re proud to support Grab’s fast evolving platform and growing network of passengers, drivers and new service lines with our robust and flexible on-demand location platform. We look forward to helping Grab streamline pick-up and drop-off processes, provide reliable ETAs and ultimately improve traffic management in underserviced cities like Yangon.”

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• transformer on Sep 22, 2017 at 8:34 pm

Here is actually bought from Nokia. I still miss 10years ago Nokia’s Maps apps, its so easy and accurate. Not sure if new Nokia android phone has Maps or not…..

• Rude Greedy Driver on Sep 22, 2017 at 9:04 pm

Yes.Grab need to fix their little error on routing.The residential area on map slightly different than actual route.I ended up 500 metres from my destination and got scolded from driver for the map error.I gave only 1 star for the rudeness.

• I remember the days of using HERE which came standard on Windows Phone… quite a good app; before Waze became mainstream.

• Stanley on Sep 22, 2017 at 10:02 pm

I feel is a money making ploy from Grab. This would actually result in more pricey fares in the future, keep on the lookout.

• Jimbeam on Sep 25, 2017 at 10:45 am

Nope. by using HERE the fare is actually lower right now. like RM3-RM4 lower!

• Good job Grab! on Sep 23, 2017 at 5:49 pm

Kudos to the founders of Grab..they have created thousand of jobs for thevrakyat which.the gomen didnt …well done.

• Gov help to legalise Grab which help to create them jobs. So yes, gov DID create them jobs. Kudos to gov.

• SALang on Sep 25, 2017 at 1:21 pm

who need jobs? Pipu prefers gomen BR1M.

• We’ve got car for hire and bicycle for hire. Has any company introduced motorbike for hire in peninsular malaysia (excluding Langkawi)?? The administration has stop the motorbike ride sharing sometime back.

• Ollie on Sep 25, 2017 at 9:09 am

Anything but waze. I liked using here, but google maps is a better product, only it’s so slow at times.. waze is a product designed for 3 year olds. Look up cases of people who use waze ending up in head-on collisions.