Baojun E100 – GM’s tiny RM23k, 155 km EV for China

The recent IAA 2017 show in Frankfurt was all about carmakers talking about electrification and showing off electric concepts. Everyone’s fear is to be left behind, if we are truly heading into an electric era. And who can blame them? This morning we read about Dyson, a company known for fans and vacuum cleaners, preparing a ground-up electric car for 2020.

But electric cars are expensive, right? Not always. Its performance is quite some way from a Tesla, but the Baojun E100 is priced at just RMB35,800 (RM22,769) in China after national and local subsidies. Baojun is a brand of GM’s Chinese joint venture, SAIC-GM-Wuling, and the E100 is its first full EV.

On July 10, SAIC-GM-Wuling started limited pre-sales of the E100 in Liuzhou, Guangxi. More than 5,000 people registered for the first 200 vehicles. Another 500 units were made available from July 22, with sales initially limited to Guangxi.

The E100 is powered by an electric motor that produces 110 Nm of torque and 39 hp (29 kW) of power. It can travel up to 155 km on a single charge, making it decent urban commuter. The lithium-ion battery pack can be fully charged in 7.5 hours, and the E100 is capable of harvesting energy through a regenerative braking system.

To give you some perspective, the just-unveiled second-generation Nissan Leaf‘s motor is rated at 320 Nm and 148 hp (110 kW). The mass market Nissan EV has a driving range of 400 km in Japan’s cycle and 378 km in the New European Driving Cycle (NEDC).

But the Baojun is a tiny Smart-style two-seater with a wheelbase of 1,600 mm, and 110 Nm from rest should give it enough poke it the city, where its turning radius of 3.7 meters would also prove to be useful. Max speed is 100 km/h, which means the E100 can venture out of the inner city and on to highways.

The E100 has independent front suspension and single-arm rear suspension. Standard features include ABS with EBD, an electronic parking brake, parking sensors, Isofix mounts for child seats and a pedestrian alert system. There’s also WiFi and a seven-inch screen on the dashboard. The premium Zhixiang variant adds on touchpad, air filter and keyless entry.

What do you think of a cheap little EV like this one to get people started on electric cars? Sure, the lack of space and range means that it’s not car for all situations, but I reckon it could work well as a second car, one to make short trips in.

I’d imagine that something like this, at this price, would fit into my life very well. The MRT station is one km away, and round trips to downtown KL are below 20 km. Many of our trips are to malls, which have charging stations. The only stumbling block is that I don’t have a porch to charge the car. What about you?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Sini no need ka?????? on Sep 27, 2017 at 5:01 pm

Hello…come here oso la…oiiii…why onli china…malaysia not humans ahhh…how now…can order online?? Alibaba..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
  • Smart4two clone, but whats the NCAP rating.

• Nowadays, china has many electric bike on the road.

No surprise for another 5 years, the EV car will be a hit over there.

At the same time, air quality will improve.

• thepolygonal on Sep 27, 2017 at 6:01 pm

Looks like a cute one. Get the yellow one and call it Pichuchu (electric pokemon getit?). I believe the maintenance is as frequent as a washing machine or ceiling fan.

Wait what .. I see the aircon dails but no aircon vents…

• Aircon vents is cost option that will be RMB10k extra. Now everybody can drive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • Anak Sarawak on Sep 27, 2017 at 8:21 pm

If any company trying to promote this in SARAWAK, I’ll be amongst the first to sign-up!!! Provided that I’m given (to use) one to test for the whole year…I will personally promote them (EVs)…!!!!

Call me crazy, but my daily trips in roundabout 90 km per day…so it is in range allright, then plug it in before I sleep, and whoosshhhh!!!!!, the next morning…

What say you all…??? Call me crazy, but, we’ve got to start somewhere to minimize dependency on fossil fuel…

I bet I’ll be very2 unpopular amongst the GIANTS…(SHELL,PETRONAS,PETRON….etc..)

• Lai Lai Chi on Sep 27, 2017 at 11:17 pm

dont take corner faster than 45kmph…if not, surely gonna….

• 12yrsold on Sep 28, 2017 at 8:26 am

Yoo. So cute la. Perfect for supermarket shopping & picking up just One kid. The best part is it will not take up lots of space & don’t have to worry when will fuel price go up.

• rchoo on Sep 28, 2017 at 9:37 am

This car fits my family especially my wife ferrying 4 children daily of which daily traveled distance is only about 60Km max. I can charge it every night on my porch, very useful car.

China’s indigenous cars and SUV (especially SUV) are already eating into foreign cars big time since late last years as their design and technology are very near and on par with foreign manufactures, you will be shocked and awed seeing their newly launched SUV.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Sep 28, 2017 at 12:10 pm

Being it to Msia please. Very handy for township & nearby places use.

• Hi i read about this boajun E100 i was very impressed ,congratulation on your invention ,but in my oponion you said the battery needs 7 hours of charging which i think you can up grade or do some fine tuning that may make your car more meaningful abd useful. If only you install a SOLAR SYSTEM TO CHARGE TGE BATTERY AS IT MOVES ,the car can vover more milage ang people cab be more cobfident to travel further. Just a simpke system on tge roof will be very advantage .
    Tks