Daihatsu DN Compagno – four-door coupe concept

Japanese compact car manufacturer Daihatsu has a slew of new models set for unveiling at this year’s edition of the Tokyo Motor Show, including the DN Compagno four-door coupe concept. The nameplate harks back to the 1963 Compagno, which spawned a sedan, pick-up truck and a cabriolet in its lifetime.

Daihatsu calls the Compagno concept a “compact four-door coupe for active seniors,” with a design and interior space to comfortably accommodate two adults with emphasis on front-seat occupant comfort.

Where its namesake was considerably more British in its styling especially in cabriolet form, the DN Campagno has a more contemporary Japanese edge to its styling, particularly with the Mirai-esque treatment of its rear end. Its roofline somewhat references that of the Peugeot RCZ, sweeping from the A-pillar, through the roof edge to the C-pillar in one motion.

Inside, the sole image of the dashboard reveals an infotainment control surface which blends seamlessly into the fascia, with a relatively thin-rimmed steering wheel. Red contrast stitching and suede trim add a sporty flavour, while chrome brightwork further lift the ambience.

It has a total seating capacity of four within its sleek-roofed form, and under the hood is either a 1.0 litre turbocharged engine or a 1.2 litre hybrid powertrain. What do you think of a modern Daihatsu four-door coupe?

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• pikotarok on Oct 16, 2017 at 10:15 am

Wow stylo daihatsu copen

• Jimmy on Oct 16, 2017 at 11:00 pm

You can’t have squarish boxy retro classic design mixed together with futuristic fluidic round elements, can you?

• arowana on Oct 16, 2017 at 10:15 am

looks like a design drawn by my 5 year old nephew

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • YB Kunta Kinte on Oct 16, 2017 at 10:23 am

If this becomes production and Perodua rebadges it, Proton can close shop. Tutup kedai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
  • FanBoy on Oct 16, 2017 at 10:39 am

Go for it Daihatsu n Perodua.

• walao on Oct 16, 2017 at 11:19 am

wow.. interesting… i loike

• 12yrsold on Oct 16, 2017 at 11:49 am

This is what U get when U try to crossbreed the past Daihatsu with future Daihatsu = Daihatsu DN Compagno

• Leonardo on Oct 16, 2017 at 2:40 pm

Looks too simplistic for Senior Citizens…maybe for Japanese Senior Citizens.
    In fact I think it looks a bit “cartoonish”.
    A good idea but the execution needs drastic improvements if it is meant for the world market.

• Jimmy on Oct 16, 2017 at 11:03 pm

Cartoon was exactly the first word in my mind when I first saw the picture.

• Bernard on Oct 16, 2017 at 3:22 pm

From the Jetsons?

• Crappy Outalingam on Oct 16, 2017 at 3:34 pm

No, no, no, no…..fintails and Heckflossen strictly DO NOT GET ANY PLACE in today’s car design fashion in the very first place – FULL STOP!

• Harry on Oct 16, 2017 at 8:39 pm

Lovely. Very retro!!!