FIRST LOOK: Ford F-150 walk-around tour – RM389k

The iconic Ford F-150 pick-up finally found its way to Malaysia last week, and it will be exclusively sold through Hamawangsa Kredit (not Ford Malaysia) in right-hand drive form. As previously reported, the RHD conversion kit comes from a Canadian company called Urban Warrior.

The variant you’re seeing here is the mid-level Lariat trim, with a 2.7 litre EcoBoost V6 that makes 325 hp and 508 Nm of torque. This is just one of four engine offerings: up one rung is the 3.5 litre EcoBoost V6 with 385 hp and 524 Nm, while the remaining two – 3.5 litre Ti-VCT V6 making 282 hp/343 Nm and 5.0 litre Coyote V8 with 365 hp/569 Nm – make up the naturally-aspirated front.

It’s absolutely massive both inside and out, but the RHD conversion does have a few faults, as you’ll see in the video above. In any case, its size and unique factor make this a very interesting vehicle in Malaysia – despite the fact that it’s the best-selling model in its home market, where it’s as rare as the Myvi is here.

As for pricing, it starts from RM388,888 for the 2.7 litre EcoBoost model (it retails for just over US$50k in the US with similar options fitted, before the Urban Warrior RHD conversion kit), but Hamawangsa Kredit says you can spec it up in whatever way or form, including the Raptor pack, if your wallet permits.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Ben Yap on Oct 25, 2017 at 5:02 pm

overly expensive for a pickup.

no contractor going to go use this to carry construction goods and 4X4 enthusiast going to bring this off-road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
    • Nasim Lee on Oct 25, 2017 at 5:21 pm

Wowzers exp. Pick-up truck supposed to be Zero duties in MY

• thepolygonal on Oct 25, 2017 at 6:14 pm

Vely expensive pickup truck… how also only a pickup truck. That price can get 1 Merc GLC250 + 1 Myvi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • F150power on Oct 25, 2017 at 10:12 pm

In US, by 2018 these F150 will be fitted with dual injection.

• Rightwinger on Oct 25, 2017 at 5:02 pm

That thing is huge! I love it! Super size me!!!

• 12yrsold on Oct 26, 2017 at 9:33 am

U must have a “Super size” wallet too. Gud for U & Malaysian. Thanks for contributing high taxes to our economy. We need more people like U to do more. Cheers…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • tiredofBS on Oct 25, 2017 at 5:10 pm

some ideas taken from wowcar …

• Mahmood Razak on Oct 25, 2017 at 5:22 pm

The conversion issues to me are minimal. I would buy this if it was maybe sub-350k. The size it such a crowd puller.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • F150 looks like a White elephant on Oct 25, 2017 at 6:07 pm

Pointless huge thing. Waste of money. Ranger is still better for malaysia. With that kind of money you might as well buy a premium german sedan / SUV. This one’s interior looks plasticky and cheap. Nothing premium about it. Just from the looks of the interior i can say so. But if u really have the money and u dont knw what to do with all the money u have then probably u could buy one just for kicks. Hehe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 13
      • being different on Oct 26, 2017 at 8:49 am

Some people want to be different that others. It might be pointless for you, but not for them especially when they have the $$$$$ to spend

• Rightwinger on Oct 26, 2017 at 10:33 am

Pointless as the many Italian and German exotics that can go well over 255kmh, but no stretches to do so here? How come you’re not complaining about them as being pointless too?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • Kennee Wong on Oct 25, 2017 at 5:32 pm

Awesome. I can load my Axia on the bed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Hmm... Much Hmm... on Oct 25, 2017 at 5:50 pm

Out of curiosity, does anyone know where to park this behemoth. Standard allotted parking slots are definitely out of the picture.

• Ismet ulam raja on Oct 25, 2017 at 6:26 pm

Waaaa , so expensive , RM 389k much better buy vellfire RM 170k & ford ranger RM 100k , also have balance RM 100k ++ , can took hold family go to Maldives

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
  • MusangKing on Oct 25, 2017 at 7:04 pm

Malaysia is dead-on becoming high income nation. Ppl can afford 300k cars…..in the next few years, we are gonna be developed country too.

So, 300k car is easy-peasy for us Malaysian, right?

• Rightwinger on Oct 26, 2017 at 10:35 am

Judging from the numerous non-grey imported 5 series, E class on KL n Pg roads, you might be right.

• Aero (Member) on Oct 25, 2017 at 7:11 pm

I think the local launch of the Ford F-150 / Urban Warrior 150 is one of the biggest surprises this year. Nobody could have predicted this !

Let it not go unsaid that the entire situation was made possible mainly by Urban Warrior, the Canadian company which supplies the RHD conversion kits. On the topic of Canada and RHD, few may be aware, but Canada has a long history of converting/building RHD American cars for export to RHD markets like ours. In fact, this practice goes back over 100 years !

Even as early as the 1910s, Ford Canada was exporting RHD Ford cars to colonial Malaya. Ford Canada also helped set up the Ford Malaya plant in Singapore back in 1926. Ford Canada was not the only one either, General Motors Canada also exported RHD Chevrolet cars to Malaya. Plus many, many others.

This was because Canada was once a RHD country, before they switched over to LHD. Like Malaya, Canada was part of the British Empire. During colonial times, the British had taxed and/or banned sales of American cars in Malaya and other British colonies. Some American car companies got around this problem by building cars in Canada instead. Because Canada was part of the British Empire, American cars built and exported from Canada were sold tax-free in Malaya.

Some additional trivia on Canadian-built American cars in Malaya & Malaysia;

In the 1920s, Canada was the third largest source of imported cars in Malaya, after the U.S and U.K.. More cars were imported from Canada than Italy, France, Germany or Australia.

In the late 1960s, GM Canada exported a few RHD Chevrolet Impalas to Malaysia, which were locally assembled at the ASSB plant in Shah Alam. Supposedly, only 44 were ever built here.

The Chrysler 300C, one of the more popular American cars here (relatively speaking), is actually built in Canada. The current generation 300C is even sold in Australia in full factory RHD form.

Anyway, just thought I’d share some info on some overlooked and underappreciated Canadian car companies, which have bridged the gap between the U.S. market and ours. Urban Warrior is the latest in a long line of successors.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 1
  • johndee on Oct 25, 2017 at 7:14 pm

If you are a Malaysian man who has the body size and height of Dwayne Johnson and happen to be a well-known Ah-Beng all around Bolehland, buy and drive home this American monster truck. Fix the Raptor bodykit, full VIP gangster black tint and smoke cigars inside. Case closed bro. LMFAO

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • Bernard on Oct 25, 2017 at 7:34 pm

But most guys here are small but want big everything. How??

• 12yrsold on Oct 26, 2017 at 9:46 am

Oh Man, U just replace my idol Arnold Schwarzenegger(the cigar part) with my current idol Mr Rock DJ. This Ford rocks with THE ROCK.

• but…the alluring…eye popping…and poyoness of Raptor Pack….hnnngh

• Wayne on Oct 25, 2017 at 7:58 pm

I don’t think sales is going to pick-up.

• I would buy it just to piss off people on the roads

• Clearly they are targeting the Merc G350 potential buyers but that shall be the one with the Raptor pack. The one in the video is too basic. Even the side step is missing.
    Worried about parking space? Well the demographic for the buyers of this truck will use valet parking.. Having said that….some malaysian cant even park a Myvi properly.

• markgoh on Oct 25, 2017 at 8:39 pm

350K to get a pre-facelift model and based model..??

• AhKeong on Oct 25, 2017 at 8:49 pm

Only can Valet park. Good luck going thru double parked cars @ subang etc.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 25, 2017 at 10:22 pm

warranty how long? who service?

• camtakpro on Oct 25, 2017 at 11:02 pm

Buy this so one can carry his Golf Mk7 to SC when DSG issue appear.

• 12yrsold on Oct 26, 2017 at 9:40 am

Wow, so specific(Golf Mk7). VW did NOT entertain your warranties is it ?!

• Hunter Zolomon Hunter Zolomon on Oct 26, 2017 at 12:26 am

Too pricey to go offroad, lots of power wasted if stay onroad…..last but not least, most people will not notice it, it will be just another ford ranger on the road.

• Hunter Zolomon Hunter Zolomon on Oct 26, 2017 at 12:32 am

A Jeep Wrangler looks better

• Illya on Oct 26, 2017 at 1:06 am

valet won’t know how or where to park this monster.

• Mr. Berns on Oct 26, 2017 at 10:25 am

It’s a Pick-up, it goes everywhere and parks everywhere

• toyota son on Oct 26, 2017 at 1:35 pm

Can panjat divider for parking…

• With 400k is insane to get it, u got plenty of other choice of cars to buy.. like A45 CLA45, used m4 or m3 with a little more money…

• Luqman on Oct 30, 2017 at 10:35 am

it so disgusting to hear “dot org” after mentioning Paultan in the opening sequence of all vids. sound like someone vomiting right after saying Paultan. heck, not even facebook youtube google or amazon publicise themselves as “company name – DOT COM”.

no offence, the contents are good. just the “dot org” disgusts some.